• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Allow unvaccinated people to enter malls in Singapore!

Well this pay issue.....

It is actually very Singaporean. Like you have described in the end it doesnt matter as long as you make enough $$$$.

Singaporeans priority is $$$. If the system makes you enough $$$ it is ok. If the system allows you to leverage and make $$$ it is ok. If the system pays the Ministers less $$$ it is good. If thr system pays doctors less $$$ it is good. If the system pays everyone else less but me more $$$ it is lagi better!

If the system makes me less money but others more $$$ it is bad.

Lol.

The problem with this system is that Sinkies are programmed and trained to be workers and employees from young. Go to a good school, get good grades and go to a good uni, and then get a good well-paying job. Now with all the foreigners coming in to compete with us for jobs, they simply don't know what to do. They should seriously learn to cast aside that mindset, step out of their comfort zone and start creating business opportunities for themselves. They should be creating jobs and not getting a job. It's easier said than done. But if they don't try, they'll never know. I did that when I was in my early 30s and have never looked back.

Not really. There are lots of help for those who seek to venture out on their own in Sinkeepoo. If you live in Bangkok like I do, you will not get the kind of support the MIW gives to budding entrepreneurs here.

You should know if you are running your own business in Sinkeepoo.

The envouragement for entrepreneurs here is strong. You can see it everytime Pinkie gives his NDP speech and always bringing up Sinkees who have struck out on their own and done well.

That is why it is a slippery road with people criticising but getting shoot down and people being indifferent to their policies as being supportive, seemingly.
Criticizing is easy. Doing something is not. That is why they are paid millions and not you who just whines and whines. So don't begrudge others of their rewards when they do something. Nobody is paying you 10% of anyone's pay for you to just whine.

1633994700445.png

Well said! I totally agree. Children tend to follow what their parents do.

Back in the 60s and 70s, the formula was for people to study hard get a degree then a job. There was also pension. This worked for the baby boomer generation and worked VERY WELL.

The children born in 70s and 80s were also raised to study hard and do the same. But things are changing of course.

Starting a successful profitable business is hard not to mention a business that is highly profitable. But you are right, need to think differently now.

Not really. There are lots of help for those who seek to venture out on their own in Sinkeepoo. If you live in Bangkok like I do, you will not get the kind of support the MIW gives to budding entrepreneurs here.

You should know if you are running your own business in Sinkeepoo.

The envouragement for entrepreneurs here is strong. You can see it everytime Pinkie gives his NDP speech and always bringing up Sinkees who have struck out on their own and done well.

What support? I did look into doing business in Singapore. The rental costs alone are so intimidating. Online business is tough competition.

One of the biggest hindrances to starting a business for me was when Singhealth said that based on their HR policies, any doctor under their employment is not allowed to have their own business without permission from Singhealth. Basically they didn't want drs having sideline businesses. I was told early on that having a side line business would impact on my traineeship.

What support? I did look into doing business in Singapore. The rental costs alone are so intimidating. Online business is tough competition.

One of the biggest hindrances to starting a business for me was when Singhealth said that based on their HR policies, any doctor under their employment is not allowed to have their own business without permission from Singhealth. Basically they didn't want drs having sideline businesses. I was told early on that having a side line business would impact on my traineeship.
Not too sure about doctors, but for all other businesses, there is plenty of support. Any enterprising chap in Sinkeepoo can attest to that. To say that there is no help from the gahment is not true.

From personal experience there is also the social circle.

My social circle would say dont do business lah. Go invest in stocks or property. Business very hard.

My own father is the big naysayer. He did his MBA. He would always tell me that his professor would say businessmen have no life work very hard and earn very little money. And majority of businesses lose money.

All very scary intimidating stuff.

Now that we have started a business I can attest to the work very hard make very little money part. It is true.

Majority lose money I can see why too.

It is easier said than done.

From personal experience there is also the social circle.

My social circle would say dont do business lah. Go invest in stocks or property. Business very hard.

My own father is the big naysayer. He did his MBA. He would always tell me that his professor would say businessmen have no life work very hard and earn very little money. And majority of businesses lose money.

All very scary intimidating stuff.

Now that we have started a business I can attest to the work very hard make very little money part. It is true.

Majority lose money I can see why too.

It is easier said than done.
Doing business is not for everyone. Some are much better off working for others. A lot depends on skill, resourcefulness, capability and perseverence. Some have it, many don't. That's why there are the Jeff Bezos, Jack Mah, Warren Buffet,... and everyone else...

I started off with nothing but comfortable now. I don't think I can rake in the kind of money I am making now if I simply work for others.

Doing business is not for everyone. Some are much better off working for others. A lot depends on skill, resourcefulness, capability and perseverence. Some have it, many don't. That's why there are the Jeff Bezos, Jack Mah, Warren Buffet,... and everyone else...

I started off with nothing but comfortable now. I don't think I can rake in the kind of money I am making now if I simply work for others.
There is also opportunity cost.

