Abdul Malik to mm lee - Obey authority as long as they dun hinder islam

8::::::D

http://burnrallytogether.blogspot.com/2011/01/lee-kuan-yew-vs-muslims.html

Lee is clearly ignorant of the Muslim faith, in expressing those thoughts in his book. How has Islam stopped the integration of Muslim citizens into Singapore society? Muslims are instructed in the Quran to obey the authority in their land, as long as these authority figures do not hinder them from practicing Islam.

MM ciam liao, he really said the wrong thing

Singapore Islam is already very lenient. The other night at my neighbourhood hawker centre, I saw Malays ordering bakchor mee. They order bakchor mee tak mahu bakchor, just with fishballs and fishcakes. But we all know, and they all know, they're not supposed to eat any food cooked in oil and broth that's used to cook pork too. Just next block from the hawker centre is a 7-11 with many benches outside. Malays are drinking beer there happily from evening to past midnight. This could never happen in Malaysia. They'd most probably be lynched or bashed by their more pious peers.

From my younger police days, I've had a Malay SC partnering me for patrol. He ate chinese economical rice and bakkutteh with me, saying sedap! But don't tell the SI (also Malay, devoutly pious and would really punish him as his official superior and religious elder for that.) We had a Malay station sergeant too. He wouldn't touch anything to do with pork but he was always game for a few rounds of beer after duty.

I had a friend he was the head of Venitary and one of my clients who had a pig farm was having problems with his pigs, He came at once when I told him about the problem. I was shocked when I saw him open the mouth of the pig and put this fingers in to examine the animal. I said to him " Are you sure you can do this?"

And his reply was, " Why not! I didnt eat it!".

That muslim man really earned my respect as he was truely a man of science and dedicated to his work.

I had another frined who is muslim, we were the best of frineds. He often came to my house to eat lunch or dinner as he wasnt married then. He never said my plate was haram or my utensil were haram. He just ate the food I placed. One day I put some bacon into a burger I forgotten that it was made of pork, he tasted it and ask me what is it. I told him it was bacon and suddently realise the mistake I made, I apologise profusely but he just took the rest out of the burger and continued eating, To him friendship was more important

I think this is what MM Lee is saying by not being too strict.

I think if you look at the Taiwanese aborigines who have integrated quite successfully with the Chinks in Taiwan, there's still alot of headroom for improvement.

http://burnrallytogether.blogspot.com/2011/01/lee-kuan-yew-vs-muslims.htmlMuslims are instructed in the Quran to obey the authority in their land, as long as these authority figures do not hinder them from practicing Islam.

The question now is, how deeply are you going to practise Islam? That's what MM is talking about. Cos the more pure they are practising, the more they cannot integrate. That's why the old man ask them not to be so staunch, cos if they are staunch, they can NEVER integrate. Even not so staunch already cannot integrate.

I think if you look at the Taiwanese aborigines who have integrated quite successfully with the Chinks in Taiwan, there's still alot of headroom for improvement.

Lets be fair here.
Actually, MM Lee put it right to the point.." be less strict ".
This is as gentle as one can get.

Because, anything spoken about Islam will be usually met with some protestations, no matter how constructive the comment is.

MM Lee went on further to say that the scenario here became
what it is only "after the surge of Islam"..originating from the
Arabs.

These Arabs are rather strict and assertive , because they practice
a form of Islam called Wahabism. And the past 10 years we have
see them coming to this region and spreading their style of Islam.

It is these Arabs that need to be checked and monitored
from spreading their type of "strict" Islam and influencing moderate Muslims in this region, including Malaysia and Indonesia.

Lee Kuan Yew should have said the Chinese PAP should be less strict towards the Malays.