• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

“Ahpunehneh” is not a proper word.

VIBGYOR

A Song dedicated to all APUs Neh Neh!

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/FxEsVcbqwvU&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/FxEsVcbqwvU&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

VIBGYOR

Simpsons dedication to APUs..

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/CVDLY2uCFHY&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/CVDLY2uCFHY&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Echo_O

My Indian friend call me mungen and some other term that means stupid fellow country men.

I just call them pondeh

yinyang

dun understand the joke.
But damn this nair fella can be president and still get drunk and dress up as a woman etc etc.
1. No use for cutlery, finger licking good at meal times:p

2. He sneaked out incognito (from official residence) for his alcohol fix. On some official tour of duty, was kinda dazed

loeggusder

A Song dedicated to all APUs Neh Neh!

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/FxEsVcbqwvU&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/FxEsVcbqwvU&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

I hear a lot of 'sai'. Chinese sure well connected to shit.

loeggusder

1. No use for cutlery, finger licking good at meal times:p

2. He sneaked out incognito (from official residence) for his alcohol fix. On some official tour of duty, was kinda dazed

But he still built up NTUC where you get your cheap goods Chinaman. But what did your Phey Yew Kok do? RUn away with money?

loeggusder

I don't think so. I think this "word" simply came from the sounds produced by someone speaking in Tamil, which is stereotyped to start with "Ah" and end with "Neh". It slowly evolved into "neh neh" like habitual repeat, e.g. "alright alright" or "ok ok".

Just ask any non-Tamil speaking person to imitate Tamil-speaking and he would most likely end all his words with "Neh".

I thought the term "neh" is most used in Japanese. I think its equivalent to our "lah"

Perspective

Confirm with my Indian brothers liao.

Thambi = small boy
Ah Neh = Big Brother.

I asked them what is Ahpunehneh, most of them dunno what it means. Is it something degrading, they said it depends on the circumstances this word is being used. But the word KELING would warrant a bashing from our indian brothers.

Thanks for the info re: Thambi and Neh.

In that case, I think I am right that "Ahpunehneh" merely comes from the stereotype pronunciation of Tamil. Remember that it used to be just "Ahnehneh", so the word "Apu" cannot have existed.

As I mentioned, Keling represents the sound of prison chains, which is why, understandably, they will dislike the term.

Perspective

Just like we call the malays "kiao tor" or m&d. It did not come about until recent times. Use to be "Huan na"

From what I know, there are two definitions of Kiao Tor:

1) Malays used to be in the farming or soil-based work or

2) It refers to the Islam religion (Jiao Tu)

I am not sure what is the correct one.

BTW, all these discussions are not meant to be racist. They are for fun. I once even asked a close Malay friend what derogatory term is used for Chinese and he said "mata sikit" or something. That was something I learn.

Perspective

My Indian friend call me mungen and some other term that means stupid fellow country men.

I just call them pondeh

According to an Indian friend, "Mungen" is or has become the official Tamil name for "Chinese". Whether it came from derogatory origins, that I do not know.

Pondeh is "stupid" in Tamil, I think.

khunking

Small eyes isn't so bad afterall.

280385536_ff74bea39f.jpg

BTW, all these discussions are not meant to be racist. They are for fun. I once even asked a close Malay friend what derogatory term is used for Chinese and he said "mata sikit" or something. That was something I learn.