• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

53% of Industrial Engineering Students in NUS are foreigners !!!!!

Force 136

hunt-for-foreign-talent-p-43.jpg

A total of 5965 NUS students, or 24.2% of the full-time undergraduate population, are foreigners.

Most of the foreign students congregate in Science and Engineering. The worst-affected courses are:

Industrial and Systems Engineering (206 out of 383; 53.8%)
Electrical and Computer Engineering (730 out of 1484; 49.2%)

The rest of the Science and Engineering courses average about 20-30% while Arts courses weigh in at less than 10%.

read for details : http://www.tremeritus.com/2013/05/08/foreign-students-capped-at-20-or-24-in-nus/

I don't see anything wrong with that. Singaporeans should be honored knowing that a degree from a sinkie university is treated as an asset by so many foreigners.

i'm not 100% sure....but i think not that many sinkies are interested in Engineering anyway. Many prefer law, accountancy, business and medicine.

A total of 5965 NUS students, or 24.2% of the full-time undergraduate population, are foreigners.

Most of the foreign students congregate in Science and Engineering. The worst-affected courses are:

The rest of the Science and Engineering courses average about 20-30% while Arts courses weigh in at less than 10%.

read for details : http://www.tremeritus.com/2013/05/08/foreign-students-capped-at-20-or-24-in-nus/

I don't see anything wrong with that. Singaporeans should be honored knowing that a degree from a sinkie university is treated as an asset by so many foreigners.

Its good to bring them into singapore at a younger age so that they can integrate better in society in future. Well done Singapore.

Its funny that such major and significant changes have creeped in with little or no dialogue with the citizens. Yet we we stories of kids with good grades unable to obtain places in various courses.

How do you engender your citizens to have pride, a stake and a sense of responsibility in their own country when changes are such magnitude are reported not in the state controlled but on the net.

WHy the need to be coy? What the fear of engaging their own citizens?

Its good to bring them into singapore at a younger age so that they can integrate better in society in future. Well done Singapore.

Yes the PAP certainly has foresight. Well done PAP. May you continue your excellent governance of the country for many years to come.

education-b.jpg

The rot started quietly in 1998...... and now 1/4 of all NUS students are foreigners...... PRs are probably counted together with Citizens.....

Good luck to your children........:mad:

Tuition also no use.......

hunt-for-foreign-talent-p-43.jpg

To be fair, this is a self made problem created back in the 90s when engineering graduates were too lazy to practise what they study & end up doing sales! Most graduates then forsake a prestigious engineering career for a sales job in insurance, finance or even real estate and eventually ended up more Sinkie students not taking up the courses in engineering lah!

i'm not 100% sure....but i think not that many sinkies are interested in Engineering anyway. Many prefer law, accountancy, business and medicine.

Yes. Engineering in Singapore sucks! I have an engineering degree, started working in a hyrdocarbon process plant. Quit immediately after probation. Am in sales now. My previous friend who graduated in engineering have moved to FOREX trading.

Given a choice, I wouldn't go into engineering school. For all the hardship and difficulty, its professional status sure is crappy. I'd go into advertising.

....................... Most graduates then forsake a prestigious engineering career for a sales job in insurance, finance or even real estate and eventually ended up more Sinkie students not taking up the courses in engineering lah!

There are many reasons for the switch. In my case, I was never meant to be in Science stream. Only because of parental expectations that I was there. I should have been in Arts. Also, engineering degree level candidates are usually trained in 'Design' and 'Optimization' whilst in most technical positions in Singapore, you work there and follow the rules, be they ASME or JIS without any flexibility. And for good reasons. I much prefer sales. Its more vibrant, outgoing, in-touch with market forces, and lots of happy-hours.

For the Strait Mimes, social issues do not take priority. What makes the news in Sg are business, real estate, investments, and patriotism.

Its funny that such major and significant changes have creeped in with little or no dialogue with the citizens. Yet we we stories of kids with good grades unable to obtain places in various courses.

