• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Khon Kaen is a province in Thailand located in the North East of the country. Only 1 hour flying time from Bangkok. Cute package in Thai Smile Airline, the domestic arm of Thai Airways

KA3N7nx.jpg

Rented a car from the airport without making prior booking, a pretty new Toyota Vios (auto) for only $41 (989 baht)

eIaaMmu.jpg

Arrived in Khon Kaen city yesterday driving into the heart of the city

[media]
Big hotel room for only $64

UtdxAxt.jpg

ZPlkPgq.jpg

q9UlnZC.jpg

Went for a walk round the hotel and realised there are many bars and pubs in this area, here's some photos

GzrhJZb.jpg

23lqjpQ.jpg

Hl7ntwJ.jpg

CXgQWpo.jpg

8Pvoylb.jpg

Wr7DjgZ.jpg

5OPUa36.jpg

E87Gwhb.jpg

RFcdhWx.jpg

Fcvka6R.jpg

YgzESLE.jpg

4FAvp1K.jpg

stqIw7U.jpg

Wa6WWYi.jpg

Had a few beers at Khon Kaen's Blues Bar, I thought its Blues Bar but there's no bad nor blues music just a bloody bunch of blue coloured lights
x7XDq3H.jpg

Surprised an inexpensive hotel in Khon Kaen having a great breakfast

Rainy morning yesterday
a9FJ7Yv.jpg

Indoor pool by dining hall
PghqMNG.jpg

Excellent variety
U6OOMjT.jpg

All sorts of eggs, I order soft half boiled egg
aLTbkS7.jpg

Stir fry broad noodle
y5rOzk4.jpg

Red chicken curry
DE3xzBP.jpg

Mixed vegetables
dcttdVH.jpg

Fried rice
fQesafp.jpg

Salad
Y2a2L1j.jpg

Condiments for porridge and boiled rice
E0JFpaP.jpg

Bonut

Surprised an inexpensive hotel in Khon Kaen having a great breakfast

Rainy morning yesterday
a9FJ7Yv.jpg

Indoor pool by dining hall
PghqMNG.jpg

Excellent variety
U6OOMjT.jpg

All sorts of eggs, I order soft half boiled egg
aLTbkS7.jpg

Stir fry broad noodle
y5rOzk4.jpg

Red chicken curry
DE3xzBP.jpg

Mixed vegetables
dcttdVH.jpg

Fried rice
fQesafp.jpg

Salad
Y2a2L1j.jpg

Condiments for porridge and boiled rice
E0JFpaP.jpg
$64 in ulu Khon Kaen is inexpensive?

1. Khon Kaen is far from ulu. After Bangkok, Chiangmai, Pattaya it’s probably the next most developed city in Thailand. It’s got all the amenities a modern city has. As a matter of fact an elevated dual way train from Korat to Khon Kaen is almost completed will be expecting to start operation end of the year. Also a light rail system for the city should start construction end of this year.

2. There are many more expensive hotels in Khon Kaen so $64 is considered inexpensive (I didn't say cheap), moreover for a screw salesman this is a rare luxury as normally my boss allow me to live in 750 baht ($31) salesman motel (other staff 500-600 baht) and breakfast consist of only boiled rice with bits of minced pork.

yinyang

Chanced upon this blog "Tieland to Thailand" by AMDK expat couple resident in Thailand. Perhaps from farang perspective, but maybe useful reading for some here. For sure, not all their efforts are gratis :geek:

https://www.tielandtothailand.com/

Extract on makan section here 'Foodgasms'
25 Tasty Thai Street Snacks: Finger Food Guide
by Chris and Angela | Last updated Mar 27, 2018 | Published on Mar 5, 2018 | Food | 16 comments
https://www.tielandtothailand.com/25-tasty-thai-street-snacks-finger-food-guide/

Exploring Thailand wouldn’t be complete without browsing through its ubiquitous street stalls and grazing on a buffet of Thai street snacks. But for some people, that’s easier said than done. Choosing from the many options on display can be a little a lotta overwhelming, especially if it’s your first visit. We’ve been there, done that, and it’s not fun when your stomach is growling in hunger but your eyes are saying, “What the heck is that?”

Try These Easy-to-Eat Thai Street Snacks
We’ve put together a list of Thai finger foods that are almost all less than a dollar (even for several pieces) and can be nibbled on while you’re walking around. In other words, you don’t need to be sitting down with a set of silverware to enjoy these tasty treats and it won’t hurt the bank.
Our list includes details such as both the English and Thai name (with proper pronunciation, tones and all), a short description of what it looks like, as well as a summary of how it tastes to help you get a better idea of what you’re in for. In no particular order, here are snacks that you can find from many street hawkers in Thailand.

Roti Gluay | Banana Crêpe
Roti-Gluay-Thai-Banana-Crepe-iStock-845999100-.jpg
iStock.com/Nadezhda Zaitceva
How to Really Pronounce It
roh-dtee glôo-ai | โรตีกล้วย
What to Look For
Look for a cart that has bananas, eggs, and cans of Carnation sweetened condensed milk on display. You’ll see the vendor slapping out a thin disk of dough and cooking something on a griddle that looks like a crêpe.
What Banana Roti Tastes Like
Roti is a sweet treat that’s crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. A classic combo is banana and egg filling, which tastes similar to banana custard. You can also put Nutella, peanut butter, mango, corn, and even cheese inside. When finished cooking, drizzle sweetened condensed milk, chocolate, or honey on top.
How to Eat It
The roti will be cut up into bite-sized pieces and served on a little tray or plate. Grab a thin bamboo skewer to stab each piece.

Moo Bing Kao Nieow | Grilled Pork & Sticky Rice
Pork-Skewers-Moo-Bing.jpg

mǒo bpîng côw nee-ǒw | หมูปิ้งข้าวเหนียว
What to Look For
These carts will be paired with a small grill, so you can smell the smoky goodness of moo bping from a little way down the road. Look for short skewers of bite-sized meat that’s usually orangy red with charred edges.
What Moo Bing Tastes Like
Moo bing is usually made from a fatty cut of pork, so it’s tender and extremely flavorful (think bacon). It’s also got a sweet and salty flavor thanks to a marinated made of oyster sauce, soy sauce, and palm sugar, among other things. The grill gives it an unmistakable smokiness.
How to Eat It
Buy 3 or 4 pieces and eat it directly off the skewer in between small bites of sticky rice, which can be bought separately for around 5 baht per bag.

Ideam Khanom Bung | Thai Ice Cream Sandwich
Ideam-Khanom-Bung-Thai-Ice-Cream-Sandwich-iStock-878204774-.jpg
iStock.com/phattaraphum
i-dtim kà-nǒhm bung | ไอติมขนมปัง
What to Look For
It’s a literal ice cream sandwich! Look for a scoop or two of ice cream (coconut, mixed fruit, or Thai tea flavors) that’s been pressed into a bun or between two pieces of white bread. Some popular toppings include coconut cream, toasted peanuts, and shavings of fresh coconut.
What a Thai Ice Cream Sandwich Tastes Like
This unassuming sandwich is a frozen, squishy treat that’s perfect while walking around in the hot afternoon. Simple yet fun, it really shows an east-meets-west snack style. It’s also great that the bread helps to prevent any ice cream drips.
How to Eat It
Pick your ice cream flavor, your toppings, and then eat it like a sandwich or a hotdog.

yinyang

Nam Ponlamai Bun | Fruit Smoothie
Fruit-Smoothie-Nam-Ponlamai-Bun.jpg

náhm pòhn-là-mái bùn | น้ำผลไม้ปั่น
What to Look For
Street stalls that have access to electrical outlets will power up their blenders and make all sorts of combinations of fresh fruits, vegetables, and herbs.
What It Tastes like
Tropical freshness. A good smoothie vendor will toss in ample amounts of fruit and vegetable and put just enough ice and water it to get it cold and give it the right consistency. Don’t be afraid to try some unusual combinations such as mango and avocado or pineapple, orange, and watermelon.
TIP: Don’t buy a fruit smoothie from a vendor that has syrups on display. Stick with vendors who use fresh fruit.

Khao Nieow Mamuang | Mango Sticky Rice
Khao-Nieow-Mamuang-Thai-Mango-Sticky-Rice-iStock-614622430-.jpg
iStock.com/ampols
côw nee-ǒw má-môo-ahng | ข้าวเหนียวมะม่วง
What to Look For
Look for a scoop of creamy white rice topped with yellow-orange mango slices. Variations include a drizzle of coconut cream or a sprinkling of puffed rice on top.
What Mango Sticky Rice Tastes Like
Chances are you’ll get a perfectly ripe mango, so you’re in for a sweet treat. The glutinous rice is mixed with coconut milk and a bit of sugar and salt. After being cooked, it’s a dessert-like creamy coconut sticky rice.
How to Eat It
With a spoon because you’ll probably want seconds.

Kns..These pictures make me hungry. Haven't eaten the whole day except for some chicks peas for lunch !!!!! :(

yinyang

Sai Grok Isaan | Isaan Sour Sausage
Sai-Grok-Isaan-Isaan-Sour-Sausage.jpg

sîgh gràwk ee-săhn | ไส้กรอกอีสาน

What to Look For
Sour sausage is pinkish in color and can be found on skewers or in long chains of 1 centimeter balls. The vendor always has a grill going to cook up these tasty morsels.

What Isaan Sour Sausage Tastes Like
It’s tangy, smoky, and garlicky and has a buttery, slightly chewy texture. A little bit goes a long way, so many times the vendors mix rice or clear noodles into the casing to serve it.

How to Eat It
One skewer is usually enough. Otherwise, buy 5 to 10 mini balls and grab a small bamboo skewer. In between bites of sai grok Isaan, nibble on the accompanying slices of ginger, chopped raw cabbage, and (if you dare) prik kee noochilis.

Khao Nieow Sungkaya | Custard Sticky Rice
Khao-Nieow-Sungkaya-Thai-Custard-Sticky-Rice-iStock-623859650-.jpg
iStock.com/Samathi

côw nee-ǒw sùngkàyăh | ข้าวเหนียวสังขยา

What to Look For
Look for leaf-wrapped snacks in the shape of a pyramid.

What Khao Nieow Sungkaya Tastes Like
These are one of our favorite Thai street snacks. They are a sweet combination of creamy coconut egg custard and coconut sticky rice. The coconut milk flavor is not overpowering, but it does give it an exotic taste.

How to Eat It
Unwrap the leaves and eat what’s inside. Be sure to have a wet wipe or place to wash your hands nearby since eating these can get rather messy.

yinyang

Guay Tiew Lui Suan | Thai Summer Rolls
Thai-Summer-Rolls-Guay-Tiew-Lui-Suan.jpg

gǒo-ai dtee-ǒw loo-ee soǒo-ahn | ก๋วยเตี๋ยวลุยสวน

What Thai Summer Rolls Look Like
They look very similar to a fresh Vietnamese roll. Rather than deep fried, the herbs, vegetables, and meat (minced or sausage) are wrapped by a semi see-through white wrapper and are served with a spicy green dipping sauce.

What They Taste Like
Thai basil, cilantro, and a little mint add a light and fresh but satisfying flavor to the rolls. However, the green sauce on the side gives a pop of flavor thanks to the lime juice, garlic, chilies, and fish sauce. It’s a great twist on Vietnamese summer rolls.

