Hello Frens!
I follow this forum for many years alreadi. Now I cannot tahan, post for all bruder to see. We serve NS and must suffer this BS?
Today my work took me to Chai Chee. I ate at the Chai Chee 29 Food House, next to the NUTC at Chai Chee Avenue 29B. I don’t live at CC and have never been to this Food House, but based on the flower garlands outside, it just opened. It’s quite bright and new looking.
Chai Chee 29 Food House is probably trying to act ang-moh and ‘upscale’ (and up-price despite being in the middle of a lower-income factory HDB area). Their outside sign got no Chinese characters! I walked in and all the stalls have big English signs and smaller Chinese signs underneath. I went to the Teochew Noodle stall, the one with small characters chaozhou yuyuan mian underneath. There were two teenagers at the counter, both very young looking. Secondary school age actually, DEFINITELY NOT 21+. If either of these two FT have a PhD in bio-tech, I must be a monkey’s father, son and mother all at the same time.
This particular stall displayed several pictures in Chinese and English at the top. Bak chor mee, lor mee, etc.
I told the kids, ji-ay lor mee. They stare at me. So I ask them, ni men you meiyou lor mee. And they ask me in PRC Mandarin: she mo shi lor mee.
My lp and lc seriously drop. I could almost hear them fall on the floor and kenna eaten up by some running dog looking for boots to lick.
Even when I serve in army, when we exercise at LCK, ask Malay/ Indian kaki to buy lor mee, they don’t need me to teach. Kaki call me buy Mee Rebus, I don’t ask him simi si mi ler boos. WTF we let Foreign Talents come here and don’t even know what they are selling? These two FT standing right under a sign that says Lor Mee $3/4. They illiterate is it?
Luckily the boss is local (at least, speak with local accent. Malaysian possible also.) He instructed the kids how to make the lor mee. Needless to say, they DID NOT know how to make lor mee and had to be taught on the spot.
Because running dog ate my lp and lc, I feel like a helpless eunuch. At a time when two of my friends have lost their jobs, when I myself damn worried about future, when I cannot afford to get married and produce the batteries (sorry, I mean babies) to maintain Singapore’s population, I have to go to lor mee stall and order Ru Mian because sixteen year old world-class FTs have qian1 li3 zhao1 zhao1 (come from far) to kapok locals’ jobs!!!
Not to say this is a Chinese Singaporean problem. I think our Malay kakis also kenna. Maybe kenna worse, becoz as minorities they have fewer food choices. I have seen 2 Nasi Padang stalls lose their big green Halal certifications in major food court/ outlets. When I order, I find myself talking to PRCs, so I’m guessing we got some more Malay kaki forced to relac one corner because their jobs kenna taken by PRC who dunno how to meet Halal requirement. (I also tulan, because the PRC dunno how to cook Nasi Padang!)
I was so tulan that I sign up after work and post this.
Thank you, Lee Family! You bought the greatest minds on this planet to take the job of lower-qualified Singaporeans! Our elderly are selling tissue paper and cleaning toilets because they are too stupid to make lor mee!
I follow this forum for many years alreadi. Now I cannot tahan, post for all bruder to see. We serve NS and must suffer this BS?
Today my work took me to Chai Chee. I ate at the Chai Chee 29 Food House, next to the NUTC at Chai Chee Avenue 29B. I don’t live at CC and have never been to this Food House, but based on the flower garlands outside, it just opened. It’s quite bright and new looking.
Chai Chee 29 Food House is probably trying to act ang-moh and ‘upscale’ (and up-price despite being in the middle of a lower-income factory HDB area). Their outside sign got no Chinese characters! I walked in and all the stalls have big English signs and smaller Chinese signs underneath. I went to the Teochew Noodle stall, the one with small characters chaozhou yuyuan mian underneath. There were two teenagers at the counter, both very young looking. Secondary school age actually, DEFINITELY NOT 21+. If either of these two FT have a PhD in bio-tech, I must be a monkey’s father, son and mother all at the same time.
This particular stall displayed several pictures in Chinese and English at the top. Bak chor mee, lor mee, etc.
I told the kids, ji-ay lor mee. They stare at me. So I ask them, ni men you meiyou lor mee. And they ask me in PRC Mandarin: she mo shi lor mee.
My lp and lc seriously drop. I could almost hear them fall on the floor and kenna eaten up by some running dog looking for boots to lick.
Even when I serve in army, when we exercise at LCK, ask Malay/ Indian kaki to buy lor mee, they don’t need me to teach. Kaki call me buy Mee Rebus, I don’t ask him simi si mi ler boos. WTF we let Foreign Talents come here and don’t even know what they are selling? These two FT standing right under a sign that says Lor Mee $3/4. They illiterate is it?
Luckily the boss is local (at least, speak with local accent. Malaysian possible also.) He instructed the kids how to make the lor mee. Needless to say, they DID NOT know how to make lor mee and had to be taught on the spot.
Because running dog ate my lp and lc, I feel like a helpless eunuch. At a time when two of my friends have lost their jobs, when I myself damn worried about future, when I cannot afford to get married and produce the batteries (sorry, I mean babies) to maintain Singapore’s population, I have to go to lor mee stall and order Ru Mian because sixteen year old world-class FTs have qian1 li3 zhao1 zhao1 (come from far) to kapok locals’ jobs!!!
Not to say this is a Chinese Singaporean problem. I think our Malay kakis also kenna. Maybe kenna worse, becoz as minorities they have fewer food choices. I have seen 2 Nasi Padang stalls lose their big green Halal certifications in major food court/ outlets. When I order, I find myself talking to PRCs, so I’m guessing we got some more Malay kaki forced to relac one corner because their jobs kenna taken by PRC who dunno how to meet Halal requirement. (I also tulan, because the PRC dunno how to cook Nasi Padang!)
I was so tulan that I sign up after work and post this.
Thank you, Lee Family! You bought the greatest minds on this planet to take the job of lower-qualified Singaporeans! Our elderly are selling tissue paper and cleaning toilets because they are too stupid to make lor mee!