• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Any Results from Paying High Salaries ?

Anyone can too show any tangible or even intangible achievements as a result of paying Politician and sr civil servants such high salaries. I think we all can agree that paying SPH journalists such high salaries has worked and the results speak for themselves each day clearly with no doubts.

A correlation of between salaries paid between 1959 to 2008 and the results achieved during the same period would be a good start.

However what I did notice over the years are the following
1) Traffic is no longer flowing smoothly which made Singapore a legend
2) Housing Estates are slowing becoming filthy ghettos, piled rubbish, blocked pavements, coffeeshops piling dirty dishes and garbage along common pathways.
3) Our Children fighting for places with foreigners at NUS/NTU etc
4) Race relations has worsened with invitation to each other's home for their respective fesrivals are no longer the norm
5) Contagious diseases are more common
6) The number of people who have never voted in their life is increasing
7) Same chap residing in the Istana for last 50 years and I understand the Rental Control Act has been demolished for some years now.
8) CPF unable to sustain retirement
9) Attack on MP has increased after a lengthy absence
10) No mention of Temasek making a killing in any of its investment since its changed name from Sheng-Li Holdings.

Could someone throw out some positives.

funglung

Sinkies got all the shit that they kept voting for.

No balls to vote out LKY and his gang of crooks.

Sinkies got what they deserved

Vertigo

no children getting raped like in exciting rwanda..

our mums and sisters are not working as maids in other countries..

funglung

no children getting raped like in exciting rwanda..

our mums and sisters are not working as maids in other countries..

ha ha ha.

You must dig into some of the worse countries to make Sinkapore look rosy in comparison?

How about getting Hell to compare to next to make Sinkies feel that they are living in paradise?

Smear vaseline to your arse and continue to let LKY and PAP screw you

Smear that on your mom and sister too so that the screwing from LKY and PAP on them be enjoyed as well.

Keep voting LKY and his bastards in.

In time. Zimbabwe will look like paradise in comparison to Singapore

Go run away, you fucking LKY doggy parasite.

SneeringTree

ha ha ha.

You must dig into some of the worse countries to make Sinkapore look rosy in comparison?

How about getting Hell to compare to next to make Sinkies feel that they are living in paradise?

Smear that on your mom and sister too so that the screwing from LKY and PAP on them be enjoyed as well.

Aiyah, Vertigo was just quoting what our esteemed Ministars have said before.

Hans168

Anyone can too show any tangible or even intangible achievements as a result of paying Politician and sr civil servants such high salaries. I think we all can agree that paying SPH journalists such high salaries has worked and the results speak for themselves each day clearly with no doubts.

A correlation of between salaries paid between 1959 to 2008 and the results achieved during the same period would be a good start.

2) Housing Estates are slowing becoming filthy ghettos, piled rubbish, blocked pavements, coffeeshops piling dirty dishes and garbage along common pathways.
4) Race relations has worsened with invitation to each other's home for their respective fesrivals are no longer the norm
7) Same chap residing in the Istana for last 50 years and I understand the Rental Control Act has been demolished for some years now.
10) No mention of Temasek making a killing in any of its investment since its changed name from Sheng-Li Holdings.

PM MM SM will say high salaries are to prevent corruption!! For other results, more pay would be required!!

SneeringTree

You are unfortunately barking up the wrong tree. High salaries is just to ensure that Singapore has the best talent serving it. "Best" is a relative term. Our dear leader will say: "See, even after paying so much to get the best talent, our economy sucks. Imagine if we pay peanuts!"

The way out of this is simple. Attack the logic at its roots, i.e. "paying people more does not ensure you get the best talent nor does it ensure they produce the best results". Just look at the global financial "talent"

You are unfortunately barking up the wrong tree. High salaries is just to ensure that Singapore has the best talent serving it. "Best" is a relative term. Our dear leader will say: "See, even after paying so much to get the best talent, our economy sucks. Imagine if we pay peanuts!"

The way out of this is simple. Attack the logic at its roots, i.e. "paying people more does not ensure you get the best talent nor does it ensure they produce the best results". Just look at the global financial "talent"

it's called "risk-taking." the higher the altitude, the harder the fall. no one will hit the "high" mark if there are no gamblers, thrill-seekers, frauds, arseholes and risk-takers. many bet with their lives, and if they lose, they die. those who suck your money, bet with your money, and spend your money for their own aggrandizement have to be extremely talented to fool you. if anyone wants your money, ask them to jump 30 floors first. that's proof of sincerity.

Einfield

You are looking at the angle from a citizen, that is why you see no results.

BUT, if you look at it from Dirty Harry's perspective, it yield many positive results:

1.) By paying them world highest salary, he manage to mutate vote buying and legalize it.

2.) By giving civil servant the carrot, it ensure their party's popularity support.

3.) The worse scenario is to have highly educated people jobless and seek reform, the best solution is to create high paying jobs to keep them in the comfort zone, so no chance of these fat cat challenging their government.

4.) It demonstrated that it pays to support the party, holding the purse string exclusively and with no transparency and spend as they will, many "Smart and Cunning" people, will try to squeeze themselves in to be identified as "One of them" . From low ranking RC dogs to high profile Legal profession.

5.) High Pay aside, for key players , they are rewarded with income guarantee on second career, hidden in some GIC / Stats board as Board of Directors or some post created solely for collecting huge salary.

Dirty harry however fail to see, like flies attracted to Dung, he attracted a gloom a whole generation of leaders, who are in it for money and power.

Once the goodies are removed or squandered away , I wonder which leader will still stay behind to lead.

saratogas

Taking High salary demand high returns. This gahment runs this country like a Company, so now is the time to see result from you elities. All these years of feeding you guys, many are fat and clumsy. You are paid to do this job. Make sure it works.

Did ministers meet their primary target set for 2008?

Our dear leader will say: "See, even after paying so much to get the best talent, our economy sucks. Imagine if we pay peanuts!"

Yes, that will be the likely approach by them but it will not going to fly too far.

At the next GE, the opposition should begin to call for a report card on his this. I think old rhetoric on avoiding corruption and paying for talent can't go on without clear results.

You are looking at the angle from a citizen, that is why you see no results.

BUT, if you look at it from Dirty Harry's perspective, it yield many positive results:

1.) By paying them world highest salary, he manage to mutate vote buying and legalize it.

2.) By giving civil servant the carrot, it ensure their party's popularity support.

3.) The worse scenario is to have highly educated people jobless and seek reform, the best solution is to create high paying jobs to keep them in the comfort zone, so no chance of these fat cat challenging their government.

4.) It demonstrated that it pays to support the party, holding the purse string exclusively and with no transparency and spend as they will, many "Smart and Cunning" people, will try to squeeze themselves in to be identified as "One of them" . From low ranking RC dogs to high profile Legal profession.

5.) High Pay aside, for key players , they are rewarded with income guarantee on second career, hidden in some GIC / Stats board as Board of Directors or some post created solely for collecting huge salary.

Dirty harry however fail to see, like flies attracted to Dung, he attracted a gloom a whole generation of leaders, who are in it for money and power.

Once the goodies are removed or squandered away , I wonder which leader will still stay behind to lead.

Yes and very well listed.

Taking High salary demand high returns. This gahment runs this country like a Company, so now is the time to see result from you elities. All these years of feeding you guys, many are fat and clumsy. You are paid to do this job. Make sure it works.

Did ministers meet their primary target set for 2008?

You have made a significant point - we paid for exceptional results and lets see it.

Hope

ha ha ha.

Vertigo is suffering fr the disease called "Beat the worst"

The idea is to give compilament when you managed to beat even the worst guy in the whole class,or in the whole company,or in the whole country,or in the whole world, etc

So you can easily imagine this guy telling his son:

"Hi Son,not too bad lah,even you managed only one pass in 10 sujects,u better than Ah Kow who failed all 10 subjects."

Impossible?Ya,it happened in red dot all the time in our red dot,(66.67% who are psycho to such condition,I mean)that is why our helicopter vision of WORLD CLASS is but a sweet dream!

Blame Vertiho NOT,he just leart it fr two of the brighest guys who each got 10 A1 in 10 subjects in their respective Cambridge GCE exam

Check it up,men!

The_Latest_H

It must be said that throughout human history, those leaders who were paid more than they should have gotten, are often those who fall short.

In that aspect, when you reward bankers billions for what has been a failed tenure at the top, you get pathetic results, because self-interest thumps overall interest.

The same thing applies to politicians who look to personal gain, whether is it financially or politically, when they get to the near top, and earn millions for what are mediocre effects and mediocre legacies. Especially when they join during the good times, and flee during the bad times.

In contrast, those who have sacrificed by running and then winning and then running the country during bad times, and have nothing to gain financially, are those who usually exceed expectations and have done very, very well.

FDR is one of those, who came from a rich family but ran for a job that paid very little. And he took control in the era of the Great Depression, and an impending war on the horizon.