• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

154th : Don't help loansharks, here are alternatives!

Katana

Singapore
Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Nov 25, 2009

WHO BORROWS FROM LOAN SHARKS?
Gamblers are easy prey
Call for more avenues of help for those who really need to borrow

<!-- by line --> By Mavis Toh & Leow Si Wan
<!-- end by line -->
Where to get loans
<!--background story, collapse if none-->

Pawnshops
Borrowable amount is dependent on the item being pawned.
No minimum income required.
For transactions of $200 and above, a guarantor's name and IC number must be provided.

ezyCash (GE Money)

Requires a minimum monthly income of $1,600.
Those earning between $1,600 and $2,500 qualify for loans up to twice their monthly salaries. Those earning $2,500 and up can borrow up to four times their monthly pay.

FairPrice Plus Personal Loan

Requires no collateral or guarantor and borrowers can get up to double their monthly income. Minimum income requirement of $30,000 per annum.

Banks
Banks offer credit lines and personal loans.
Usually require a minimum income of between $20,000 and $35,000 per annum. Borrowers typically can get two to four times their monthly salary.

b1-1.jpg

It is believed that more than 90 per cent of those who turn to loan sharks are hooked on gambling. -- ST FILE PHOTO

<!-- story content : start --> THEY come from diverse backgrounds - there are teachers, pilots, engineers and even the odd housewife alongside the jobless. But they share one thing in common: They are gamblers faced with mounting debts. After exhausting legal means - banks, credit lines and loans from families and friends - they turn to loan sharks as a last option to get quick cash. But they may soon find it much harder to borrow from these unlicensed money lenders. On Monday, new laws were proposed to crack down on the burgeoning loan- sharking problem, targeting both syndicates and borrowers. The illegal moneylending scourge has dogged the country since 2005. Loan shark and harassment cases are up, from 10,221 in 2006 to 11,789 last year. The first nine months of this year saw 13,771 cases reported. Counsellors interviewed said that more than 90 per cent of those who turn to loan sharks are hooked on gambling. Christian Care Services (CCS) Singapore's centre director Dick Lum, who works with loan shark borrowers, estimates that only two out of every 20 cases he sees involve non-gamblers.

[email protected]

cooleo

>>FairPrice Plus Personal Loan
Requires no collateral or guarantor and borrowers can get up to double their monthly income. Minimum income requirement of $30,000 per annum.<<

Haha...since when Anti-U-See also do legalized loanshark?

>>FairPrice Plus Personal Loan
Requires no collateral or guarantor and borrowers can get up to double their monthly income. Minimum income requirement of $30,000 per annum.<<

Haha...since when Anti-U-See also do legalized loanshark?

U don't know...member mah! :biggrin:

CPF money...we can see, but when in time of need, we can't touch at all. the idea of withdrawing CPF money in times of dire needs had been mooted many times You have to be DEAD, for the money to be realeased to your next of kin...which includes all the government agencies, direct or quasi; whom you are owing money to.

That is not the issue, the issue, is you have $200,000 in your CPF account, you lost your job, and you are in dire needs to keep a family going for $5,000...you are harassed to pay, pay, pay...but you can not touch the money, so you JUMP off the builsding, on MRT tracks...etc..

irony, isn't!:p

stupid 154th...

ppl that borrow from loansharks usually had borrowed from all legal sources until credit limit 100% hit..

no legal sources wanna lend them anymore then they resort to ah long...

KNN kong jiao wei:oIo:

stupid 154th...

ppl that borrow from loansharks usually had borrowed from all legal sources until credit limit 100% hit..

no legal sources wanna lend them anymore then they resort to ah long...

KNN kong jiao wei:oIo:

At least you talk to Ah Long, they have some mercy...you try talking to the BIG AH LONG's, that run the country....:mad: