• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

500 SGs Kena Retrenched! Company Buay Tahan High Costs!

Retrenchments happen even when economy is doing well: Tan Chuan-Jin

Acting Minister for Manpower Tan Chuan-Jin said on his Facebook page on Friday evening that HGST's retrenchment exercise is one of the larger retrenchments this year.

SINGAPORE: Acting Minister for Manpower Tan Chuan-Jin said on his Facebook page on Friday evening that HGST's retrenchment exercise "is one of the larger retrenchments this year".

He said that even with a tight labour market and an economy that is doing reasonably well, "we will continue to see some amount of redundancy as our economy restructures and that this is an inevitable reality and we will see more of this in the coming years."

He believed that the key thing is to make sure that there is adequate assistance available to help displaced workers re-enter suitable jobs and for jobs to be available in the first place.

Mr Tan said that it was important that the unions often proactively work with the management to help those affected.

He added that he was glad that HGST Singapore's management and the United Workers of Electronics & Electrical Industries (UWEEI) have been doing this.

In his post, Mr Tan said that HGST and the union are actively working with e2i to provide assistance to the workers affected by the company's retrenchment.

The union has also helped secure other settlements and benefits.

Mr Tan shared that the Workforce Development Agency (WDA) has stepped up employment facilitation efforts as the economy restructures. These include working closely with the Community Development Councils (CDCs), grassroots and self-help groups to help unemployed and vulnerable job seekers find jobs.

Mr Tan said WDA will also work with Family Service Centres and other community counselling providers to help job seekers who require emotional support, and ramp up its outreach and assistance capacity through the unions, advertisements and activities carried out in locations close to the community.

Mr Tan added that retrenchments will happen whether it is festive season or not, and even when the economy is healthy.

He said the priority is to ensure that the systems and processes are in place to help those affected.

- CNA/ec

Pinky and his ministars demand to be paid multi-million $ for their exceptional talents.

I'm sure they will find enough investors to set up shop to help the HGST's retrenched staff find work.

BTW did those HGST retrenched staff vote the PAP at GE 2011?

The PAP should be worried.
There are now a few more unhappy retrenched Sporeans that may think of voting for the opposition.

Mr Tan said WDA will also work with Family Service Centres and other community counselling providers to help job seekers who require emotional support, and ramp up its outreach and assistance capacity through the unions, advertisements and activities carried out in locations close to the community.

Have tried WDA b4 and realized WDA is setup to help gov exploit desperate job seekers - the job they refer you are mostly $800 to max $1200 type :rolleyes:

Retrenchments happen even when economy is doing well: Tan Chuan-Jin

Overtime Tan was merely, in a roundabout way, saying that the retrenchment was an isolated incident, just like the Little India riot, infrastructure cockups etc. Logical fallacy and blame taichi 101.

Premise: Singapore's economy is doing well.
Observation: Retrenchment occurs.
Conclusion: Retrenchment was a one-off isolated incident.

Premise: Indian foreign workers are happy.
Observation: Riot occurs.
Conclusion: Riot was a one-off isolated incident.

Premise: Singapore's infrastructure is sound.
Observation: MRT breakdown occurs.
Conclusion: MRT 'disruption' was a one-off isolated incident.

See how the game is played? ;)

they can try looking for jobs in rival Seagate.

who did they vote for?

The company may buay tahan high costs here, but some owner of these component makers, such as JCY International, prefer to stay in the ultra expensive zone in Singapore.

Hi areole,

Agree. Here is more exciting.:o

The person who should be tasked with getting all these retrenched chaps jobs is none other than - all together now - Lim Swee Say!

why worry? just borrow more money then. more loans will make you life much brighter

"Heng Chee How" good at fixing opposition in HG, he is in charge, where (1) Riot, (2) Headless corpse....

Heng Chee How is a useless piece of shit who got where he is simply because he is the PM's bro in law.....his wife is whore jinx's sister.

How come wooden goh did not pop out with his famous line....
'If there are no retrenchments then I worry'....

Heng Chee How is a useless piece of shit who got where he is simply because he is the PM's bro in law.....his wife is whore jinx's sister.

How come wooden goh did not pop out with his famous line....
'If there are no retrenchments then I worry'....

Any photo of his wife? Jialak case like elder sis?

The PaP keeps boasting about the stability they provide. This company can migrate work to Thailand where the govt changes hands very few years with demos in the streets .

Any photo of his wife? Jialak case like elder sis?
\

7965560.gif

Hello I'm Mrs Heng and my maiden name is Ho Hwa.

More manufacturing companies will move out of Singapore to cheaper venues. Just look at the way commercial rental rates are moving.

I feel sorry for those smart people who devoted their lives to pursue careers in engineering in Singapore. When these jobs are gone, most likely, they will not find another one of the same pay.

More manufacturing companies will move out of Singapore to cheaper venues. Just look at the way commercial rental rates are moving.

I feel sorry for those smart people who devoted their lives to pursue careers in engineering in Singapore. When these jobs are gone, most likely, they will not find another one of the same pay.

Not just engineering but IT and anyone not serving the Singapore market. I know we don't like to hear it but the foreign worker quota will potentially raise costs . We did say if companies are only interested in low labor costs they should go elsewhere or shut down . This is exactly what's happening. Many companies will follow.

Fuck PAP :oIo:

PAP import million of Ah neh, now give us headache,
riot, rape, assault taxi driver, drunkard etc, take away
local jobs... think its a total failure on PAP policy..

Ass Loong better wake up! 2016 will your downfall!!