• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

hehehe. no. 2 mother arrived few hours ago. feel more relax now at least don't have to worry so much like last 2 days. will bring both out for dinner later but have to go somewhere further.

Go RELAX la in Bang Saen

hehehe. paiseh lah. went east instead of west direction. secret location 20 mins drive from patt.

C360_2013-05-17-18-33-55_org_zpse3c25fcd.jpg

C360_2013-05-17-18-41-40_zpse7ec26c4.jpg

ok lah. now the food. i never order anything except draft singha.

seafood salad.
C360_2013-05-17-18-41-19_org_zpsfb8f6347.jpg

something like gaeng paa but not really. order by mother. but really spicy.

C360_2013-05-17-18-40-09_org_zpscb8992f6.jpg

goong orb woon sen (prawns baked with tang hoon) order by fat zha bor. :p

and another stir fried golden needle mushroom. cannot find photo.

hehehe. long day today. had a can of chang before i go zzz liaoz

yeah tommorrow morning need to bring fat zha boh to hospital for check up.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
thanks bro.

i did water the plants many times. even neighbours' plants facing the same problem. all their orchid plants leaves turn yellow. the weather is exceptionally hot the last few days. donno how to describe. the moment step out of shower, perspire like crazy liaoz. Now I have to move most of the plants under the shade. the mini palm and the wall crawlers are doing fine.

I spray a lot of water not only on the soil but also all around the compound, not a lot but just a fine misting to cool everything off. Also hang wet towels around the entrance or gates so when the wind blows in, it gets very cooling even without aircon being turned on.

food wise ok niah. scenary wise, solid!

C360_2013-05-17-18-29-21_org_zpsa00efc77.jpg

Chon, I'm still having my brandy alone now listening to this song so many times liao and I want to share it with you. A great song indeed.

This song is so true, it's painful to live one's life for someone.

dietcoke

Certain things cannot "openly" put across (think you know what I mean):wink:

Technically yes, LTVP = no employment. But doesn't real life also means that your wifey sticks with you, and looks after marital interests (and not just limited to household chores)? I do think it's a "thin" line on employment. And for practical reasons, yourself can't be 24/7 but rely on your better half to "hold the fort" (you get my drift). Don't take my work my it, but yours is a common thing in practice in town.

Your insurance will be eventual PR status. Meanwhile, just ensure nobody else squeals :wink:

yo what happened? i tried to give points to YY on the above quote, but the icon is missing. left only the '!' icon only. why har??

Hi bro! Your wife has LTVP shld not be an issue coz I see many Thai shops asking for workers with at least a LTVP also. Only thing I can think of is whether she would be subjected to the Sinkie to foreigner ratio, if she needs a work permit in the first place.

Best would be to call MOM as they would be the ones issuing the work permits and can better advise you. Here is ICA's website on the matter:
http://www.ica.gov.sg/news_details.aspx?nid=12665

Choke dee naa krub!
just saw this post....
LTVP not subjected to workers ratio or workers levy but you/your company need to apply for work pass for your wife....but if the shop belongs to you then its a grey area and possibly you can talk your way out but going by the book you need a work pass for her.

yinyang

Weekend skive to Chiangmai (after another 2 day working trip in Bangers). Mae Rim into Poon Yang area is a nice, scenic drive 20kms from CNX, accessible from civilisation yet with country settings. Not been to a real baanok, but here's some views of a hill side hamlet and field gardens (now hot season new ground without usual strawberries and flowers). Loved the hillside terrace field

A friend's 3 land lots, 1 of 20 rai (baht 15mil)
58A8F702-77BE-4755-8A55-C6D9992989EA-420-000000447E6E2DED_zpse9f570d8.jpg

7855EAFC-ACC9-4BA4-9949-F70EBF925435-420-000000448511DF02_zps8ae95430.jpg

D068FFBF-E8D6-46AD-B88D-140F31FCBD38-420-000000448B4B5AF0_zps7628cde8.jpg

Mom's provision shop
2171A457-CEF4-46AF-8590-F64F67A1C436-420-0000004498486887_zps3280c761.jpg

Her vacant house (with extension at back). Great hillside views morning, I think with evening cocktails
213E4739-8662-4368-8D48-5E82017E774A-420-000000449D62F56E_zps9c7c54dd.jpg

Lunch at Mae rim restaurant

AC33A076-EB44-42EE-B9AA-67399193B831-420-00000044AA99441A_zps46e9e468.jpg

yinyang

belated pic of this morning's brekkie at 7 Senses (Lanna style place pics I posted last year)

Cook surprised me with a decent khao soi
A9232A1F-834A-4DC1-B997-01933F544D6F-420-0000004BF41BC37D_zps24279fb7.jpg

Threw in khao niao ma muang (mango sticky rice)
CF100AEA-8F91-421C-93A2-BA59F6F7C834-420-0000004BFA80A473_zps7bfac735.jpg

Moo congee, northern style

A2E22C1A-285A-4155-A46C-483A3FB3B3AE-420-0000004C041C9A29_zps6ed32b0a.jpg

YY your kao-soi is really classic untainted type. Very cool. Kns you in Thai I in Singa. Sigh

yinyang

your kao-soi is really classic untainted type. Very cool. Kns you in Thai I in Singa. Sigh
No worries, our path will cross again in June (another 2 working trips, not complaining either):p Yo, original classic, by chef with pony tail.

I know you not a scotch guy, more of cognac. I replayed McCallan last night at a local Thai joint

C6F526EB-81DC-40CA-83BB-7CFAE95D2B32-420-00000062A3B301E6_zps7e1540b4.jpg

No worries, our path will cross again in June (another 2 working trips, not complaining either):p Yo, original classic, by chef with pony tail.

I know you not a scotch guy, more of cognac. I replayed McCallan last night at a local Thai joint

C6F526EB-81DC-40CA-83BB-7CFAE95D2B32-420-00000062A3B301E6_zps7e1540b4.jpg

You're the man mate, always the man.