• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another Scare Tactic from Wooden Goh

White Paper is govt's plan to forestall impending crisis: ESM Goh
By Hetty Musfirah | Posted: 06 February 2013 1914 hrs

SINGAPORE: Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong said the White Paper on Population is the government's plan to forestall an impending crisis.

=> Who created this so-called crisis and the many other problems that are causing SGs to live like les miserables? Does he still expect SGs to trust the FAP Traitors?

Speaking in Parliament for the first time since he stepped down from Cabinet in 2011, Mr Goh also said decisions made will have implications on Singapore's competitiveness and international stature.

=> So what's the so-called formula that the FAP Traitors used so far? Yep - depress SGs' wages through FTrashisation while allowing the Familee and its cronies to enrich themselves. This has to be stopped NOW!

Mr Goh said the government faces some serious challenges ahead such as addressing the constraints of space and the limits of an ageing and shrinking citizen population.

=> There is ONLY one sustainable solution to the problem given the red dot's size constraint and that is to address the Total Fertility Rate (TFR) issue head-on, and not by importing more FTrash, the problems of which SGs have experienced enough and for Ponggolians to be doo lan enough to vote out the FAP Traitors. A simple question - Will making the island more overcrowded work for or against the TFR? What's on the mind of the FAP Traitors to do all they can do drive down SGs' TFR and to drive out SGs? Is this not clear enough that the FAP Traitors' ulterior motive for the senseless FTrashisation is to perpetuate one-Familee rule by ensuring that the SGs will be overwhelmed and out-voted forever? If this is not high treason, what is? No political group in the world has gone the extent of the FAP Traitors to ensure perpetual rule. To the 60.1% SGs, WAKE UP to the country's demise if the FAP Traitors are allowed to carry on with their WHITE SCAM! Even if don't think for yourselves, think for your children! What kind of society do you want them to live in? Under the beck and call of the FAP Traitors and their FTrash pets? NO WAY!

There is also the need to meet the higher expectations of a well-educated young generation for better jobs, promising careers, affordable housing and comfortable lifestyles.

Thus, the White Paper is a strategic plan to find solutions to sustain growth and prosperity to benefit all Singaporeans.

Mr Goh said: "But unlike our previous crises, our demographic challenge unfolds imperceptibly over one or two decades like a slow, sinking ship. Yet it is urgent, in that we need to decide how to act now to right the ship. That is the difficulty for the Prime Minister and his team. They have to think long term. They can see the population pyramid becoming unstable. They can see the silver tsunami coming. They can see the economy deflating at some point in the future. They fear the Singapore ship will sink."

Mr Goh said he is reassured that the population figure of 6.9 million is a planning parameter and not a target.

And instead on being fixated on the population figure, he urged for agreement on the broad approach laid out in the paper.

These include changing to a lower gear in economic growth and a calibrated slow-down in expansion of the non-resident workforce.

Mr Goh said the White Paper seeks to strike a balance, with the interests of Singaporeans and businesses in mind.

He said: "A reduced inflow of foreign workers will complement the impetus to raise productivity. Our businesses must adjust and the government will help them make the transition. Those which are structurally unable to may have to rationalize their operations. Some may have to relocate. Affected Singaporean workers must be helped."

Mr Goh said continual economic restructuring is one of the enduring features of the Singapore Story.

And as Singapore is a price-taker in international economics and geopolitics, whether the country can continue to shape international developments to its advantage, is contingent on it remaining vibrant and successful.

He said foreign businesses in Singapore are watching the debate and the next steps to be taken closely.

Mr Goh said: "If our institutions are not forward-looking, our economy flat, our society divided, Singapore will not be able to punch above its weight. It will lose its lustre and influence. Why would others invest in Singapore and in Singaporeans if our house is in disarray and we cannot solve the big problems confronting the country?

"These are tough, fundamental challenges which the PM and his ministers will have to resolve. They will have to do this not only intellectually and logically, but also emotionally and sensitively. They will have to dispel people's current and future fears, win their hearts and minds, while planning a better tomorrow for them."

He added: "I applaud PM and his team for their courage and leadership in tabling this paper to sketch out the next chapter of the Singapore Story. The politically expedient alternative would have been to leave the issue to his successor to tackle."

Mr Goh said the challenges face concern all Singaporeans and that Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong did the right thing to lay out the challenges in a transparent manner so that Singaporeans and debate and build consensus on their future.

"PM and his team did the right thing by laying out the problems, the trade-offs, and our options in a transparent manner so that all Singaporeans can become more aware of our demographic destiny, debate it and build consensus on the way forward."

Mr Goh asked Singaporeans to read the White Paper together with the many programmes that the government is rolling out to meet the needs of Singaporeans.

And together, he said, they formed the strategic plan to make lives better for all Singaporeans.

