• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Sg PSA going to hong gan liao

rambo22

PTP becomes first Southeast Asian port to welcome mega

https://www.hellenicshippingnews.co...t-and-largest-container-vessel-madrid-maersk/

Port of Tanjung Pelepas (PTP), a member of MMC Group became the first port in Southeast Asia to welcome Madrid Maersk, a 20,568 TEU container vessel and the first “second generation” Triple-E class vessel owned by Maersk Line, the world’s largest container shipping company.

moar to cum

dun say ah jib kor kor never work hor

i start to respect ah jib kor kor moar and moar

he play hard but also work hard

unlike our pinky

PTP becomes first Southeast Asian port to welcome mega

https://www.hellenicshippingnews.co...t-and-largest-container-vessel-madrid-maersk/

Port of Tanjung Pelepas (PTP), a member of MMC Group became the first port in Southeast Asia to welcome Madrid Maersk, a 20,568 TEU container vessel and the first “second generation” Triple-E class vessel owned by Maersk Line, the world’s largest container shipping company.

moar to cum

dun say ah jib kor kor never work hor

i start to respect ah jib kor kor moar and moar

he play hard but also work hard

unlike our pinky

Time to buy over Maersk and force them to park at PSA.

no_faith

Cannot be la....wan to expand build a bigger port in the west for potential growing of shipping. Now you say psa masuk longkang..dont anyhow smear our PAPa name hor.:biggrin:

Another fake news trying to discredit Singapore and create fear.

Singapore shall prevail and prove all doubters wrong while I watch from a safe distance in Bangkok.

新加坡加油!

Charlie99

Who is the number 1 man in PSA? If scholar General bet your life savings sure Hong Gan Liao

http://www.paralimes.ntu.edu.sg/NewsnEvents/Heritagescience/Documents/Andrew Tan_B.pdf

https://www.linkedin.com/in/andrew-tan-97937ba/?ppe=1

http://www.straitstimes.com/business/mpa-appoints-former-nea-head-andrew-tan-as-new-chief-executive

The Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore (MPA) will be led by a new chief executive with effect from Jan 1 next year.

Mr Andrew Tan, the former chief executive of the National Environment Agency (NEA), will replace Mr Lam Yi Young, who has led MPA since May 1, 2009.

Mr Tan, 46, was CEO of NEA from January 2009 to June this year. He is currently the Deputy Secretary (Special Duties) in the Ministry of Transport and holds a concurrent appointment as Fellow in the Civil Service College.

From 2002 to 2004, Mr Tan was principal private secretary to then-Senior Minister Lee Kuan Yew, and subsequently held senior appointments in the Foreign Affairs Ministry and Environment and Water Resources Ministry before joining NEA.

Mr Lam, 41, is leaving MPA to join another ministry.

The Transport Ministry said on Monday that it appreciates Mr Lam's "significant contributions" in his four and a half years as MPA's chief.

Mr Lam spearheaded Singapore's development as a vibrant international maritime centre during his tenure at MPA, the Ministry said.

It also noted that Mr Lam steered MPA towards greater public outreach and education through activities such as the Singapore Maritime Week.

The Ministry added that since 2009, Singapore has maintained its standing as the world's busiest port in terms of annual vessel arrival tonnage.

A spokesperson for the Transport Ministry told The Straits Times that Mr Lam will be posted to another ministry as part of his Administrative Service tour, although it did not provide any further details.

In the 80s, when Singapore was the World busiest port with its long lines of tower cranes constantly moving who thought it would have lost its way. When Mahathir started Tanjung Pelepas we all laughed. When we lost Maersk to Johor we awoke up. When the Taiwanese sent their shipping line on the back of hokkein speaking Johor MCA MP, we began to realise that something was amiss.

Charlie99

In the 80s, when Singapore was the World busiest port with its long lines of tower cranes constantly moving who thought it would have lost its way. When Mahathir started Tanjung Pelepas we all laughed. When we lost Maersk to Johor we awoke up. When the Taiwanese sent their shipping line on the back of hokkein speaking Johor MCA MP, we began to realise that something was amiss.

I recall the apparent laughter, but, we should give the Malaysians credit, for their success at Tanjung Pelapas.
Now the Port of Singapore, is struggling in the shadow of its past success.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I recall the apparent laughter, but, we should give the Malaysians credit, for their success at Tanjung Pelapas.
Now the Port of Singapore, is struggling in the shadow of its past success.

If you study Singapore carefully, you will see that alot of the past successes were the result of capitalizing on the deficiencies of other countries in the region eg poor education, corruption, bureaucracy

It is a matter of time for the other countries to catch up.

Sadly Singapore has not progressed much in terms of innovation. Many factors play a part in this deficiency. With time, Singapore will become irrelevant.

No disrespect to Andrew, based on his experience, it is not likely he will be an effective leader of the pack. Let's wait and see.

aurvandil

Based on statistics from 2015, Singapore handles about 3 times more tonnage than Tanjung Pelepas.

http://www.worldshipping.org/about-the-industry/global-trade/top-50-world-container-ports

Tanjung Pelepas however only received its first maiden vessel in 10 Oct 1999. In a mere 17 years, it has rocketed to become the 17the busiest port in the world. The impressive growth record is listed in the Wikipedia article.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Port_of_Tanjung_Pelepas

Singapore on the other hand has been stagnating. Wonder what the numbers will look like in 20 years.

whoami

One cant be no 1 forever. Matter of time no2 or no 3 will catch up n beat u to it. One must always be humble n not badmouth thy neighbours.

PSA plans to move the port so that condos can be built where the current facilities are :eek:

If the port business is so important to Spore then why are they messing with the port? Shouldn't they be looking at improving the procedures, facilities, lowering prices, ... etc:confused:

Kotekbengkok

The port rebuild at Tuas is just part of the grand plan to churn the economy to raise the GDP and to give lucrative building contracts to cronies and create land banks to sell to cronies to replenish the depleted coffers in CPF and more gambling money for the junkie.. Similar to building more passenger terminals and the Jewel shopping behemoth at the airport. Soon with more airlines and ships bypassing Spore, these will be great examples of ghost ports and ghost airport shopping malls and terminals. Gone are the days of "build it and they will come". But since everyone is just in cruise mode, just wait for the fuel to dry up.

PSA plans to move the port so that condos can be built where the current facilities are :eek:

If the port business is so important to Spore then why are they messing with the port? Shouldn't they be looking at improving the procedures, facilities, lowering prices, ... etc:confused: