if dat fella in front of u tapao 10 packets, if can, wait, if cannot, go buy @ other stalls ... sins by dat time, u r oredi 2nd in q, tel stallholder u r buying oni 1 packet n ask whether can gif u 1st, as dat fella in front of u r ordering so many packets n pipz behind haf 2 wait 4 a loong loong time unnecessarily ... den, u c back ze expression on dat fellaz face ...
u can oso take a leaf from dat multi-million $ salaried yet disgustingly chipskate burger ... he proudly boasted he purposely wen 2 restaurant early 2 beat ze crowd n b ze 1st 2 grab free tooth picks ... u can learn from his skills ...
this is actually a great thread as the topic of hawker center etiquette is spawning into an eco-friendly subject for to-go food.
bagging and boxing food to-go is such a toxic debate in the bedok bay area that laws now are enacted to do just that - banning the use of plastic bags and styrofoam boxes for carrying out food from supermarkets, groceries, and eateries. the new carry-out box.....made of recycled paper, wholesome, self-contained (duh), semi-soak-proof, roomy for 3 kinds of dishes, lightweight, environmentally-friendly, landfill-friendly. in fact, restaurants are encouraged by drought-hit cities to serve meals in these boxes for in-dining patrons in order to cut down on dish washing and water wastage.
this is the same box today during lunch. i had leftovers from dinner, carried the box home, and chomped on chow mien, mandarin beef, and black pepper chicken. shiok with a glass of cabernet sauvignon. :p