Allan Wu and Wong Li Lin relocating to Shanghai

Dear forumers,
I am in my early 40s and I left SG 3 years back to a third world country. As normal, foreigners in another country is treated as second class citizen with the only exception, SINGAPORE! Singapore government treat own citizen like dirts but treat foreigners as 1st class citizen.

I am doing reasonably well now in my hosted country and fortunate to say I do not have to work any more due to my earlier investments in this hosted country. So I have to say:
It's OK to be treated like a second class citizen elsewhere. BUT it's not OK to be treated like a second class citizen in your own country.

My advice, find opportunities elsewhere. Do not be afraid. Fear is the factor that makes people suffer even more. I overcame my fear and now I am doing very well as a second class in my host country. For SG people, if you think hard enough, this small island will eventually be eaten up by your neighbours and think of your children. If you love them, move out now! And let the FT kill themselves in this hopeless island.

ChonburiFC

Nobody in his right mind relocates for the language. It has to be for better opportunities. To be frank our own home grown starts such as Lim Kay Siu, Lim Kay Tong etc gave it a shot in LA and only landed short roles in movies such as korean storekeeper etc. At least they did not give excuses like this. Which family wants to send their kids to a 3rd world country to learn a language.

There are too many ABCs for these guys to compete in the US and elsewhere.

Nobody in his right mind relocates for the language ...
dat time, dat jim rogers craimed he moved 2 sg 4 his dotters 2 learn pu tong hua ...

so ah li lin now 1 up ah jim ... go shang hai learn chinese ...

Shanghai mei meis very de chio 1, good choice from Allan, LOL

No lah, he was investing heavily in China but there was no way he was going to stay there. He spoke about convenience, taking taxis, security etc. The language was a side issue since he was already her. If it was Pu tong Hua, he would be in the centre of Beijing. Get the picture. If you tell me that SIngapore is the centre of Pu Tong Hua, my name is Tony Tan.

He was just patronising people with his comment.

dat time, dat jim rogers craimed he moved 2 sg 4 his dotters 2 learn pu tong hua ...

so ah li lin now 1 up ah jim ... go shang hai learn chinese ...

How can our education system be among the best in the world when a product of the system as highly educated as yourself is driving taxi ?
Our krafty friend graduated with first class honor degree in biomed rocket science engineering from oversea uni la

That's why cmi here

cb!it's not tht, 我是被奸人所害。。。

Our krafty friend graduated with first class honor degree in biomed rocket science engineering from oversea uni la

That's why cmi here

Some people can just leave like that... They don't have old folks to take care...

They will be back very soon lah. Shanghai almost as expensive as SG but wages is a lot lower. Cannot survive long term if they want to maintain same standard of living. I got at least 2 friends who thought "China cheap" and better opportunity already run road back here liao. They said SG everything > China after having stayed there for a while 1 exception being their retirement plan is way better then ours

1. bro, my job requires to go via shanghai to suzhou very frequently.
2. if the trio think that they make it shanghai with the sub-standard performance or thing.
3. they can just forget it.
4. shanghai city is far more expensive than sheepishland.
5. being nobody, they are just some nobody on the streets of shanghai.
6. what chinese wants for english broadcasters: whites!

Surprisingly, my Mandarin actually improved while I'm here.

People like to say things that they are doing for their children - like those in the 1980s who emigrated enmass to Australia because their children's inability to master Chinese will hamper their opportunities. If you look carefully, a lot of these were actually already losers and used that as an excuse. Nothing wrong with that.

By the same token, Alan has admitted that China is in dire need of bi-lingual hosts - and obviously the opportunities are there.

So, I would say, all the best Alan and Family - go, develop and bring back your new capability in a few years time. God knows we need all the help we can - especially after watching the daft CNA'S programme WHO WANTS TO BE A MILLIONAIRE - oops - I mean the Presidential round table discussion and the bloody stupid commentating by Mark Richmond on the Singapore/Iraq football match.

Dear forumers,
I am in my early 40s and I left SG 3 years back to a third world country. As normal, foreigners in another country is treated as second class citizen with the only exception, SINGAPORE! Singapore government treat own citizen like dirts but treat foreigners as 1st class citizen.

I am doing reasonably well now in my hosted country and fortunate to say I do not have to work any more due to my earlier investments in this hosted country. So I have to say:
It's OK to be treated like a second class citizen elsewhere. BUT it's not OK to be treated like a second class citizen in your own country.

My advice, find opportunities elsewhere. Do not be afraid. Fear is the factor that makes people suffer even more. I overcame my fear and now I am doing very well as a second class in my host country. For SG people, if you think hard enough, this small island will eventually be eaten up by your neighbours and think of your children. If you love them, move out now! And let the FT kill themselves in this hopeless island.

ChonburiFC

What country did you relocated in?

From your nick name is it in thailand at chonburi?

What country did you relocated in?

From your nick name is it in thailand at chonburi?

Hi JR, right! Chonburi is a province in Thailand. I am living humbly in Pattaya, also known as "sin city of Asia". Chonburi FC stands for Chonburi Football Club. I am a supporter of this club for the last one year. If you have the opportunity, please come to Pattaya for a holiday!

Oh been there a couple of times. Lots of whores or what the thais call "curly".

Nobody in his right mind relocates for the language. It has to be for better opportunities. To be frank our own home grown starts such as Lim Kay Siu, Lim Kay Tong etc gave it a shot in LA and only landed short roles in movies such as korean storekeeper etc. At least they did not give excuses like this. Which family wants to send their kids to a 3rd world country to learn a language.

There are too many ABCs for these guys to compete in the US and elsewhere.

I concur, everything happens for a reason. These people are no idiots, there are certainly things they are not telling. What good will that language which is not even universal do for the kids, ask this question and the whole story sounds silly.

whatever! allan and lilin is really 郎才女貌。

STC stands for Sammyboy Thailand Club, are you member already? LOL

If not member already please contact one of the following:

Chairman - Joetys
Sec-Gen - Ramseth
Organising Sec - Alamaking
Grassroot Advisor - Drifter

Please don't contact me. I lost to the above in the committee election LOL

i can guess why allan wu wants to leave, but i thought wong lilin's pilates was quite sucessful in sillypore???

but ya, i think the stipud wu grossly overestimated the "cheapness" of shanghai. isn't shanghai's property even more expense than ours?!?! unless lilin becomes a very rich business woman in china, i predict allan wu will "balik kampung" to USA and get a "normal" job like maybe selling his sperm to fertility clinics.

STC stands for Sammyboy Thailand Club, are you member already? LOL

If not member already please contact one of the following:

Chairman - Joetys
Sec-Gen - Ramseth
Organising Sec - Alamaking
Grassroot Advisor - Drifter

Please don't contact me. I lost to the above in the committee election LOL

Interesting to know there's STC members as the only members I know are from SBF.
Anyway, do PM me if anyone is interested in settling down in Pattaya. Not as difficult and not as expensive as you think. The Russians did it, the Koreans did it and now, the Chinese did it. And most of them don't speak a word of Thai or English when they first came here. But, I bet they are doing much better than before they came here.