Those people spend many years invested into a profession and get paid pretty well not fantastic but comfortable.....it is hard to justify throwing that away for usually a venture that has lower financial returns at the beginning and no guarantees that it gets better.

Also in some professions and positions having a sideline could result in being disciplined by employer or licensing body.

Hence it is rare for people with quite good paying jobs to quit and do business. And then those who are not academically inclined and dont have high paying jobs may not have the discipline and skills to succeed and also may not have the start up capital and may not be able to convince investors to partner with them. A bit of a chicken or egg thing.

Best time to start business? When you are younger. Younger no commitments. But with youth many distractions. Ideally have a mentor eg parents or older friend.

Mentors are very important.

Not happy unvax ppl can band together and buy a shopping complex. The designate it as a unvax complex only. Do what you want.

Chinese news said some hair salon groups operating in the hdb heartland will not allow unvaccinated customers. the govt is clamping down hard on the unvaccinated people.

Not happy unvax ppl can band together and buy a shopping complex. The designate it as a unvax complex only. Do what you want.
Unvaxxed people generally are low IQ, low education and low SES type. Buy a shopping complex? I'll be surprised if they can afford 3 meals a day.

Chinese news said some hair salon groups operating in the hdb heartland will not allow unvaccinated customers. the govt is clamping down hard on the unvaccinated people.
Not wise to take the risks with 10% of morons with no economic power anyway.

Sooner or later, the moronic unvaxxed will wise up and get themselves vaccinated.

There is also opportunity cost.

Those people spend many years invested into a profession and get paid pretty well not fantastic but comfortable.....it is hard to justify throwing that away for usually a venture that has lower financial returns at the beginning and no guarantees that it gets better.

Also in some professions and positions having a sideline could result in being disciplined by employer or licensing body.

Hence it is rare for people with quite good paying jobs to quit and do business. And then those who are not academically inclined and dont have high paying jobs may not have the discipline and skills to succeed and also may not have the start up capital and may not be able to convince investors to partner with them. A bit of a chicken or egg thing.

Best time to start business? When you are younger. Younger no commitments. But with youth many distractions. Ideally have a mentor eg parents or older friend.

Mentors are very important.
So that is why not everyone can do business. You need to be willing to take risks as well.

It isn't about protecting anyone... they're just following a script. :biggrin:

Try telling this to Dr Raymond Yuen who died from Covid at the age of 60+ with no underlying medical conditions.

This guy waited so long to get a sino vaccine because it seems like he did not trust the mrna vaccine. And was still only partially vaccinated when he contracted covidm

Really a sad and unnecessary death, because it is highly likely that he would still be alive today if he just got fully vaccinated with the mrna vaccine when it is was offered to him.

Well it’s working .

all the old farts are abandoning their stoic brainwashed anti vaxx mentality and going in droves to get themselves jabbed

anti vaxxers red faced and feel betrayed but can only retreat back into their rat holes and await to shine again at the next pandemic
Sounds like a typical QAnon Trump supporter.

So that is why not everyone can do business. You need to be willing to take risks as well.
Lol!

And this is where Singapore education and Singapore culture is totally horrible at.

Exam technique is not about taking risks. Make educated guess. If dunno move to next question. In medicine lagi worse! Our MCQ true or false but got negative marking! If you answer wrong it is -1 mark! So dont anyhow answer!

Singapore since when encourage people take risks?

Even NS time is safety first. Eveything do safely. Be careful. Dont take risks. Even plan to fight enemy also need to have enough fighting force to defeat otherwise dont take risks.

Whatever business support you speak of from PAP is mostly for foreign companies looking to expand in SG or bigger enterprises. Not SMEs.

And the entire population has been ingrained not to take uncessary risks although that could be a oxymoron when you think about it.

V well said. I would add, tell pompous self righteous so called know it all like Ho Ching to STF and actually go create a real successful biz from scratch and create jobs for other Singgies.

Lol!

And this is where Singapore education and Singapore culture is totally horrible at.

Exam technique is not about taking risks. Make educated guess. If dunno move to next question. In medicine lagi worse! Our MCQ true or false but got negative marking! If you answer wrong it is -1 mark! So dont anyhow answer!

Singapore since when encourage people take risks?

Even NS time is safety first. Eveything do safely. Be careful. Dont take risks. Even plan to fight enemy also need to have enough fighting force to defeat otherwise dont take risks.

Whatever business support you speak of from PAP is mostly for foreign companies looking to expand in SG or bigger enterprises. Not SMEs.

And the entire population has been ingrained not to take uncessary risks although that could be a oxymoron when you think about it.
I took the risk. :thumbsup:

i already said since day 1.there is no way you have a say- you do not want to be vax.
yes they have an option for you.but they will make you surrender sooner or later.
so you vax, you suffer less .you dont vax,you suffer a lot,eventually you still surrender to go vax.