• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Please Help Decipher

五福临门财源广, 金玉满堂传千代
something simple for bro joetys :):):)

Thanks zhuhua

That picture is for illustrate only ! It is Li shu , see if you like or not only ? Actually I am going Bras Basah this weekend to get some calligraphy books , if I see something suitable I will post it here .

Many thanks Penetrator. This is much appreciated. Sorry for my ignorance but I will learn.

Thanks zhuhua

Many thanks Penetrator. This is much appreciated. Sorry for my ignorance but I will learn.

Please don't say like that ! Chinese culture is very rich and wonderful . Many people only fall in love with it after school days . If you can find a good and meaningful calligraphy or painting the feeling is like you find a lover !

Thanks zhuhua

alamak, bro, is zhihau :):):)
anyway, that couplet me suggested can be easily found along Chinatown during CNY, first word from the couplet forms 五金 for you, hope your business HUAT AH!

his art work is being exhibited in China, don't pray pray :D:D:D

wah why is it being exhibited? Surely it cannot be his status as a former president and a non chinese and more on his talent. I wonder.

:D:D:D me memory should serve me correctly, that said calligraphic piece was on display because of his status then, as well as being a non Chinese, but he sure writes better than me lah :D:D:D

Please don't say like that ! Chinese culture is very rich and wonderful . Many people only fall in love with it after school days . If you can find a good and meaningful calligraphy or painting the feeling is like you find a lover !

I have a confession to make. I love to know about Chinese history. So one day I went to the Beijing Forbidden City, I don't feel anything special there or learned anything. Its just walk and walk and walk and admire the buildings and some stuff on the wall or floor and thats it. One day when I had a chance to go to the Taipei Forbidden City Museum I was shock to see so many things there ad learned so much about our Chinese history. At some exhibits a tear or two actually flowed out of my eyes as I was so touched by the advance in civilization and feel proud to be a Chinese. As I go to Kaohsiung 4-6 times a year I always make a point to visit the museum at least once a year. I never get bored with it as they change exhibits quite often.

Last December I was a little disappointed with the crowd as Taiwan recently allowed more PRC to come in as tourist and the museum is now very crowded every day and some of the PRC unruly behavior is really not good for such a serious place where people are there to learn and require a quiet place to admire and reflect.

alamak, bro, is zhihau :):):)
anyway, that couplet me suggested can be easily found along Chinatown during CNY, first word from the couplet forms 五金 for you, hope your business HUAT AH!

Kumsia Kumsia Zhihua. I had saved your words inside my iPhone already and one day when I travel to China maybe I will pay for someone to write it for me. Thank you brother. I also want to wish you Huat Ah!

0031.jpg

really nice, this one i like.

Thank you zhihua and drifter. Both of you have a point there. Only problem with me is I cannot really read Chinese (got E7 for O'level that's after 2nd try, 1st time is F9) or appreciate. For me it looks pretty cool only

You are not alone. Me also F9. Oral fayloh.

But if take oral today, sure pass, thanks to the proliferation of PRC meimeis.

One day when I had a chance to go to the Taipei Forbidden City Museum I was shock to see so many things there ad learned so much about our Chinese history. At some exhibits a tear or two actually flowed out of my eyes as I was so touched by the advance in civilization and feel proud to be a Chinese.

heheh... that is due to KMT shipping most of the treasure from the Beijing Forbidden City to ROC when they were retreating ;););)

You are not alone. Me also F9. Oral fayloh.

But if take oral today, sure pass, thanks to the proliferation of PRC meimeis.

I don't like my Chinese teacher, I very scared of her, now thinking of her my hair also can stand. In her class the blackboard dusters can fly you know? One day I go home with a blue black swell above my eye I also scared to tell parents wait become two blue black swell like panda.

heheh... that is due to KMT shipping most of the treasure from the Beijing Forbidden City to ROC when they were retreating ;););)

Many in Taiwan believes, and I guess many outside Taiwan including myself also believe that if KMT had not stolen the imperial treasures they would have all been destroyed by the commies especially during the 大跃进 and 文化大革命 period.

I'm a qualified Chinese brush calligraphy teacher. I just don't like that that school of calligraphy. Don't call me baby, I'm not your baby or your girl or your Irene, if you do that again, I'll show you my cursive broad stroke.

Long time since I came across espionage application that comes with such a BROAD range of skills.

Dedicated to Penetrator and Irene:

月上柳梢头,人约黄昏后。

Go, go, go and don't disturb me.

Full poem is:

去年元夜时,花市灯如昼,月上柳梢头,人约黄昏后。   

今年元夜时,月与灯依旧。不见去年人,泪满春衫袖。

欧阳修

For bros who might be interested in the origin of the two sentences.