• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

53 millions pound vase

vase220_1760039f.jpg

parent die and children take over old folk house, found vase and sold to fithy rich PRC. only 260+ years old, already 53 million, what would a tang dynasty vase cost? remember to check your old junk your parent left behind. especially if you have ancestor who ransack the forbidden city.

Chinese vase sells for world record-breaking £53.1 million at auction
A Chinese vase discovered during a house clearance sold for a world record-breaking £53.1 million last night.
Murray Wardrop
By Murray Wardrop 11:22PM GMT 11 Nov 2010

The 18th century Qianlong porcelain vase had been estimated to fetch between £800,000 and £1.2 million by Bainbridges, the provincial auction house handling the sale.
A Chinese vase discovered during a house clearance sold for a world record-breaking £53.1 million last night.
The 18th century Qianlong-dynasty porcelain vase is believed to have fetched the highest price for any Chinese artwork sold at auction

However both the auctioneers and the owners were stunned when it went for the highest price of any Chinese artwork sold at auction.

The elaborately decorated piece was put up for sale by a brother and sister who found it while clearing out their parents’ home in Pinner, north-west London after they recently died.

The hammer fell after 30-minutes of furious bidding between six men in the room and three telephone bidders. It was eventually sold to a Chinese man, said to be a Beijing-based agent, who sat on a gilded sofa at the front of the room but refused to comment after the sale.

The owners, who had no idea quite how much the vase was worth, were so shocked that they had to leave the room for a breath of fresh air.

Standing 16 inches tall and decorated with fish, the vase is thought to date from the time of Qianlong, the fourth emperor in the Qing dynasty, around 1740.

Experts said it probably once belonged to Chinese royalty but was most likely taken out of the country at the end of the Second Opium War in 1860 when the palaces were ransacked.

It is understood to have been in the vendors’ family since the 1930s.

The astronomical price was reached due to the rising demand for Imperial associated trophies among Chinese collectors.

Commenting on the sale, Ivan Macquisten, editor of Antiques Trade Gazette, said: “Chinese art is the biggest bidding market in the art world right now.

“The most extraordinary thing about it is that it wasn’t sold by the likes of Sotheby’s or Christie's, this was sold at a little auctioneers operating out of a warehouse in Ruislip.

“He (the auctioneer) will certainly be able to retire on the proceeds he’s made on his fees from this – this is lottery money in fees."

The hammer fell at £43 million but the total price, including commission and VAT on the commission, was £53,105,000.

Peter Bainbridge, director of the auction house, said: “I’m thrilled that a provincial auction room can show what it can do.

“I’m also delighted to have handled such an astonishing work of art. I didn’t quite realise how exciting it was.”

The auction house's previous highest sale was £100,000 for a Ming enamel piece a couple of years ago.

The vase has a yellow painted trumpet neck and a double-walled construction, meaning an inner vase can be seen through the perforations of the main body.

Helen Porter, of Bainbridges, said: "In the 18th century it would have resided no doubt in the Chinese Royal Palace and was most certainly fired in the Imperial kilns.

"It is a piece of exquisite beauty and a supreme example of the skill of the ceramicist and decorator.

“They (the vendors) had no idea what they had. They were hopeful but they didn't dare believe until the hammer went down.

"When it did, the sister had to go out of the room and have a breath of fresh air."

The vase beat the record for any Chinese work of art sold at auction, 436.8 million yuan (£40.9 million) paid for a 15-meter-long Song Dynasty scroll at Beijing Poly International Auction Co. in June this year.

I was thinking about how when the old leaf falls, his children will find many wondrous things lying about. Many of which should be worth billions.

Without the estate duties, they get to keep all of it :rolleyes:

china vase found in england?:eek::rolleyes:

english artefacts will be found in chinks land?:eek:

I just gave garung guni man 5 bucks to take vase like that away for me :eek:

china vase found in england?:eek::rolleyes:

english artefacts will be found in chinks land?:eek:

If you have been to the British museum you will find some of the finest Chinese artifact there. The British burnt the Yuan Ming Yuan Garden to the ground and took away all the treasures in the 19th century

The best chinese vases are in Taipei musemum.

won the bid, but will he pay for it?

that is a good one....
but i think the buyer represent the chinese government.
only they are so crazy to pay crazy money. they have lots of foreign reserve.

With paper money becoming worthless, the buyer is converting his paper money into an asset :)

check your grandy collection, you may find a ming vase

Discovered Ming vase will make retired factory worker wealthy

It's the dream of any antique collector: You impulsively spend a few bucks on a trinket at an estate sale or an antiques store, and later discover that it's worth more than what you paid for it. Much more.

And that's pretty much the dream that came true for a 79-year-old British retired worker from the Cadbury chocolate factory, who recently walked into an auction house with a near-perfect Ming vase in a cardboard box.

It's unknown how the man, who wanted the press to refrain from publishing his name, came into possession of the rare vase, but staffers at Duke's—the Dorchester auction house that took it in—were astounded by the "spectacular find."

"When my colleague initially showed me what had arrived in a cardboard box I could not believe my eyes," Guy Schwinge of Duke's told the Guardian. "The vase is in perfect condition, and it is amazing to think that it has survived unscathed for almost six hundred years."

The BBC reported that the vase, which stands 11.5 inches tall, is the largest ever found of a rare group of early Ming "moonflasks" whose production dates somewhere between the years 1403 and 1424. That means it was manufactured during the reign of an emperor named Yongle; its distinctive features—such as the small loop handles—appear to be influenced by Islamic design.

Because the vase originates from China but shows the influence of Middle Eastern craftsmanship, auctioneers at Duke's expect the vase to draw the bids of wealthy collectors from both Asian and the Arab worlds. The auction is scheduled for May, and the item is expected to fetch at least a million pounds, or roughly $1.6 million U.S. dollars.

51082429_vase224299.jpg

Aiyah it is the FOUL Ang Moh who are SO BROKE that are desperate for money lah that's all nothing more. Some rich idiots paid too much.

parent die and children take over old folk house, found vase and sold to fithy rich PRC. only 260+ years old, already 53 million, what would a tang dynasty vase cost? remember to check your old junk your parent left behind. especially if you have ancestor who ransack the forbidden city.

Qian long is from Qin dynasty . The best China imperial treasures is in museam in England , US and Taiwan . The 8 country foreign army raid the palace and burn it down . The left over are took to Taiwan by the Kuomingtang . That is not so bad , if they stay in mainland sure smash by student during the Cultural Revolutions .

Aiyah it is the FOUL Ang Moh who are SO BROKE that are desperate for money lah that's all nothing more. Some rich idiots paid too much.

The Chinese government has been buying the looted treasure back from angmo since the 1990 . As the guardian of Chinese cultures , they spare no expense at the auctions .

The Chinese are not so silly lah. These sort of vase they can produce few million pieces a day. There were merchants who went to Sabotage the auctions by bidding big prices and then refuse to pay in the end.:D

Parsa malam got a lot, better keep my eyes wide. Oh ya, need to pay a visit to Sungei Rd tmr.

I guess Ram will try his luck in Sungei Rd more often after makan the laksa since his party HQ is nearby. :D

The Chinese are not so silly lah. These sort of vase they can produce few million pieces a day. There were merchants who went to Sabotage the auctions by bidding big prices and then refuse to pay in the end.:D

I think its no problems if they dont payed , becuase the treasure is rob from them in the first place .

Parsa malam got a lot, better keep my eyes wide. Oh ya, need to pay a visit to Sungei Rd tmr.

I guess Ram will try his luck in Sungei Rd more often after makan the laksa since his party HQ is nearby. :D

Townshend Road laksa is the best lah bro. :)

Sungei Road auction is the best lah bro. :D

The best movie scene about auctioneering is from Once A Thief (纵横四海).

If you've seen it, you'd understand what I mean. :cool:

The west pride themselves as the most civilized and morally just of the world, even coining the term "The white men's burden" in the 19th century to describe their so-called "civilizing mission" of non-white civilization :rolleyes:

Here, we have them selling looted treasures back to their rightful owner. Banditry at its finest.

Yet another exemplary hypocrisy displayed by the west :oIo: