• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another reason to avoid flying SIA

At its peak, SIA was the Queen in the sky. It went down for quite some time. But now it has reinvented itself and it is now the King In The Sky - SIA THE GREAT WAY TO FLY!
Even old man knows SIA is over the hill and no matter what SIA does, it can be quickly emulated on other airlines. Inflight entertainment system is no longer unique or that desirable as people have own tablet.

SIA is now only a minion in the sky.

On another (related?) note, Silkair sucks too. I know it's a regional arm, with smaller planes. But the food sucks even for a 3hr flight. And the same, inane entertainment replayed in diff flights. Think you get better deals with competition

Hey don't knock SIA. It's the only world class company we got!!

Is it really a world class company:confused:

I stopped taking SIA years ago because in my opinion other airlines were doing a better job. You can search the past threads & see all the complaints about SIA. Why should anyone pay a premium to be treated as 2nd class passengers:confused: I have personally seen & experienced the pinkerton syndrome:(

Friend's wife stewardess said no one wants to stay with SIA. Benefits are shit. She shifted to emirates. Many locals have also left

Sharp rise in theft on Singapore aircraft

July 21, 2013
Latest Update: July 21, 2013 04:04 pm

There has been “a significant upward trend” of theft cases on board Singapore-controlled aircraft in recent years, which led prosecutors yesterday to press for a 12-month jail term for a man convicted of such an offence.

In 2011, only one individual was arrested for theft on board an aircraft. There was also one reported case that year. The total number of reported cases shot up to 43 last year, with 36 individuals being arrested. There have been 35 reported cases so far this year, with 26 individuals being nabbed.

Apart from the surge in cases, prosecutors yesterday noted that one or more organised crime syndicates are targeting Singapore-controlled aircraft.

In the latest case to come before the courts, Chinese national Yue Liangfu, 32, was convicted of stealing a brown trolley bag belonging to 69-year-old Cambodian Kuy Touch during a SilkAir flight from Singapore to Phnom Penh on June 8.

Deputy Public Prosecutor Krystle Chiang yesterday sought a jail term of 12 months — a much stiffer sentence compared to its initial submission of 12 weeks in prison. She explained there has been “a significant upward trend” in such theft cases over the past two years.

In March this year, Chinese national Wang Liwu, 47, was jailed for six weeks for stealing something from a laptop bag belonging to the boss of Mustafa Centre, Mustaq Ahmad, during a flight from Phnom Penh to Singapore.

Senior District Judge See Kee Oon noted the rising trend and accepted the prosecution’s new submissions.

From his own experience, he said the courts have not given sentences exceeding three months for such offences. Thus, the Judge said he would review the sentencing benchmark as such cases are on the rise.

Yue will be back in court on July 23, when he is expected to be sentenced. The highest penalty is a jail term of three years and a fine.

When contacted, Singapore Airlines (SIA) and Jetstar said they have told their crew to remain vigilant and to alert the authorities of any suspicious behaviour on board flights.

Passengers, too, are reminded to be alert and mindful of their belongings.

“Just as on ground, they should constantly be alert and take necessary precautions to safeguard their belongings,” said an SIA spokesperson. - Todayonline.com, July 21, 2013.

Dno't fly British Airways. They suck even more

QANTAS = Quick And Nasty, Typical Australian Service
BA = Bloody Awful
It's a given that angmoh airlines are shitty (cattle class). Serving makan like dishing a pack of cards. And blxxdy labour rules on cabin crew leaves much to be desired. Imagine a big aunty (worse with reading glasses) waking you up, asking "coffee, tea or me?":eek:

And on Silkair thingy, they shd really revamp the cabin crew and makan, and dump the inane telly entertainment. :rolleyes:

PS: Is that new avatar anyting close to your real life looks?;)

lol lol lol .....flying ecoNOMONEY class is like that la bro...and ya....so much to do these few days that i'm beginning to look like my avatar. :(

It's a given that angmoh airlines are shitty (cattle class). Serving makan like dishing a pack of cards. And blxxdy labour rules on cabin crew leaves much to be desired. Imagine a big aunty (worse with reading glasses) waking you up, asking "coffee, tea or me?":eek:

And on Silkair thingy, they shd really revamp the cabin crew and makan, and dump the inane telly entertainment. :rolleyes:

PS: Is that new avatar anyting close to your real life looks?;)

BA = Bloody Awful

How about our famous....
Sex In Air

World travelers voted SIA as top 3 airlines every year.
Services and facilities might be damn good.

BA = Bloody Awful

The only time I took a BA/Qantas(code sharing) flight was flying economy to London. It was a great flight even better than any SIA flight I had taken. The flight was only 1/3 full, so we had plenty of room. Each passenger had 3 seats & we were able to recline & sleep:)

Don't remember what food was served during the flight. Only that it was the most comfortable flight. Even better than flying business class with SIA.

Fly Emirates. Can't go wrong.

They have a good customer oriented attitude.

When I missed a flight they just booked me on another flight without giving me any hassles. In another flight they upgrade me from economy to business because the flight was packed.

They have a good customer oriented attitude.

When I missed a flight they just booked me on another flight without giving me any hassles. In another flight they upgrade me from economy to business because the flight was packed.

Wow! How could I wish that they fly SIN-TPE route.