• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another reason to avoid flying SIA

Sharp rise in theft on Singapore aircraft

July 21, 2013
Latest Update: July 21, 2013 04:04 pm

There has been “a significant upward trend” of theft cases on board Singapore-controlled aircraft in recent years, which led prosecutors yesterday to press for a 12-month jail term for a man convicted of such an offence.

In 2011, only one individual was arrested for theft on board an aircraft. There was also one reported case that year. The total number of reported cases shot up to 43 last year, with 36 individuals being arrested. There have been 35 reported cases so far this year, with 26 individuals being nabbed.

Apart from the surge in cases, prosecutors yesterday noted that one or more organised crime syndicates are targeting Singapore-controlled aircraft.

In the latest case to come before the courts, Chinese national Yue Liangfu, 32, was convicted of stealing a brown trolley bag belonging to 69-year-old Cambodian Kuy Touch during a SilkAir flight from Singapore to Phnom Penh on June 8.

Deputy Public Prosecutor Krystle Chiang yesterday sought a jail term of 12 months — a much stiffer sentence compared to its initial submission of 12 weeks in prison. She explained there has been “a significant upward trend” in such theft cases over the past two years.

In March this year, Chinese national Wang Liwu, 47, was jailed for six weeks for stealing something from a laptop bag belonging to the boss of Mustafa Centre, Mustaq Ahmad, during a flight from Phnom Penh to Singapore.

Senior District Judge See Kee Oon noted the rising trend and accepted the prosecution’s new submissions.

From his own experience, he said the courts have not given sentences exceeding three months for such offences. Thus, the Judge said he would review the sentencing benchmark as such cases are on the rise.

Yue will be back in court on July 23, when he is expected to be sentenced. The highest penalty is a jail term of three years and a fine.

When contacted, Singapore Airlines (SIA) and Jetstar said they have told their crew to remain vigilant and to alert the authorities of any suspicious behaviour on board flights.

Passengers, too, are reminded to be alert and mindful of their belongings.

“Just as on ground, they should constantly be alert and take necessary precautions to safeguard their belongings,” said an SIA spokesperson. - Todayonline.com, July 21, 2013.

... Chinese national Yue Liangfu, 32, was convicted of stealing ...

In March this year, Chinese national Wang Liwu, 47, was jailed for six weeks for stealing ...
sia shud ban all ah tiongs n dogs from their aircrafts ...

On the contrary, should fly with SIA. It shows that the flight attendants are alert.

Why fly SIA? Why deliberately give money to a GLC when alternatives are available?

.????..why the sia caption?..this type of shit happens no matter which airline you take...

SIA is still the best
I always fly SIA
The staff are great
The crew are most beautiful and charming
I got to drink anything on board
I got also ice cream on demand
SIA is the BEST airline in the world
Don't believe, go fly Kangaroo or KLM....good luck hor
The laukawaybus will serve you hor
SIA is the best !!!

I prefer Air Vietnam.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/hZstD6CGVHs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

How do they know it's organised crime syndicate at works and only SIA is being targeted? Lax security, just admit so. Don't blame anything else on other non-existent elements. :oIo:

Yeah Qantas is quite bad...at least on SQ got better makan than Qantas...although Qantas is full service airline,,its more like half service,,,half the makan, no newspaper etc,,even Garuda and Philippine air is better than Qantas...

SIA is still the best
I always fly SIA
The staff are great
The crew are most beautiful and charming
I got to drink anything on board
I got also ice cream on demand
SIA is the BEST airline in the world
Don't believe, go fly Kangaroo or KLM....good luck hor
The laukawaybus will serve you hor
SIA is the best !!!

Communist country more open than first world country like Singapore.

China more capitalist than US.

Upside down world

SIA is still the best and the safest....you feel like flying in your own HOME..so comfortable and so secured...and those smiling flight stewardesses : simply awesome!

Two major air crashes in past 15 years. A stellar safety track record indeed.

Because it's still the best..., the food,gals and service still beats all anytime!! And the planes are the newest!
Food depends on the airport. If you leave from a lousy airport, the food will still be lousy. You are not expecting the airline to be cooking their own food, do you?

SQ girls quality has definitely dropped, just like Ms Singapore average quality. It seems like pretty girls have a lot more career choices nowadays, so most will shun the air stewardess job.

Because it's still the best..., the food,gals and service still beats all anytime!! And the planes are the newest!

I totally agree. SIA is still the BEST : best food, best service, best cabin crew...and that wonderful welcoming smile i like very much...and of course the ice cream on board: that beats them all hands down!

SIA A GREAT WAY TO FLY....

Food depends on the airport. If you leave from a lousy airport, the food will still be lousy. You are not expecting the airline to be cooking their own food, do you?

SQ girls quality has definitely dropped, just like Ms Singapore average quality. It seems like pretty girls have a lot more career choices nowadays, so most will shun the air stewardess job.

You are quite right.But the food standard is still maintained. Quality assurance is still there , no matter which airport SIA is flying from. And the SIA Girls, not bad lah. Still very sexy many of them are now graduates and degree holders. So they are not only beautiful but intelligent too.And above all, they are young, sexy and sensual in every way. SIA THE GREAT WAY TO FLY.:)

U r right to a certain point...took philippine airlines from perth,,food was shit,,but on the flight to perth,,the food was much better...however for qantas to and from perth the food is still shit...

At its peak, SIA was the Queen in the sky. It went down for quite some time. But now it has reinvented itself and it is now the King In The Sky - SIA THE GREAT WAY TO FLY!