• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

yinyang

Hehehe. Should be in Bangers right now dio boh? Yin Dee Torn Rap! :smile:
Pii Chon, lucky your family jewels intact with motorsai accident.:p

Got in Bangers last evening. Had a late night wining and dining a OL contact at Wasabi in Explanade. Took MRT and BTS to On Nut for night cap at local night market's alfresco beer spot with Chang tower (for a steal at thb380) with live band. Then chased another at Nana, bar hopped 3 bars to 0200 closing. Lost count of beers, with fuzzy logic for work today kns:o Dunno how I bulshitted my power point.

Got obligatory office makan tonight at Aussie eatery in Suk called No Idea (after many patrons shrugged shoulders same where to go). Will see if I'm sober to take pics.

Sawasdee krup everyone. Just returned the rental car at the airport and now going to terminal for our flight to Honolulu in 1hr 20mins time (9.05am). Pretty excited because this is my first time to Hawaii and also to attend a Japanese wedding.

Cheers

Sawasdee krup everyone. Just returned the rental car at the airport and now going to terminal for our flight to Honolulu in 1hr 20mins time (9.05am). Pretty excited because this is my first time to Hawaii and also to attend a Japanese wedding.

Cheers

enjoy your time in hawaii as it seems the weather is good this week. i'm over in d.c. meeting uncle sam and temperature will climb to 80f.

Met a great girl checking in. Very helpful true blue Hawaiian, out bags were over weight and she helped us overcome it so no need to pay. She saw our passports knowing we're livin in Thailand and asked us in a surprised manner, "you guys live in Thailand why need to come Hawaii? You're country is so beautiful and the beaches and islands are all so beautiful." For a moment I felt proud to be living in Thailand, what a compliment.

one of my best friends' niece is getting married in phuket. the couple choose phuket because according to them, it is absolutely unforgettable. i'm invited but have to attend another wedding at another place at around the same time. too bad.

rotikosong

Cheers

The one thing I'd recommend in Hawai'i is attend a luau. It's their signature island party, complete with roast whole sucking pig, along with shows such as the hula, fire-eating and of course mai tais.
A popular one in Oahu is the Polynesian Cultural Center

That, plus the Pearl Harbor memorial + Diamondhead park + Waikiki beaches will complete your trip. Mahalo.

yinyang

recommend in Hawai'i is attend a luau. It's their signature island party, complete with roast whole sucking pig, along with shows such as the hula, fire-eating and of course mai tais.
Pearl Harbor memorial + Diamondhead park + Waikiki beaches will complete your trip. Mahalo.
Luau reminds me of kiwi aborigine feast, with works cooked in pile of earth and rocks. Small wonder, with polynesian connections. Not exactly fine cuisine, but touristy thing to do. Pear Harbour memorial is dignified, reminds us of how ww2 turned fortunes with yanks joining fray after surprise tora2 attacks by jepun kias

hawaiian natives are related and connected to the maori. the most impressive cultural spectacle in hawaii, imo, is the polynesian dance and song show featuring performers from nz, fiji, tahiti, samoa, guam and hawaii. add the lu-au to the spectacle, and you have a grand feast plus entertainment for the whole evening. best is when the entire event is held on the beach by the ocean, with sunset in the background.

from dance/song tales of the show, the story tells the ocean migration of maori from the kiwi islands to fiji, fiji to tahiti, tahiti to samoa and guam, and finally to hawaii. in each colony, migrants settled down, fought, survived and created their own identity, with variations in dance, song, costumes, color and plumage, as feathers from birds vary by island. truly fascinating and enriching.

Phuket beaches are alright but wait until they see the shit sewage water in Chao Phraya to call beautiful! :eek:

rotikosong

I think beaches in Thailand are nice but there are nicer beaches e.g. East Malaysia and Philippines. Even Hawaii esp Big Island is more sabai because of the weather - little humidity with the warm tradewinds. Thailand is just too bloody hot.

Puying in Hawaii is a little better too - all the races mixed here and there. Problem is, Hawaii is crazy expensive. Let's see if P'Joe agrees with my puying-o-meter assessment.

Just arrived waiting for transport to hotel. This is the borrito Hawaiian Airline serve us for breakfast, pretty cute box

88884e93.jpg

7fc2264c.jpg

Seen this globe many time but this time just realize the dark part looks like Dary Vader

47fa4d68.jpg

The one thing I'd recommend in Hawai'i is attend a luau. It's their signature island party, complete with roast whole sucking pig, along with shows such as the hula, fire-eating and of course mai tais.
A popular one in Oahu is the Polynesian Cultural Center

That, plus the Pearl Harbor memorial + Diamondhead park + Waikiki beaches will complete your trip. Mahalo.

Ya I guess these are why we're gonna do here these 4 days. Entire Friday will be covered by the wedding.

Phuket beaches are alright but wait until they see the shit sewage water in Chao Phraya to call beautiful! :eek:

Please la Pii Ram you are also a seasoned traveller to Thailand it's not just Phuket and Chao Praya. There are countless islands and beaches and many mountains all very well preserved and maintained. Chao Praya flows through Bangkom and discharges there so like any city in the world rivers there sure dirty la.

Jlokta

I actually had 2 options: (1) Drive there myself or (2) Do it with tour - yesterday I checked and the one day tour is like pass by Hoover and given 15mins to look see then quickly proceed to Grand Canyon West every thing quickly. So I decided to do it myself so that it will be more meaningful.

Took our time while at Hoover because there's just so much to learn there. Then started the journey to Grand Canyon at 11am. At 12noon we stopped for a nice lunch in a small town Dolon Spring (see pics above). We had only another 60miles to go to the Grand Canyon West Rim. We spoke to the owner of the restaurant restaurant, BB Pizzza, and she said that West Rim is too commercialised witht eh skywalk. This was built by a Japanese and so many "oriental" tourists goes there. She recommended the south rim but its another 120miles away. I drive to Grand Canyon Cavern which was 80 miles from the restaurant and the guys there told me not a good idea to reach there as its another 100 miles drive or 2hrs. I decided to turn back. Anyway I did not regret as the drive as very refreshing and scenery fantastic on 95 and 66 and most importantly I got to spend a lot of time in Hoover. OK I will have to go there next time probably not from LV. Here's some pics I took at Hoover,

The fella who built the skywalk is not a Jap, but a chinese / taiwanese developer - David Jin.

Ive been to both the West Rim and South Rim, there's not much of a difference between both ends. BUT i do think that the food at the south rim is slightly better. :biggrin:

The fella who built the skywalk is not a Jap, but a chinese / taiwanese developer - David Jin.

Ive been to both the West Rim and South Rim, there's not much of a difference between both ends. BUT i do think that the food at the south rim is slightly better. :biggrin:

Now you're telling me, sigh!

IMG_5994.jpg

The Hawaiian dinner we had last night

IMG_6003.jpg

Cristy who served us, she is half Filipino and half white American