• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

All those hanging around and walking out of the cinemas watching this movie confirm can be labelled as retarded brainless bloody idiots

WangChuk

https://www.asiaone.com/entertainment/jack-neo-liang-po-po-returns-chinese-new-year-movie-2026

entertainment

Jack Neo's Liang Po Po returns to big screen for Chinese New Year 2026​

Jack Neo's Liang Po Po returns to big screen for Chinese New Year 2026

Jack Neo announced he will be releasing a new Liang Po Po movie for Chinese New Year 2026.
PHOTO: Facebook/Jack Neo, screengrab/YouTube/JTV
PUBLISHED ONDecember 04, 2025 10:55 AMBYYeo Shu Hui
Local director Jack Neo has announced he will be releasing a new Liang Po Po movie for Chinese New Year 2026.

In a Facebook post yesterday (Dec 3), the 65-year-old comedian announced his new movie titled Liang Po Po: The Comeback, and wrote in the caption: "Okay, I kept mum for a long time because I wanted to give everyone a surprise. To old friends and fans, she is back after 24 years to meet everyone."

The movie synopsis has not been released at the time of writing, but after overwhelming support from netizens, Jack said in the comments section of his post that he will be releasing a teaser video today.

Liang Po Po (Granny Neo) is a comedic elderly woman created by Jack in the 90s for one of the segments in his immensely popular TV show Comedy Nite, where he cross-dressed and performed the character.

In an interview with YouTube podcast First Pot of Gold in July, Jack shared his inspiration for the 85-year-old came from a character named Yang Po Po (Granny Yang) from a Taiwanese variety show in the 90s.

He said: "Granny Yang's humour leaned towards the risque side. Not outright obscene, but definitely suggestive. In Singapore, we couldn't push boundaries like that... So I adjusted everything to suit our values, our local environment and our audiences' tastes and habits.

"We adapted it into a story about a lonely old woman. Her husband died during the Japanese Occupation. She has many children but none of them care about her, so she is a very lonely elderly woman. She wants to contribute to society, but she keeps getting ridiculed... That's the background we created for her."

He also shared that Liang Po Po came about as a "lucky opportunity" when he faced a bottleneck during Comedy Nite and was told to try playing her.

Jack said: "I kept putting it off. I said, 'Not me!' I really didn't want to do it... Then [the production team] said there was really nobody else [to play the character]. I asked them to get Moses Lim but they said he was too fat and they needed someone thinner... I told them I would just do one episode, and they agreed.

"But little did we know — and I can still remember — when I walked out from backstage, I hadn't even started yet, just the sight of Liang Po Po left the audience laughing. They just kept laughing non-stop. And I thought, 'Wow, this is insanely powerful. This is great.' No matter what I said or did, they kept laughing."

Liang Po Po's first movie was released in 1999, centering on the titular character running away from her retirement home in search of a new life, believing she can still contribute to society.

Along the way, she befriends hooligans Ah Beng (Mark Lee) and Ah Seng (Henry Thia). While they take advantage of her naivety to commit illegal acts at the beginning, their friendship soon turns into protection as they attempt to turn over a new leaf.

In recent years, Jack also appeared as Liang Po Po in commercials and entertainment programmes for seniors including Happy Can Already Season 4 (2018).

If jack Neo out of ideas he should adopt new ones from our young creators. Raintree studio cheap bastards dun wan pay royalty.

Liang poh poh again? Enough is enough.Always Squeezing the people dry again and again like a sugar cane grinder.Only dumb sinkees will buy tickets to see his recycled movie . 555

Did he say he wanted to give everyone a surprise? Fuck, man. This is turning out to be a disgustingly horror show.

Liang poh poh again? Enough is enough.Always Squeezing the people dry again and again like a sugar cane grinder.Only dumb sinkees will buy tickets to see his recycled movie . 555
Its an insult and waste of time and money to even watch the trailers. Malaysia have james wan, Taiwan ang lee, ann hui, HK have tsui hark stephen chow , wong kar wai, john woo, ringo lam china have Zhang Yimou, Chen Kaige, and Jia Zhangke. Simgapore??? Really sh!tty talentless directors, and the artistes fann womg zoe equally bad . Old hags for past 40 years . Even if act in cat 3 films nobody would watch.

If jack Neo out of ideas he should adopt new ones from our young creators. Raintree studio cheap bastards dun wan pay royalty.

He's just following the script and guidelines from his masters. Don't expect much creativity or originality.

Never forget what kind of country you are living in.

If there are people walk into the cinemas to watch this super low class movie produced by cheap Teeko Neo, then Minister David Neo is correct, but Sinkies are not only idiot retard as well!