• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A stigma truly exists against graduates from most Australian universities

micromachine

Lieutenant General
Consider the following revelations for a moment:

Excerpt from The Straits Times:

Universities in Australia have been accepting large numbers of students who fall below the admission requirements, prompting concerns about a decline in the nation's education standards.

The falling entry standards came to light after figures were published last week by Fairfax Media showing that leading universities in the state of New South Wales have been accepting students whose high school rankings were well below the universities' advertised minimum.

These included Macquarie University, where 64 per cent of students who were offered places for this year had a ranking below the cut- off. The figure was 46 per cent at the University of New South Wales (UNSW), 27 per cent at the University of Sydney, and 59 per cent at Western Sydney University. Universities in other Australian states reportedly had similar numbers.

New South Wales State Education Minister Adrian Piccoli said he believed the admission practices of the universities risked damaging their international reputation.

Excerpt from Transitioning.org :

Most of the Generation Y unemployed people I saw have at least a degree and some even paid quite a lot of money to secure a solid university education from overseas – mostly Australian universities.

They are also mostly engineers, IT specialists or finance graduates. A huge percentage of them come from middle-income family background and stay in HDB flat
s.

Excerpt from Mothership:

Anil Sandhu, 33, Lawyer at Kertar & Co

“I had a torrid 3 years in JC. I never gained any confidence because the tests and exams were always unrealistically difficult. I ended up with C, D, & E for my 'A' Levels.”

“I was lucky that my parents could afford to send me to Australia where I initially attended the Australian National University in Canberra, majoring in Science. The educational environment in Australia was liberating for me. It gave me the time to appreciate the content and room to be creative, and I finished close to the top of class in my first year, which allowed me to apply to law school in Adelaide.”

Now here are the facts.

1. There are so many mediocre universities in Australia ranging from the bottom of the barrel (Charles Sturt University) to unknowns like Swinburne University or even the known but weak schools like Curtin University. This is analogous to Singapore featuring an assortment of tertiary institutions ranging from SIM all the way to NUS.

More at http://www.domainofexperts.com/2018/03/a-stigma-truly-exists-against-graduates.html

It's a well known fact amongst sinkies that the low performing students who can't qualify for the main local universities go study in Australian universities.

170,000 Asians study in Australia no wonder angmoh loved Asian food. Pay to study and yet work as coolies at Chinese food courts/ restaurant serving anmohs.

maxsanic

Never quite understood the point of spending exorbitant sums to study in Australia. Other than the 4-5 state universities where there is some semblance of academic standards, the rest are really no different from degree mills the likes of SIM/MDIS/Kaplan etc. in Singapore.

it’s like chink and neh fob’s buying toyota camry in bay area. too many of low lives driving the same model make it looks cheap and unappealing.

Hangover

In the 70s and 80s, many of our govt scholars were sent to Monash, etc.

Today, u can't qualify for local poly, but you can take a 9-mth foundation course with almost guaranteed entry to Monash.

Only Group of 8 unis are reputable. If u enrol into any other uni, u are super fucked.
go8_web_lower_banner.jpg

Bonut

Only Group of 8 unis are reputable. If u enrol into any other uni, u are super fucked.
go8_web_lower_banner.jpg
That means Curtin is a piece of shit ? My old friend was singing praises of Curtin where his son graduated with some Master's in Psychology in Singapore.

It's better to study Monash in Malaysia.

I always thought it would be better to study UOL external. At least they have "authentic" examinations where they will fail you if you don't meet their requirements.

That means Curtin is a piece of shit ? My old friend was singing praises of Curtin where his son graduated with some Master's in Psychology in Singapore.

It's better to study Monash in Malaysia.

I always thought it would be better to study UOL external. At least they have "authentic" examinations where they will fail you if you don't meet their requirements.

Your friend is suffering from an inferiority complex because his son failed to get into NTU or NUS. Does he wear a shit gold Rolex to show off too?

Bonut

Your friend is suffering from an inferiority complex because his son failed to get into NTU or NUS. Does he wear a shit gold Rolex to show off too?
I asked him if his son had gone to Australia to study. He said the son never left Singapore. I told him if I remembered correctly, this type of private university "sure pass one". I recalled that his son failed his 'A' levels.

Perhaps James Cook University could be a good university. It is fronted by a good white man in a science lab coat. James Cook University has a local franchise in Singapore. Low SES sinkies who can't afford an Australian education can do it locally.

bi-jcu-profneilhutchinson03.jpg

JCU's multidisciplinary Bachelor of Business and Environmental Science adopts a holistic approach to business operations

Going green is high on the Government's agenda.

According to the Public Sector Sustainability Plan 2017 to 2020, the public sector plans to reduce electricity and water consumption by 15 per cent and 5 per cent respectively by 2020.

The private sector is following the lead too.
Twenty-five per cent of companies surveyed here — close to the global average of 27 per cent — have adopted environmentally sustainable practices.

Almost half the companies recognise that more customers are demanding environmentally sustainable services and products.

The finding is from a report by HSBC Singapore shared with The Straits Times on Jan 23, 2018. It surveyed more than 1,400 decision-makers across 14 countries on the ethical impact of their businesses as part of their strategies and growth ambitions.

More than half the companies believe that going green is key to improving their growth and profitability.

For business students, understanding this paradigm shift can give them an edge in the competitive workforce.

Dr Neil Hutchinson, a senior lecturer for the Singapore campus of James Cook University's (JCU) environmental science program, tells us why its Bachelor of Business and Environmental Science program better equips graduates to navigate the changing business landscape.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/education/bridging-the-business-science-gap

All this bullshit about holistic talk is nonsense.

Let's talk facts and figures instead. If they pull out the average salary of an NTU/NUS grad, confirm at least 40% higher than an Aussie grad.

go8_web_lower_banner.jpg

If a girl any uni is fine. It is easy to crash into some white bloke’s life and become Australian. Better than remain sinkie and eyes glue on jobs portals all day. :cool: