• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Budget Terminal - Soon to be history

Initially, back in 2004-2005, AirAsia was denied landing rights in Singapore. Then the Budget Terminal and Tiger Airways were both set up.

Anyway, costs in Singapore are getting too high. Let's see how much more 'budget' these budget flights can go... maybe they'll do away with the pilots and train stewardesses how to fly an airplane...

One thing our government cannot do is to do things on a "budget" . It is just not in their DNA. :p

Spore & it's GLC just cannot compete whenever there is a level playing field. You only have to look at the numerous failures whenever they try to compete outside of Spore. Can only speculate on the root cause of the problem: Incompetence, top heavy structures, personnel that are not empowered to do anything,a bureaucratic structure, too expensive, many tai chi experts...

This is bad for Spore because we are paying world class prices for substandard performance.:( The current leadership is squandering the hard work of past generations:rolleyes:

Initially they wanted the budget terminal to be non aircon....can you imagine?

1. the bt is one of the most inaccessible items in the changi airport.
2. you got to hop on some feeder at t3/t1 to get to the bt.
3. or else cab or drive there.
4. parking fees are not cheap too!
5. it does not attractive enough for some world-crass transportation hub.

1. the bt is one of the most inaccessible item in the changi airport.
2. you got to hop on some feeder at t3/t1 to get to the bt.
3. or else cab or drive there.
4. parking fees are not cheap too!
5. it does not attractive enough for some world-crass transportation hub.

Obviously the Budget Terminal was a half hearted attempt to compete in the budget travel sector.
They obviously attempted to make "Budget" travel as unpopular as possible to prevent it from competing with SIA.

If you look at what Air Asia has done in Kuala Lumpur. They have regular & cheap shuttle buses to/from the airport to KL Sentral which is KL's main downtown station. This station is connected to the LRT & monorail network as well as taxi services.

KuanTi01

Initially, back in 2004-2005, AirAsia was denied landing rights in Singapore. Then the Budget Terminal and Tiger Airways were both set up.

Anyway, costs in Singapore are getting too high. Let's see how much more 'budget' these budget flights can go... maybe they'll do away with the pilots and train stewardesses how to fly an airplane...

I always try to see the funny side of things coz life is getting too serious and stressful. Nice joke laksaboy!:biggrin: "Budget" here means cutting corners besides cutting the frills.:biggrin:

geylangchickenloyangduck

nah beh...shelf life of a terminal so short one? CCB, at least a kwey in Geylang can stand a few years before moving on...a budget terminal stand for how long only got to make way? ha ha ...

look at how many airline servicing this terminal...4 or 5? nah beh...these handful only cannot handle- where got terminal so small and limited? Nah bah...a kway behaving like that would have died long time ago...

spend the money on sprucing up Geylang better....come think of it...it is Geylang that cause the increase in budget flights....is the authorities going to credit the nice workers of Geylang for contributing to this boom in aviation? LOL

Another example of wasting our money. Screw them.

Yes, another money-wasting failure of an experiment. Budget flight is about less onboard services, not about less terminal services. AirAsia and JetStar both use norminal terminals. No problem. Remember, for a typical 2-hour flight, you need to spend another 3 hours in terminals, 2 hours upon departure and 1 hour on arrival.

But the construction companies, subcontractors and construction workers are very happy such experiments, the sooner they fail, the sooner the next projects come.

AhFook

pull down, rebuilt.. this is also called churning of gdp numbers mah. nevermind that taxpayers kena screwed, but pappy ministars, pappy linked contrators and pappy ft happy ok liao.

do you know lousy and run down the budget terminal is compared to the main airport terminals? Certainly wouldn't want to fly from there.

I've never been to the Budget Terminal but I may visit the place because it will soon to be history. I heard that it is going to make way for an increase in demand for terminals:eek:

I think it was big blunder that they built the BT with minimal conveniences. Even budget travellers expect conveniences like escalators & accessibility:biggrin:

I thought they just built the budget terminal not many years ago, so fast going to tear down. What a waste of money! I used it once before and it was really budget. :smile:

bleed_edge

whole damn Changi airport should had been history. arrogant PAP never learn to be humble. only major failure will teach them properly.

RoyMcFarland

I've never been to the Budget Terminal but I may visit the place because it will soon to be history. I heard that it is going to make way for an increase in demand for terminals:eek:

I think it was big blunder that they built the BT with minimal conveniences. Even budget travellers expect conveniences like escalators & accessibility:biggrin:

It was not the lack of amenities. It was just too small for the fast increasing numbers of travellers and budget planes. It was poor planning by the airport authorities.

RoyMcFarland

Yes probably, but Tiger wont pay as much as a full service carrier in T2. They, as well as the other users of the Budget Terminal that have to move out for the next 5 years will get discounted charges. Its not their fault the authorities want to tear down the old terminal and build a new one. There will be times that passengers check in at T2 and get bused to remote parking bays to board their aircraft. Some of these budget airlines might even move to Seletar Airport. But if they do, the terminal building at Seletar need to be expanded as well.

RoyMcFarland

Then every passenger will need to pay extra. Now Tiger play in level field like all carrier.

Yes probably, but Tiger wont pay as much as a full service carrier in T2. They, as well as the other users of the Budget Terminal that have to move out for the next 5 years will get discounted charges. Its not their fault the authorities want to tear down the old terminal and build a new one. There will be times that passengers check in at T2 and get bused to remote parking bays to board their aircraft. Some of these budget airlines might even move to Seletar Airport. But if they do, the terminal building at Seletar need to be expanded as well.

quartz28

Aiyo...budget terminal is really run down ..bad maintenance...broken tiles here and there, tired paint work, rather dirty walls...overall really very cheapo looking.

I'm really glad this place is tear down...hmmm, guess those who plan this initially screwed up.

I thought they just built the budget terminal not many years ago, so fast going to tear down. What a waste of money! I used it once before and it was really budget. :smile:

It started operations in 2008. So its only been around for 4 years:eek: The Budget Terminal is an example of what is wrong with modern Spore. Poorly thought out experiments by overpaid scholars:rolleyes:

Would be interesting to see which construction companies have benefited from the original Budget Terminal project & if this same group of people will benefit from the new project:eek: