• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Really need to invest in a motorsai to have access to all these spots.
Yup. Many of the best makan place is unreachable by 10 baht Song Taews. One good example is the entire stretch of third road aka Sai Sam from Thappraya Road all the way to Pattaya North. The eastern side of Pattaya aka The Darkside as called by the Angmohs also have many hidden gems. Naklua is also another foodie heaven. And not forgeting outside Pattaya areas like Baan Ampher, Bang Saray and Sattahip.

Bike rental is about 150 to 200 baht a day. Motorsai petrol consumption not high. 100 baht can last 2-3 days. Motorcycle taxi robbers charge 80-100 baht one way even for short distance. Might as well rent a bike if going to jalan jalan and makan.

Only thing have to watchout is Pattaya is full of idiotic drivers and riders (except me). So driving/ riding around first time in Pattaya might be challenging. But should be fine as long as wear helmet, don't speed recklessly and stick to left hand side of road. Traffic mata sibeh suka catch PRC tourist riding motorsai without helmets "Mei Dai An Quan Mao" "Fa Kuan Wu Bai". If have budget, rent a car even better.

yinyang

IMG_1045.jpg
IMG_1047.PNG
Had a bite on sun evening enroute to Kaeng Krachan (national park) in Petchaburi. Wanted to try pad thai 'diet' on menu with papaya salad trimmings. But they ran out, so had to settle for regular dish. Interesting with banana flower trimmings. Yen tao fu (Thai speak) too.

Tried Jit poon Udon after recommendation from a Jit Poon Kia friend in Jomtien. Told me shop at Big C Pattaya Klang. At first thought is Fuji. Turn out to be a small stall at Big C Pattaya Klang Food court.

First impression. Jeud Jeud (plain plain)
Add lots of dry chilli powder. Surprisngly, become quite aroi after halfway when the soup enter the udon.

Hey! 79 baht. Mai Hiam liao. And recommend from jit poon kia. Jit poon kia say Fuji and Aka mai aroi and the aroi one must go BKK. 555 this one we know lah. See P Froggy jit poon dinner gor roo laew.

The stall at Big C Pattaya Klang foodcourt
7 early 8 morning. bunch of ang moh old farks already here. yeah. they spend whole day here.

Most Thai food courts used cashless prepaid card system. Exchange and rebate at one counter and used for all stalls.

Big C Food court card

The way I tip these hardworking cleaners is I give them the balance in the foodcourt card. In this case, 21 baht cos the Udon earlier cost me 79 baht. I didnt order any drink cos most of the food court here provide free drinking water.

Drinking station. All the cups are washed and dried.

Verdict of the Udon. Myself not a fan of Jit Poon Kuay Tiow. Occasionally eat at Hachiban or Oishii Ramen. Must admit this Udon is quite good especially the soup and after adding the grounded chilli. Actually want to drink the remaining soup in the bowl leh. But paiseh lah. next table gor 2 sao sao leh .555

rectmobile

Most Thai food courts used cashless prepaid card system. Exchange and rebate at one counter and used for all stalls.

Big C Food court card

The way I tip these hardworking cleaners is I give them the balance in the foodcourt card. In this case, 21 baht cos the Udon earlier cost me 79 baht. I didnt order any drink cos most of the food court here provide free drinking water.

Drinking station. All the cups are washed and dried.

Verdict of the Udon. Myself not a fan of Jit Poon Kuay Tiow. Occasionally eat at Hachiban or Oishii Ramen. Must admit this Udon is quite good especially the soup and after adding the grounded chilli. Actually want to drink the remaining soup in the bowl leh. But paiseh lah. next table gor 2 sao sao leh .555
I wonder why it is called food park and not food court.

Just a name. Food court is too generic. Other names used elsewhere are Food Land, Food Plaza, Food Fun etc. Food Park also means "Food and Rest" in Thai language. Park(พัก means Rest)

The proper name for food court in Thai is call Soon Aharn ศูนย์อาหาร

Late lunch today. No paiseh to admit in reality, this is what I eat most of the time in Siam Lor. Khao Kaeng aka Zhap Chai Png aka Economical Vegetable Rice.

Fried Bean Sprouts( Pad Tua Ngor), Green Curry Pork(Moo Khiow Wan) and fried egg (kai dao). All these plus rice for a princely sum of 45 baht

Took lae Dee lae Yim (cheap and good and full)

Maybe those with Thai driving license can share a thing or two on Thai highway code?
Almost the same as SG and MY highway code except some of the warning signs and road signs are in Thai language. But shouldn't be a problem even if cannot read Thai cos many thing is self understood and common sense.

Thailand is left hand drive so should not be too difficult for Sinkies and Jiu Hu kias to get used to.

My friend just start work at MG Showroom pushing MG quite aggressively. Was thinking of MG3 cos price really nice. At the same time also scare, if price so good, why not many people buy? My heart still with Honda City CNG 675K. Drive 1 year cover back fuel cost liao. Other makes and models simply impossible for me.

Price list and options and installment.

Bonut

Almost the same as SG and MY highway code except some of the warning signs and road signs are in Thai language. But shouldn't be a problem even if cannot read Thai cos many thing is self understood and common sense.

Thailand is left hand drive so should not be too difficult for Sinkies and Jiu Hu kias to get used to.
Parking along the side of the road is my main concern. Don't know what is what.

Easy lah.
Red White stripe kerb 100% cannot park or stop.
Yellow White stripe and black white stripe kerb also cannot park although you will see some people parking.
Anywhere with a standard Blue Red Circle no parking sign.Some have timing restriction means can park after certain offpeak hours.
Anywhere that can cause disruption to flow of traffic eg. near U turn, traffic light juntions.

yinyang

Your photos look good enough to be published on food magazine.
Nah, you flatter me. Blame it on my trusty iPhone 6.o_O No gizmos, only know how to do close up makan. Unlike pi froggy with his takes.

yinyang

His composition is filled with grammatical errors.
Pls excuse my 2nd language thaglisho_O

My 2 cents worth on driving in LOS: Daylight driving’s fine, with most Thai drivers more patient than slinkies. They give way (their mai pen rai attitude?), minus impatient horns back home. But night driving, exercise caution without benefit of street lighting up country especially bikes, trucks. Worse off if your car glass tint is way too dark (above Sg’s limits). Winding down window helps, from my nocturnal experience.

At Naklua Soi 11 this afternoon around 15:30.

Go at your own risk.

See how deep. The red motorsai is Honda msx. If possibe avoid going through flood, but if no choice kenna caught in such situation, keep engine running. Don't stop until you find a dry place.