• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

2 months bonus for Civil servants

radon39

Civil servants to get 2-mth year-end payment
Posted: 24 November 2010 1721 hrs

Photos 1 of 1

Twitter Messenger
SINGAPORE: Civil servants will receive a total year-end variable payment amounting to two months. This comprises the Annual Variable Component (AVC) of one month and a Non-Pensionable Annual Allowance (NPAA), also known as the 13th month payment, of one month.

This is in view of the strong economic recovery. The Singapore economy has recovered strongly and expanded by 17.9% in the first half of 2010. The Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) has forecast the 2010 GDP growth at around 15%.

Civil servants received a mid-year AVC of 0.5 month and a one-off dollar quantum of $300 in July. Together with the year-end payment, the total variable payment for 2010 will be 2.5 months and $300.

In March 2011, eligible civil servants will be paid a Special Variable Payment (SVP).

The SVP, formerly known as Growth Bonus, is payable when there is exceptionally good economic growth, and the quantum varies depending on individual performance.

In March 2011, good performers will receive one month of SVP and better performers will receive more, up to 1.6 months, while poor performers will not receive any SVP.

1. well done & congratulations, sheep!
2. amidst all the current yr screw-ups, still get rewarded.
3. sky has no eyes man!

1. well done & congratulations, sheep!
2. amidst all the current yr screw-ups, still get rewarded.
3. sky has no eyes man!

You & I will have to work doubly hard to pay for their bonuses..will WKS get his two months also??? or Abang Yakoob?...:rolleyes:

bodycells

AHhhh. i am glad that i am not part of these sinkie bullshits anymore.. Enjoy getting screw sinkies. WAHHAHAHHAH!!!!

Ironically, many Singaporeans were made jobless due to influx of cheap labour. Those who managed to get a job has their wages depressed too. If bottom line in private sector is cost, I am surprised the public sector are paying themselves ransom - not for working hard - but based on dubious economy statistics fixed by the ruling party.

Devil Within

Civil servants are cost centers, they gets their pay from tax payers. They do not produce wealth but take wealth from hard working tax payers. Pay increase to them means more tax the tax payers will have to bear. More bonus to them means more money was collected from tax payers.

Cruxx

You spastic maggots! :oIo:

You should be grateful that you have the world's best civil servants. Without these honourable men and women, Singapore wouldn't become the least corrupt country in the world. 2 months bonus is a travesty! Our civil servants deserve more! At least a golden tap for each of them! :mad:

Devil Within

You should be grateful that you have the world's best civil servants. Without these honourable men and women, Singapore wouldn't become the least corrupt country in the world. 2 months bonus is a travesty! Our civil servants deserve more! At least a golden tap for each of them! :mad:

You fucking moron, only spastic dumb fuck like you need someone other than your mum to take care of your pathetic life. You might as well enslave your fucking self to your fucking master if you think you are such a useless piece of shit. Civil servants are servants to the public and the public are the master. Only fuck head like you think otherwise.

annexa

Yes I fully agree. With the depth of talents we have in civil service, we don't need million dollar ministars. Even a change in gahmen will do little harm as our civil servants are best of the best and dare to stand up and do what is necessary even if the whole world is against them.

Dreamer1

I look at the political speeches by President Nathan these few days,this "GOLDEN MOUTH ALWAYS SHUT"president has given the clearest indication that PAP's erection is imminet!

2 months bonus small matter. Unlikely GE coming.

Didn't you read, they had bonus payment in July, now in December & another expecting in March 2011, what does that indicate to you?. The message is clear, "Don't feed the hands that feed you", "Don't harbour figutives that are your relations".

The traffic police ( LTA? now?), NEA, Nparks, SCDF, & whatever agencies that are empowered to produce fines, will be working doubly hard this Christmas, New Year & the coming Lunar New Year; to collect for their masters.

So, you people, please contribute!!..and thank you for your hard work!:biggrin:

Ironically, many Singaporeans were made jobless due to influx of cheap labour. Those who managed to get a job has their wages depressed too. If bottom line in private sector is cost, I am surprised the public sector are paying themselves ransom - not for working hard - but based on dubious economy statistics fixed by the ruling party.

Many SINgaporeans have no balls to change what is ailing them, or work towards something to improve their lives. All they do is grumble, complain, swear & curse..come election...you will know, who they voted!.

And this cycle repeats itself, when cost goes up, read, they have not ADJUSTED THE MINISTER'S SALARIES yet!; they will just grumble, complain, swear & curse!, and vote for you already know.

And it goes on....& on.....:p

rofthelper

SINGAPORE: Singapore's 74,000 civil servants will get a year-end bonus of two months inclusive of the 13th-month pay.

This is on top of the half-month bonus plus S$300 received in July. Together with the year-end payment, the total variable payment for 2010 will be 2.5 months and S$300.

Last year, because of the economic slump, the payout was just 0.25 months, capped at S$750.

In addition, a Growth Bonus - now known as the Special Variable Payment (SVP) - will be paid in March 2011 to eligible civil servants, after a three-year absence.

This year's bonus is perhaps one of the most generous payouts to civil servants, thanks to the strong economic recovery.

"The Singapore economy has recovered strongly and expanded by 17.9% in the first half of 2010. The Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) has forecast the 2010 GDP growth at around 15%," said the Public Service Division (PSD) in a statement on Wednesday.

For this, civil servants will be rewarded.

The SVP is payable when there is exceptionally good economic growth, and the quantum varies depending on individual performance.

In March 2011, good performers will receive one month of SVP and better performers will receive more, up to 1.6 months, while poor performers will not receive any SVP.

NTUC deputy secretary-general Halimah Yacob said: "I'm really happy, because the government paid in 2007 a Growth Bonus of half a month, and that is because the growth was 7.7%.

"This year's growth will be really much better than 2007, so we felt that the civil servants definitely deserve better Growth Bonus compared to 2007. So we had negotiations with the Public Service Division and I'm very happy that they recognised and took into consideration the contributions of all civil servants."

Union leaders also welcomed the bonus announcement.

Mr Teo Yock Ngee, general secretary of Amalgamated Union of Public Employees (AUPE) and NTUC secretary for financial affairs, said: "Given Singapore's good economic performance in 2010, the AUPE welcomes the PSD's decision for a year-end payment of two months. We also look forward to the Special Variable Payment (formerly known as Growth Bonus) to reward good performers. We are glad of the government's recognition of support and hard work by its employees in these good times."

Mr G Muthukumarasamy, general secretary of Amalgamated Union of Public Daily Rated Workers, added: "We are very happy with the announcement and thank the government because for AUPDRW's union members, who are daily-rated workers, this year-end payment will help our lower-wage workers to meet their daily expenses. We also urge our members to set some funds aside and save for a rainy day."

Private-sector companies are expected to take the lead from the public sector.

The employers federation expects companies to give out bonuses averaging about 2.5 months - that's about half a month more than last year. Unionised companies are expected to give a little more.

Stephen Lee, president of Singapore National Employers Federation, said: "We would like to urge companies to reward workers fairly and also to reward workers for the sacrifices that they have gone through last year to pull our companies through."

The government, though, has again decided to defer the salary adjustments for Administrative Officers, political, judicial and statutory appointment holders.

That's because of the reduction in private sector benchmarks last year.

PSD said the government will "monitor the economic growth and movement of the benchmarks before making any subsequent decision on when to implement the salary adjustment".

The third and last phase of the salary adjustments was due in January 2009, but has been deferred twice since then. The first two adjustments were made in April 2007 and January 2008.

Minister-in-charge of the Civil Service, Teo Chee Hean, said: "Civil servants accepted a wage reduction during the difficult economic times and worked hard to help turn the economy around quickly.

"The year-end payment and Special Variable Payment to be paid in March next year recognise the contribution of our civil servants in helping Singapore recover from one of its worst recessions.

"To ensure that Singapore can continue to grow, we will have to work even harder to raise productivity and find new ways of expanding the economy."

The payout may be good but experts are also tempering sentiments saying that workers should manage their expectations.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has said that the blistering growth this year cannot continue and Singapore is unlikely to achieve double-digit growth next year.

- CNA/ir

How come only 74,000 civil servants in civil sector? So less meh? :confused:

Many reclassified as private (e.g. POSB, post office, independent schools, public transport, utilities etc.) NTUC, GLC and town council employees have always been classified as private. Government department contractors (e.g. NEA, HDB etc.) and the workers under them of course too, no need to say.

rofthelper

So few. Not so "less".

Oops. Paiseh. So few. :smile:

Many reclassified as private (e.g. POSB, post office, independent schools, public transport, utilities etc.) NTUC, GLC and town council employees have always been classified as private. Government department contractors (e.g. NEA, HDB etc.) and the workers under them of course too, no need to say.

You mean 74000 civil servants only referring to ministries staff? Not statutory boards, organs of state and other organisations? :confused:

http://app.sgdi.gov.sg/index.asp?cat=2