• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TR Shut Down?

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
From The Online Citizen:

http://theonlinecitizen.com/2010/10/toc-latest-temasek-review-shut-down/

TOC Latest: Temasek Review shut down
Posted by theonlinecitizen on October 12, 2010 0 Comment
Posted @ 0030 hrs

Just two days after local tabloid The New Paper (TNP) supposedly exposed the founder of online news website Temasek Review and its’ predecessor, The Wayang Party, the website is no longer viewable by the public. Readers have notified TOC about the unavailability of Temasek Review for a few hours this evening. At the time of this posting, the website is still unavailable.

No explanation for the site’s unavailability have been provided on Temasek Review’s Facebook page.

Photo courtesy of Sammyboyforum
Attempts by TOC to contact Dr Ong at his clinic have so far been unsuccessful.

The TNP article

The TNP article in question was published on Saturday, and claimed that Dr Joseph Ong, a medical doctor practicing as a GP for Healthway Medical Group in Sengkang, is the man behind the Temasek Review.

The TNP report quoted Dr Ong as having admitted to having asked Bangladeshi cleaners to put up posters in May 2009 calling for Member of Parliament Mdm Lee Bee Wah’s resignation as the president of the Singapore Table Tennis Association.

In June that year, the Temasek Review (then known as The Wayang Party Club) paid freelancers to organize a petition drive at the Speaker’s Corner to call for the resignation of Mdm Lee Bee Wah. The website called it the event their “first outreach event organized by this blog and its auxiliaries”.

The TNP report also relied on an unattributed quote to state that Dr Ong “identified himself to police as being the founder of the Wayang Party, and later, Temasek Review”.

Dr Ong was alleged to have been investigated and given a stern warning for putting up the posters, but not for organizing the petition drive.

Temasek Review fights back

The current editors of the Temasek Review are, according to comments by the editorial team, all based overseas. The team is led by Panama based “Molina Han” and four other editors.

Prior to the shut-down, editorial team of Temasek Review vigorously rebutted the TNP report, stating that they have no knowledge of Dr Joseph Ong, and have never worked with Dr Ong.

Just one day before Temasek Review was shut down, the editorial team published an editorial by a self-identified “pioneer contributor” to The Wayang Party called “BK”, denying all knowledge or correspondence with Dr Ong. He wrote:

“I don’t know the doctor in question and never once came across his name in my correspondence with TR and I was writing for TR when it was still Singapore Enquirer and Wayang Party”.

Courtesy of Sammyboyforum
Temasek Review had also been hinting that the TNP article was a sign of a broader crackdown to come. In an article posted on the website just yesterday, a contributor to the Temasek Review called “Atobe” wrote that:

“The TNP article about TR yesterday is an ominous sign that reveal the intent is to generate controversy and to ultimately target Temasek Review for being a subversive site – which will lead to the beginning of official efforts towards the demise of TR.”

Temasek Review has also gone on the offensive to query the leak of information about Dr Ong’s anti-Lee Bee Wah postering and his alleged involvement with the website. Two days before the TNP report, Temasek Review published an article stating that “A formal complaint has been lodged with Mr Benny Lim, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs” regarding a complaint by one Mr Ong.

The possible leak of confidential information was also queried by social worker and TOC contributor Mr Ravi Philemon in a letter written to the Singapore Police Force. The Singapore Democratic Party has also raised the issue on their website.

After the story broke, Temasek Review also highlighted the personal phone number of the TNP journalist who wrote the article in question, a move that some interpret as a veiled threat to the mainstream media to stop the smear campaign.

popdod

wjym9w.png

Sorry to disappoint u guys......we will be back in 4hrs time.

956-067terminator-2-posters.jpg

:biggrin: :p :biggrin:

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I would be happy to have TR back online. Just worried that it just shut down.

The problem is that since 10pm, I have been viewing this similar page that says come back 3 hrs later... now.. it is even worse, come back 4 hours later?

Goh Meng Seng

wjym9w.png

Sorry to disappoint u guys......we will be back in 4hrs time.

:p :biggrin:

The problem is that since 10pm, I have been viewing this similar page that says come back 3 hrs later... now.. it is even worse, come back 4 hours later?

Goh Meng Seng
Why you care so much about their website? you should have more important things to do lor :p:p

popdod

Goh Meng Seng

If there is no shut down, i'm worry.
~ Ah Goh.

tmlo see see will know liao.

:biggrin: :p :biggrin:

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Xiaxue and Dawn Yang also have substantial readership.

WHy dun u approach them to be your sponsor for alternative media?

They are not social-political websites. That's the difference.

The biggest obstacle we have is not PAP but rather, the inadequate political education and awakening of the masses. Whatever means that could enhance that political educational process, we must learn to upkeep it.

Goh Meng Seng

Normal shutdown. I understand there is a strong editorial team, sizeable investment in servers including multiple redundacies, and a stable or correspondents. If fact foreign news agencies have been carrying their articles. I am sure that the good doctor could not possibly do all that by himself and have a day job in a clinic.

Thick Face Black Heart

The biggest obstacle we have is not PAP but rather, the inadequate political education and awakening of the masses. Whatever means that could enhance that political educational process, we must learn to upkeep it.

Goh Meng Seng

Rely on sites like TR for political education?????!?!?!!?

Are u SURE?!?!

I have to agree with the forummer - the damage will be across the opposition. If you guys don't speak up, the PAP is not going to.

Actually there is lot of energy amongst netizens but there is very little coordination. SDP probably has the best website and there are lot of materials. Their style of politics might not get the numbers, but it should give the rest of the political parties ideas on how to propogate via the net.

Now that you have organised your political front end quite well, why don't you set aside part of the NSP website to netizens who are interested in politics. TR and TOC did have people writing in. It need not be NSP mouthpiece but you could do so as a community initiative to raise political awareness among the young.

I am sure people are willing to write articles.

It is a double edged sword, I agree. It will depend on who is behind the website.

But I guess, what will be will be.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Rely on sites like TR for political education?????!?!?!!?

Are u SURE?!?!

As I say, it depends on who is behind the website.

Take for example, there will be people who would pay money to buy over some branding, just a branding because of the recognition of that brand. Some people buy over companies not because they are good or anything, just because of their client database.

Similarly for TR. It may not be the perfect political website to start with but there is a foundation of readership. You just need people to revamp their content, that's all.

Goh Meng Seng

silverfox@

Take for example, there will be people who would pay money to buy over some branding, just a branding because of the recognition of that brand. Some people buy over companies not because they are good or anything, just because of their client database.

Similarly for TR. It may not be the perfect political website to start with but there is a foundation of readership. You just need people to revamp their content, that's all.

Goh Meng Seng

This branding comprise of articles which has no factual source and basic truth. Readers who love reading trash and biased stuff would love articles from TR. With this foundation of readership like you said, in order to satisfy them, you need to write what they like to read.

If you take over such a branding, and you write your own unbiased stuff, you will stand to lose a majority of the current readership.

Example there is an existing porn magazine with its readership who likes hardcore stuff. You takeover and you decide its too hardcore, and you go for the softcore stuff. Your existing readership will definitely fall because in the 1st place they want it hardcore.

exSINgaporean

Goh Meng Seng

If that is really the case that the TR is shut down with this type of techniques, then we can expect other popular and those whcih through the years have gain trust and had even helped to organize rallies in the Speakers Corners to shut down....namel The Online Citizens and the SDP website.

Who knows the Singapore govt. might evn block the Facebook and Youtube on all "political contents" before and during this forthcoming erection.

Then in the 2015/16 erection, they will use "electronic voting" system and the rest will be history!