Tourists charged more than $2,000 for abalones!:eek:

if japanese is vegetarians they wouldnt be smart enough to invented new technology ...have you ever seen a monk inventing new technology ? ;)

if vegetarians love vegetable so much ..why must they make their food look and taste like meat ;) ?

it is not about inventing new technology, it is about paying something that is ridiculously priced without checking the price.

If they chose veggie meals and not abalones, i dun think their bill will be over $50.

it is not about inventing new technology, it is about paying something that is ridiculously priced without checking the price.

If they chose veggie meals and not abalones, i dun think their bill will be over $50.

are you always that stupid or today is a special occasion ? its not about chosing meat over veggie that kena overcharged ...the problem started when they didnt check the menu price . they can go to satay club and order satay still its below $50 ..

if they chose veggie dishes without checking the menu, i do not think it will be few thousand $. it will be not above $50. I dun think $50 bill will be a fuss to be made over.

if they order big mac meal from macdonal without checking the price its still below $50 ;)

knn, japs go local ktv to eat abalones also nvr say kana rip off, tabao summore.:D

you never hear one brother say meh ..." live " abalones is more expensive then dried ones ;)

this kind of food shouldnt be on the menu for this kind of restaurant in the 1st place, knn so expensive....

1. bro, you avatar does not look appealing leh!
2. pls bring back the sweet young & delicious gal.

It prove that the rental cost of the shop outlet has hit the roof !

1. aiyoh!
2. ah yat restaurant is not for the daft sheep or sheep with 850 bucks salary or leasing a one/two rm public apartment.
3. see you no up!

you never hear one brother say meh ..." live " abalones is more expensive then dried ones ;)
haha true but sometimes u nvr know the "live" abalone u pick could be dried after long seasoned.:D

bro its true but not all japanese whore dont serve foreigners ...yes beware of fake japanese whore in japan you might end up with a PRC or even pinoy or thai ...

theres also cheap stuff in tokyo if you know where to find ....all housewife know where to find cheap stuff .

1. drifter, i agree too.
2. yes, once you have the local knowledge, things are affordable in jpn.
3. i do have the privilege to roam around jpn with good friends.

Vegetarian foods, whether Chinese or Indian, are the most expensive dollar-to-dollar for value here in Singapore. Right down to a hawker centre natural meat mixed beehoon at S$3 versus vegetarian fake meat mixed beehoon at S$5 for a similar portioned plate. Many years ago, I was half pissed and half cheeky enough to ask the vegetarian stallholder, why fake meat's more expensive then real meat. The auntie replied as-a-matter-of-factly, real meal is naturally fragrant and easier to cook, fake meat requires more condiments, skills and works to make it taste like meat. Aunties have answers to evetything, don't they?

But Drifter question is valid, why be a vegetarian when you crave for the taste of meat and eat more expensive fake meat instead of cheaper real meat. No only the value for money and your religious state of mind but the nutritional value of the food intake too. Most fake meats are flour loaded and processed with condiments.

haha true but sometimes u nvr know the "live" abalone u pick could be dried after long seasoned.:D

1. hahaha!
2. aiyoh! some live things are pretty salty and hairy there mah.
3. not only dried up.

if the abalone is juicy when handle ...we know its " live " one . our brother golden dragon is good at chosing abalone ;)

haha true but sometimes u nvr know the "live" abalone u pick could be dried after long seasoned..

have you tried the one imported from India . ?
Heard they are smelly but still people love them . Just like the chinese Chao Tou Fu ...:D

Vegetarian foods, whether Chinese or Indian, are the most expensive dollar-to-dollar for value here in Singapore. Right down to a hawker centre natural meat mixed beehoon at S$3 versus vegetarian fake meat mixed beehoon at S$5 for a similar portioned plate. Many years ago, I was half pissed and half cheeky enough to ask the vegetarian stallholder, why fake meat's more expensive then real meat. The auntie replied as-a-matter-of-factly, real meal is naturally fragrant and easier to cook, fake meat requires more condiments, skills and works to make it taste like meat. Aunties have answers to evetything, don't they?

But Drifter question is valid, why be a vegetarian when you crave for the taste of meat and eat more expensive fake meat instead of cheaper real meat. No only the value for money and your religious state of mind but the nutritional value of the food intake too. Most fake meats are flour loaded and processed with condiments.

real educated vegetarians dun give a shit about fake meats.. they prefer veggies, fruits , nuts and anything natural.

Fake meats are for those meat eating losers who keeps eating meat day in and day out and sometimes wanna have a change.

As those meat eating losers are so used to eat meat, and when comes to veggie stalls, they will choose "meat" as well. It is in their pathetic meat eating loser genes.

and they deserve to be charge more as a punishment for eating meat.

for real educated vegetarians, real natural plants are the most healthy and nutritious of all, and they are cheaper than pus-filled , rotting meat.

2. Aiyoh! Some live things are pretty salty and hairy there mah.
salty..could be still fresh, not yet expire.:D

if the abalone is juicy when handle ...we know its " live " one . Our brother golden dragon is good at chosing abalone ;)
this bro GD is MIA. could be trying hard to find a way to paint HC for the fortunes.:D

Have you tried the one imported from india . ?
Heard they are smelly but still people love them . Just like the chinese chao tou fu ...:d
dun compare to chao tou fu, i like to eat u know.:D

we just get straight to the point ...fake meat is overpriced ..full stop .

First rule in a restaurant is never to order a full dish of veggies. They'd charge you S$10 for a small plate of kailan. For S$10, the kitchen procurement department could order one whole basketful. Let's get back to topic and compare apples to apples, not oranges. You can't compare abalones to veggies.

As for the S$2 to 3k abalones, I really don't know how it could have happened. LTB frequents Ah Yat and usually with S$50 he could afford to belanjah me and GMS for quite a filling meal of dim sum, full of pork and prawn but no abalone of course. The Japanese couple need to get their brains checked.