Khanom Krok Khai Nok Krata | Fried Quail Eggs
Khanom-Khrok-Khai-Nok-Krata-Thai-Fried-Quail-Eggs-iStock-915570266-.jpg
iStock.com/Mindklongdan

kà-nǒhm kròhk kài nóhk grà-tah | ขนมครกไข่นกกระทา

What Quail Eggs Looks Like
Like miniature fried chicken eggs! Vendors cook them in the same cast iron skillet used for khanom krok, so they end up cooked in a spherical shape. Before they’re cooked, the egg is a white with black or brown patches.

What They Taste Like
They taste just like a chicken egg. The bottom has a nice little crust on it and the egg yolk can be a little gooey or cooked all the way through.

yinyang

Froggy's not forgotten.. more later

Isaan Thai Food: 6 Northeastern Thai Dishes You Should Try
Last updated Mar 13, 2018 | Published on Mar 13, 2017 | 7 comments

Isaan Thai food is renowned for its pungent sauces, spicy chilies, and unusual proteins. It isn’t often in the spotlight but it certainly has its own die-hard fans who will travel far for Isaan food made right. Here are several crowd-pleasing dishes that...

https://www.tielandtothailand.com/isaan-thai-food-6-dishes-you-should-try/

yinyang

yinyang

01 Kanom Jeen Nam Ngiaw ขนมจีนน้ำเงี๊ยว
Northern-Thai-Food-Kanom-Jeen-Nam-Ngiaw.jpg

“kah-nome-jeen nahm ngee-ow”

What to Look For
An island of bright white, skinny rice noodles swimming in a thin, dark red broth in a bowl. The soupy part will contain slow cooked meaty bits of pork or beef and stewed tomatoes. It may be topped with slivers of cabbage, pickled mustard greens, crisp white bean sprouts, fresh cilantro, and fried garlic.

What Nam Ngiaw Tastes Like
This dish is packed full of smoky, tangy flavor. True to Northern Thai food style, this curry has no coconut milk but is flavored with beef or pork, tomatoes, and dried smoky chilies. The broth is a deep rust red color, slightly pungent and a little oily, but full on delicious. Yes, it’s spicy (and probably the spiciest dishes on this list), but it’s definitely worth braving up and trying. Our particular version had chunks of oxtail that had been slowly stewed, making it very easy to pick away the tender meat from the bones.

Nam-Ngiaw-Northern-Thai-Food.jpg

Unusual Ingredients
It contains an interesting looking long, spindly herb that is the dried flower center of the red cotton tree. And we probably shouldn’t be telling you this but the dark red cubes are blood cake. Think red tofu. Seriously, you wouldn’t have known the difference. Red tofu!

Where to Find Nam Ngiaw in Chiang Mai
Huen Phen 112 Ratmakka Road | (053) 277-103 | Open daily from 8:30am to 4pm and 5pm to 10pm

yinyang

02 Sai Oua ไส้อั่ว | Northern Thai Sausage
Northern-Thai-Sausage-Sai-Oua.jpg

“sigh oo-ah”

What to Look For
Long, circular coils of pork sausage that can be easily spotted in Thai markets, at food vendors, and on menus of Northern Thai restaurants. The outer casing is charred red brown and when sliced on the diagonal reveals an inside with a golden brown color with speckles of green and light yellow.

What Sai Oua Tastes Like
The prominent flavors of this Northern Thai sausage is lemongrass, kaffir lime leaf, and galangal. It’s smoky from the grill and has a little heat to it from the added chilies. To be fair, if you’re not familiar with how the first three ingredients taste (hint: lemongrass does not taste like lemon and kaffir lime leaf does not taste like lime), then it’s hard to imagine the flavor. But hey, that’s all the more reason to sample sai oua while you’re in town.