How do you engender your citizens to have pride, a stake and a sense of responsibility in their own country when changes are such magnitude are reported not in the state controlled but on the net.

WHy the need to be coy? What the fear of engaging their own citizens?

Sillypore education system is always peg to it's economic development.
First was manufacturing then IT which follow by Life Science and now going to Service industry.

During the manufacturing golden years, many students took up engineering courses but they soon realized that they
been made obsolete once our gahbrament decided to move on to IT. Many of engineers got no choice, they either took
on another IT subjects to upgrade or move over to do sales.

Fast forward today, many of those manufacturing plants especially those in electronics industry has left Sillypore and moved
over to either China, Malaysia, Indonesia etc. What happened to all those engineers who didn't move over to IT line or doing sales?
Most of them ended up jobless or driving taxis.

In Sillypore, not many firms appreciate the hard work of engineers, they mostly value the sales person that brings in the revenue to
the company instead. It's different from countries like Japan and Germany.

Engineers won't go far in Sillypore. They have to find a way out to earn a better living.

someone with good grades simply lost out to someone with better grades. grade inflation has been a problem for years.

ya...and there are many whom i know who went the same path as you did. After working as engineers they came to realise that the hours were long,

the pay wasnt that great and the path to the top was very very limited and took a long time. The advantage of being an Engineering graduate is that

many other fields are open to you...sales, banking , finance etc....as they recognise that you have critical thinking skills.

Yes. Engineering in Singapore sucks! I have an engineering degree, started working in a hyrdocarbon process plant. Quit immediately after probation. Am in sales now. My previous friend who graduated in engineering have moved to FOREX trading.

Does not work that way. There is a quote system for Malaysians, Asean and others. The grades can be much lower than Singaporeans. There are separate assessment criteria. This has been going on since the late 70s.

The second issue is that those who don't make it locally, head overseas and they are accepted in good Universities overseas. So the rich have an outlet or a second path that many capable can't afford. So the issue is more places must be set aside.

If the good foreign universities do not accept them then it is tenable argument about other having better grades.

We now have doctors from India, Philippines etc. So what gives.

someone with good grades simply lost out to someone with better grades. grade inflation has been a problem for years.

Agree. This vocation is repeatedly hit by retrenchment.

Given a choice, I wouldn't go into engineering school. For all the hardship and difficulty, its professional status sure is crappy. I'd go into advertising.

Singaporeans dun like to study engineering but instead prefers to become property agents and stockbrokers.

Anything wrong with that?

Does not work that way. There is a quote system for Malaysians, Asean and others. The grades can be much lower than Singaporeans. There are separate assessment criteria. This has been going on since the late 70s.

if this is true, then its a huge slap in the face for meritocracy. evidence of this practice will be damning for the PAP.

Meritocracy in SinkLand?

Got such things, one meh?

Who drum into your moronic head that there was such an idea?

Don't tell me that as a Sinkie,you are so screwed that what you thought existed..

REALLY EXISTED

in your head?LOL

Life sciences was the biggest joke... only qualified to wash test tube remember?

Sillypore education system is always peg to it's economic development.
First was manufacturing then IT which follow by Life Science and now going to Service industry.

During the manufacturing golden years, many students took up engineering courses but they soon realized that they
been made obsolete once our gahbrament decided to move on to IT. Many of engineers got no choice, they either took
on another IT subjects to upgrade or move over to do sales.

Fast forward today, many of those manufacturing plants especially those in electronics industry has left Sillypore and moved
over to either China, Malaysia, Indonesia etc. What happened to all those engineers who didn't move over to IT line or doing sales?
Most of them ended up jobless or driving taxis.

In Sillypore, not many firms appreciate the hard work of engineers, they mostly value the sales person that brings in the revenue to
the company instead. It's different from countries like Japan and Germany.

Engineers won't go far in Sillypore. They have to find a way out to earn a better living.