Another Weird Singapore thingy, an Authority with no power?

MarrickG

I have no problem with the advertisement but wondering what is the point of wasting money to create an organisation that can do noting but talk?

ST_IMAGES_P1LIAD.jpg

By Huang Lijie and Ng Kai Ling & Jessica Lim

THE advertisement featuring a topless man that is plastered on the Orchard shopfront of American fashion retailer Abercrombie & Fitch breaches the local advertising code of decency, said a watchdog.

The Advertising Standards Authority of Singapore (ASAS), which made the ruling, has called for the ad - put up after April - to be removed.

But there is a hitch - ASAS has no legal rights to enforce its decision.
The picture of a model wearing a pair of low-slung jeans, which spans the entire four-level shopfront, remains on display at the Knightsbridge mall in Orchard Road for now.

Some people who found the ad to be lewd and inappropriate for the prominent location wrote to The Straits Times' Forum page last month, urging for it to be taken down.

This feedback prompted the ASAS council, which includes representatives from media owners, advertisers and government agencies, to review the ad.

It decided on Aug 31 that the ad was objectionable.

ASAS chairman Tan Sze Wee told The Straits Times: 'The general consensus was that the portrayal of the human anatomy had crossed the path of decency because the navel line was very much exposed.'

The authority proceeded to declare the suspension of the ad on Sept 12.

It relies on voluntary compliance from stakeholders in the industry such as advertisers and media owners to ensure that the Singapore Code of Advertising Practice is observed. The code was drawn up by the ASAS.

It can ask an advertiser or advertising agency to amend or remove any ad that infringes the code.

It flexes its muscle by getting media owners, who are members of the council, to withhold ads that flout the rules.

The Abercrombie & Fitch ad, however, was erected by the American clothing brand itself, and not by a media owner on the ASAS council.

The clothing store is expected to open here by the end of the year. The casual-wear brand has a history of raising public ire overseas for racy ads that feature semi-nude models.

The brand also recently stirred up controversy here for recruiting good-looking front-line workers to be in sync with the store's image and to drive sales.

Dr Tan said ASAS had earlier approached the Park Hotel Group, which owns the Knightsbridge mall, to remove the ad.

However, it was told by the landlord to contact the fashion chain instead as the latter had put up the ad.

ASAS said it wrote to Abercrombie & Fitch's offices here and in the United States on Sept 14, but the company has not responded.

When asked, its spokesman Tom Rivard, who is based in Britain, said: 'Abercrombie & Fitch is investigating the matter and is not in a position to provide a comment at this time.'

Dr Tan said ASAS is looking for alternative avenues and the help of government agencies to remove the ad.

In the past, ASAS has had no difficulty taking errant advertisers such as slimming salons, beauty parlours and household-item retailers to task by getting them to remove or withdraw ads that were misleading or objectionable.

Media and entertainment lawyer Samuel Seow said that while ASAS has no legal rights to take action against the Abercrombie & Fitch ad, government agencies such as the Media Development Authority (MDA) may do so.

He added that the Undesirable Publications Act under MDA may allow it to enforce the removal of the ad if it finds that the photographic image exploits human nudity.

MDA was unable to respond to queries from The Straits Times yesterday.

But not everyone is turned off by the ad.

Freelance artist Juliet Peh, 50, said: 'The ad has been there for some time already, so why make an issue out of it all of a sudden? The economy is on a downward spiral, you cannot blame Abercrombie for trying to drum up attention for its brand.'

Mrs Penny Yap, 40, owner of an art and decor company, said: 'It's a half-naked man and it's quite an artistic shot. It's not like it's pornographic.'

[email protected]

It's political lah... Those who put up the ads are not their member so they complain loh...

"The Abercrombie & Fitch ad, however, was erected by the American clothing brand itself, and not by a media owner on the ASAS council."

I certainly don't like it coz the guy in the poster has six packs and i have one pack.

for fucking sake, that fucking ASAS go to the street and make a straw poll, i dare say 80% of the people will say its okay...perhaps a large % of the women may achieve orgasm seeing that ad.

where is that general consensus? from where? NS men / FTs who was put to shame by the 6-pack abs?

I was at Orchard yesterday, it certainly caught my intention with that big poster... I thought it's fine leh.. from design POV, if an ad caught your attention, then its a good ad.

These type of ads sure received complaints lah!
Husband complain because wife said husband only have family pack & not six pack!
Wife complain because she kena fucked left right centre for complaining husband only have family pack! And she will complain furiously after that because no guy with a nice six pack will want to fuck sinkie bitches!
Straight men complain because he feels it is impossible to achieve the six pack within the short span of two weeks when he will be bringing the girlfriend shopping in orchard!
Gay men complain because the ad is a mere illusion & no way in this life will his plucky little hole be penetrated by this six pack guy!
Lesbo complain because it is against their sexual inclination to stare at the six packs! And oh, their partners will be upset because they are all short fat guy with short hair, simulated machismo & no dick!
Old spinsters complain because no way can they find a gigolo with such hot bods in Sinkie!!

Actually, most advertisements are a turn off to me. They're bullshit - just like those racy ads for beer showing really good looking model type people or sports stars at fancy joints and parties. Or those car ads showing "spirited" driving (promoting dangerours driving on public roads.)

But this is capitalism, if it sells, its good.

People who complain about this kind of thing are hypocrites and have low self-esteem. Take for example this: a guy has no complaints about a poster of a sexy wench selling beer but will KPKB about an advertisement showing a physically superb man. Same goes for the female species: KPKB about the sexy wench beer advertisement but secretly or openly admiring the hot male model in the poster. When you ask them whether they think such advertisements are overboard, they will surely say some BS about 'no morals', 'not appropriate for the public and children' or similar sanctimonious claptrap.

what is fucking wrong with that ad... That is a topless man, not topless woman..

As if you don't know, some men like to fuck men's backside

well, for sinkies, the PAP govt loves to fuck men and women 's backside daily.. so that is not something dramatic coming from you.

I've only got a pot belly but I've no problems with magazines like Playboy, Penthouse, etc. Youth is only fleeting & one might as well enjoy it while you can. C'est La Vie ;)

well, for sinkies, the PAP govt loves to fuck men and women 's backside daily.. so that is not something dramatic coming from you.

Are you still begging your PAP MP to write letter of appeal to Official Assignee to let you out of Singapore ?

You still bear a grudge against your ex-Master for not helping you when other grassroots members are receiving help ?

Stop pretending to hate Sinkies; you bore a grudge against your ex-Master and you're stoking the fire to turn Sinkies against the government. What a childish adult ! BORROW KNIFE TO KILL YOUR ENEMY. It's not PAP's fault that you owe people money.

So ex-PAP ball licker, unpaid PAP IB ..... YOU HAVE BEEN EXPOSED !

Khun Ying Pojamarn vs tony = cooleo vs ivebert

oh no... dun pull me into this.. only this loser start to go crazy , just entertain him a bit.. after that, he can be as crazy as he wants. he is just another PAP shitass who try to throw shit around here. Maybe he will try to post another LKY thread. like does LKY 's hair smells nice???? like as though we care...

singapore got a long way to go before reaching first world open minded country ...

what about those boobs enchance ad in singapore ?