- CNA/fa

Kinana

Goh is correct and on the dot.
The problem of low birth rate is not the govt's doing. Its is a worldwide phenomenon for all if not most industralised nations, korea, japan, western europe and even among Chinese Malaysians.

The real problem is, some singkies do not want to admit their own responsibility to the problem and want to falsely accuse the govt with all sorts of excuses.

Leepotism

The problem of low birth rate is not the govt's doing. Its is a worldwide phenomenon for all if not most industralised nations, korea, japan, western europe and even among Chinese Malaysians.

The real problem is, some singkies do not want to admit their own responsibility to the problem and want to falsely accuse the govt with all sorts of excuses.

Good point. Leongsam, on reading this, will be gleefully add your points.:biggrin:

mojoe

govt policies (incl stop at 2) resulted in this "crisis

an aging poulation means less revenue (through GST and other taxes); it's abt money

yes the ship is sinking; we were pleading with you for decades; your policies bring in more water into the boat than the bilge pumps could pump out

the incumbents were so forward looking that we have the current situation and society divided beacuse the growth was not inclusive; the Gini coeffient tells you so

do we need $M obscene salary ministers to tell us we need 6.9M population.

If they say they can make each indlvidual $6.9M rich than they are worth paying $M unobscene salaries.

We know aging poplution is a problem. So how is the government going to take care of these silver age pensioners.

Talk abut increase population only? But must talk about how to take care of these silver age group citizens from now to 2030.

songsongpunggol

Dun be fooled by PAP promises of more.

Existing infrastructures are already maxed out and overloaded.

Improve on existing first before promising us more.

Because you are just amplifying the current problem of crowdedness.

rodent2005

No wonder the PAP keeps on losing election after election. No one is arguing against immigration per se but infrastructure is already lagging with today's population size. In order to convince people, the PAP must make sure infrastucture catch up first instead of merely making promises esp. when they admitted they have failed before.

You failed your PSLE and still want them to admit you into Harvard based on your promise that you will work very hard if given a chance to study in Harvard? It will be stupid of Harvard to admit you right?

M

Mdm Tang

isnt their salaries pegged to GDP ?

if it is then i worry !!! :smile:

do we need $M obscene salary ministers to tell us we need 6.9M population.

If they say they can make each indlvidual $6.9M rich than they are worth paying $M unobscene salaries.

We know aging poplution is a problem. So how is the government going to take care of these silver age pensioners.

Talk abut increase population only? But must talk about how to take care of these silver age group citizens from now to 2030.

Merl Haggard

Now he's praising Ass Loon to heaven's height. Fear that he will be demoted further?

Kayu-pajang is playing wayang only lah.

He has been telling all his close friends that he's sick and tired of the politicking after they used old fart's departure to get rid of him too.

Mr Goh said: "But unlike our previous crises, our demographic challenge unfolds imperceptibly over one or two decades like a slow, sinking ship. Yet it is urgent, in that we need to decide how to act now to right the ship. That is the difficulty for the Prime Minister and his team. They have to think long term. They can see the population pyramid becoming unstable. They can see the silver tsunami coming. They can see the economy deflating at some point in the future. They fear the Singapore ship will sink."

Everytime he opens his mouth, I fear for him, that his foot will end up in his mouth. And he as inevitably never failed to perform to my fear. What the fcuk is he talking ahout a slow sinking ship? Was the PM suddenly caught unaware that there will be "x" number of people born between 19xx and 19yy will suddenly be old by 2030? The SG ship is slowly sinking because the govt seems to be caught unaware of all sorts of things: Short Arse Marlboro Tan was caught offguard that we need ed more flat and until his dying day as minister, kept insisting the flats were affordable. Fork-tongued Khaw says the mistakes of the past of not catering for infrastructual needs will not repeat. Even a pimp will know that if he wants to increase the number of prostitutes in his brothel, he will need to create more rooms for them.

singapore ship is sinking fast
we need robust policies to prevent such crisis
the silver tsunami is such a curse
replacing them fast in a hearse
import more talents to float this ship
otherwise the country will fall asleep

kaypoh

singapore ship is sinking fast
we need robust policies to prevent such crisis
the silver tsunami is such a curse
replacing them fast in a hearse
import more talents to float this ship
otherwise the country will fall asleep

Eh Hello, when the ship is sinking, it should be offloading people not adding more people.

Add more people - the ship sinks faster.

Alamak, so old already still don't understand this.

This will be one of Woody's last contributions before he kena kicked out by the Clown Prince in 2016..

Eh Hello, when the ship is sinking, it should be offloading people not adding more people.

Add more people - the ship sinks faster.

Alamak, so old already still don't understand this.

yah lah kena zaPPED again lah for stupid post...the sinking ship with more and more people to float it lor

... Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong said the White Paper on Population is the government's plan to forestall an impending crisis ...
ah tong ... where is ur swiss std of living 4 sinkielan? ... u cannot bring swiss std 2 sinkielan, but can oni bring impending crisis, har ...