Acceptance Speech of the winner of the Inspiring Teacher of English award

'Aiyah, thank you all lah. I leceive this awhat, I also paiseh, ah. I so happy my students tink I teach good engrish. U no ah, I try my best, and scali I won this awhat. I want to tank all my students who propose me for this awhat, after school, I buay ebi one oreng drink today, ah. Also ah, I want to tank this ba-eet Ministar Is-One-Lan for this commendation ah, but how come boh lui, eh? I also want some financerl leward, mah"

10 teachers honoured with Inspiring Teacher of English Award
By Alvina Soh | Posted: 19 October 2010 2012 hrs

Rachel Poh (R), a teacher at Ngee Ann Secondary. She is one of the recipients of the Inspiring Teacher of English Award.

10 teachers honoured with Inspiring Teacher of English Award

SINGAPORE : Ten teachers were honoured with the Inspiring Teacher of English Award on Tuesday.

They received their awards from Senior Minister of State for Education, S Iswaran at the National Library Building.

The award recognises teachers who use innovative ways to help students speak and write the language better.

Students of CHIJ Kellock Primary take English lessons from Lady Gaga's "sister".

Their teacher, Mrs Esther Chia - a recipient of the Inspiring Teacher of English Award - adopts a persona called "Lady GiGi" to get students to learn the language in a fun way.

"They see me as not just Mrs Chia, they also see Lady GiGi as a co-teacher of Mrs Chia. So with that, it makes them look forward to English learning, because they never know what I'm up to whenever I come to class," she said.

Meanwhile, fellow recipient Ms Rachel Poh makes literature come alive for her students at Ngee Ann Secondary.

She created an online Shakespeare avatar where students can talk to the Bard himself.

"Students are very familiar with using MSN and social networking sites like Facebook... It makes them interested because they think that Shakespeare is quite cool and that he can chat with us on MSN," said Poh, a recipient of the Inspiring Teacher of English Award.

It is a big hit with her students, who now find the Bard's works more interesting.

"MSN is very relevant to our daily lives, and we use MSN everyday, so we don't get bored easily. And it's not textbook-based," said Teo Jia Li, a student at Ngee Ann Secondary School.

Another recipient of the award is William Anthony Grosse from Rosyth School.

He spreads the joy of reading by loaning out his own books to students. The aim is to increase the students' awareness of different books and genres.

Grosse said: "I find that when a teacher tells them this book is great, it takes very little to set them off. And the next minute I know, three, four or five of them said (they've) borrowed the book from the library. So I find that a teacher has to share his or her own love for books and the reading."

The other recipients are:
Ms Karen Kang - Kent Ridge Secondary School;
Mdm Kasimah Bte Yusof - Pasir Ris Crescent Secondary School;
Mrs Sng Mee Lian - Catholic Junior College;
Mrs Sky Frank - CHIJ Our Lady of the Nativity;
Ms Angela Quek - Tampines Junior College;
Mrs Lynette Shanti Vincent Siva - North View Primary School;
Ms Lajwanti Thakurdas Melwani - White Sands Primary School.

All 10 teachers receive a certificate of commendation.