Sai-Oua-Northern-Thai-Sausage.jpg

How to Eat It
This is finger food. Eat the bite sized slices as is, punctuated with small pinches of sticky rice or dipped in nam prik noom, a classic Thai dip made of pounded grilled green chilies, garlic, herbs, and fermented fish. Small bamboo skewers are often offered to be used as a utensil. Sai oua goes great with a cold bottle of local Leo or Singh beer.

Where to Find Sai Oua in Chiang Mai
This is one food we’d recommend eating from a food stall or Thai market. Go to any food stall set up – along Suthep Road by Chiang Mai University or at Chiang Mai Gate (open every evening starting around 5pm). The Saturday and Saturday Night Walking Street Markets are good places to start, too.

04 Khao Soi ข้าวซอย | Northern Yellow Egg Noodle Curry
Northern-Thai-Food-Kao-Soi-Nimman.jpg

“cow saw-ee”
What to Look For
A bowl of yellow noodles and a rich, fragrant curry broth ranging from an orangy-yellow saffron color to canary yellow. It’s topped with a tangle of fried yellow noodles and often served with a slow cooked chicken and a small condiment dish filled with sliced purple shallots, mustard greens, deep red chili paste, and a wedge of lime. It may also be drizzle with white coconut cream before being served.
Northern-Thai-Food-Khao-Soi.jpg

What Khao Soi Tastes Like
Khao Soi get’s its exotic flavor from a curry paste mixture of dried and fresh chilies, anise, coriander seeds, and turmeric. The creamy soup is made with a base of chicken stock that’s been thickened with a generous scoop of coconut milk. This is then ladled over a mound of soft, wavy egg noodles. Usually we go for khao soi that’s been served with chicken – a slowly stewed drumstick to be exact – but we have also had versions served with slices of white meat chicken (meh, not nearly as much flavor), hunks of slow cooked beef, slices of roasted pork, and even some vegetarian versions.
How to Eat It
Grab a set of chopsticks and a Chinese soup spoon and dig in. Even though the curry broth is most likely already a bit spicy, you can add more heat to your liking with the side of oily, smoky chili paste. But be warned – a little goes a long way! And don’t fret, the meat should be tender enough pick it off the chicken bones with your chopsticks.
Where to Find Khao Soi in Chiang Mai
You can find it practically everywhere, but here’s a map of our favorite khao soi restaurants and food stalls:

05 Nam Prik Ong น้ำพริกอ่อง | Pork Tomato Chili Dip
Northern-Thai-Food-Nam-Prik-Ong.jpg

“nahm prick awng”
What to Look For
The dip itself looks like Bolognese sauce – a very thick, chunky tomato sauce loaded with ground pork. It’s served in a small bowl, which is usually served alongside a larger platter featuring raw or parboiled slices of cabbage, long beans, okra, cauliflower, and eggplant. It can also be served with fried pork cracklings called kap moo, boiled eggs, and Thai sausages.
What Nam Prik Ong Tastes Like
We joke that it tastes just like rich, thick spaghetti sauce without the western herbs like thyme and basil. It’s garlicy and can range from mild to spicy depending on who makes it. Surprisingly, this particular dip excludes ‘classic’ Thai or Asian flavors such as fish sauce, lemongrass, or soy sauce.
How to Eat It
This is another finger food and doubles as a good appetizer. The vegetables are already cut up into bit sized pieces (generally speaking), so just dip away and consume to your heart’s content. We like this dish when we’re in the mood for something light and ‘healthy’.
Where to Find Nam Prik Ong in Chiang Mai
You probably won’t find this dish at street vendors, so you best bet is to eat it at a sit down Thai restaurant.
Faces (Terra Cotta Arts Garden) Prapokklao Road Soi 2 | (053) 278 187 | Open daily from 8am to 11pm
There ya have it! Even though this list barely skims the surface of Northern Thai food, at least you can be confident in sampling a handful of new dishes while you’re in Chiang Mai There’s no point in flying halfway across to globe only to find yourself eating at McDonald’s, amiright?