• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

crystal_tiong

Actually, most pple rent out their private houses or hdbs which are heavily subsidised, convert to rm and they can spend and stay in jb.

So what i mean is that without spore, these same group of pple would not even have anything to rent out, convert to 2.4 times rental and stay in jb.

Those pple staying in jb have literally nowhere to go or not enuff money to spend should they decide to sell their houses.

This is a fact we need to accept.

i think now the trend is even no house in sg also went jb n buy liao , we need to sretch our money ....and dun wan to pay so much for pigeon hole.
There are a few I know are doing this too ....

crystal_tiong

Hi Greddy, cant agree with Crystal more. Dont analyse until paralyse.:smile:

Odyssey

U have kids studying in sg right ? maybe u can share yr experience with him ....
For me if i have kids n same situation like u guys , i will keep one room for kids to study in sg and weekends bring them back to jb and enjoy like prince or princess lifestyle.
And perhaps they dun mind travelling in n out to study to become prince/princess in jb , never try never know ....

DREAMorACTION

Ya. Actually I have another bargaining chip. When I have my first kid, I dont think they can resist not seeing their grandchild!! Place of visit grandchild = JB. Haha ... This is my secret weapon also :p

Congrats DoA on your decision and purchase. Well said, sometimes we need to do what we have to do, even if it means going against the grain of things. I am not advocating that we should all go against our parents'wise counsel, but the world has changed much and also, nobody owes us a living; we just have be couragous to do what is necessary and take the plunge of our life. I am very sure your parents will one day come round to the decision you've made. Cheers! Happy for you.

crystal_tiong

Ya. Actually I have another bargaining chip. When I have my first kid, I dont think they can resist not seeing their grandchild!! Place if visit grandchild = JB. Haha ... This is my secret weapon also :p

hahaha ,provide u can find a sg wife which willing to stay in jb hor .... so far not many sg ladies wan to stay in jb de ....
best to get a malaysian wife then can buy another house or shop for investment....

DREAMorACTION

I didn't rule out Malaysian wife ar... I always like Malaysian, I have no issue with them. Many can go into kitchen, out into living room (bad translation!) ... Better still, she can work part time, or stay at home look after the kids and welcome me home everyday with dinner served ... Syiok :p

hahaha ,provide u can find a sg wife which willing to stay in jb hor .... so far not many sg ladies wan to stay in jb de ....
best to get a malaysian wife then can buy another house or shop for investment....

edragon

Odyssey

U have kids studying in sg right ? maybe u can share yr experience with him ....
For me if i have kids n same situation like u guys , i will keep one room for kids to study in sg and weekends bring them back to jb and enjoy like prince or princess lifestyle.
And perhaps they dun mind travelling in n out to study to become prince/princess in jb , never try never know ....

Hi Crystal,

I remembered the time I was posted to HK in the end 80s early 90s. We would rushed over to Shenzhen through Lo Wu Station by the KCR and the CIQ was overwhelmed to the brim with people in the weekend. Everyone just pushed their way to the front coach just before the train arrived at this last station and jostle for positions in the queue. Have not visited HK/Shenzhen for many years so do not know the situation now.

I suppose the scene will be replayed in 2018 if/when the MRT is ready. We do see some of this scene if traveling by bus through the causeway.
However, prince or princess travel by private cars and that's another thing. :smile:

crystal_tiong

Hi Crystal,

I remembered the time I was posted to HK in the end 80s early 90s. We would rushed over to Shenzhen through Lo Wu Station by the KCR and the CIQ was overwhelmed to the brim with people in the weekend. Everyone just pushed their way to the front coach just before the train arrived at this last station and jostle for positions in the queue. Have not visited HK/Shenzhen for many years so do not know the situation now.

I suppose the scene will be replayed in 2018 if/when the MRT is ready. We do see some of this scene if traveling by bus through the causeway.
However, prince or princess travel by private cars and that's another thing. :smile:

usually for sg ppl who have a house in jb and work in sg , will have a car .... except Bro DOA at the moment ...

crystal_tiong

I didn't rule out Malaysian wife ar... I always like Malaysian, I have no issue with them. Many can go into kitchen, out into living room (bad translation!) ... Better still, she can work part time, or stay at home look after the kids and welcome me home everyday with dinner served ... Syiok :p

hahaha , but her family will think singaporean husband is very rich , all come n live with u for free meals etc .... I think Bro HH is a living example.

DREAMorACTION

Bro HH cannot Siam. Once he mentioned HH - the most prestigious, hottest, and award winning development in JB, everyone will stick to him closely like a glue ... :biggrin:

hahaha , but her family will think singaporean husband is very rich , all come n live with u for free meals etc .... I think Bro HH is a living example.

CameraMan

Don't be so sure yet. You have 6 rooms, right? When your Malaysian wife's Ah Gong, Ah Ma, uncles and aunties know about this, they will all come from their village far far away to come stay with you in JB.:smile:

Ya I won't like that ... Will try to Siam. But if they are Malaysian, most likely they have own houses. Don't come kaciao me haha

DREAMorACTION

Argh ... U r freaking me out bro. That will make it become no difference than pigeon hole. Can host them no problem. If they take advantage like a hotel checking in and out on daily basis, think I'll go mad .... Faint

Don't be so sure yet. You have 6 rooms, right? When your Malaysian wife's Ah Gong, Ah Ma, uncles and aunties know about this, they will all come from their village far far away to come stay with you in JB.:smile:

cathylmg

Argh ... U r freaking me out bro. That will make it become no difference than pigeon hole. Can host them no problem. If they take advantage like a hotel checking in and out on daily basis, think I'll go mad .... Faint

Malaysian people are very closely knitted with their family. Very unlike local Singaporean girls who has to fend for themselves and so most are more outspoken. With many relatives as their backup. Anything not happy, your Malaysian wife doesn't have to open her mouth. Her Ah Mah will call you up or talk to your mother directly. Even unreasonable requirements. If not happy, whole family will turn up at your house. Or your parents. And live here at your expense. Your wife will insist that you keep a room just in case they visit.

Sometimes its makes sense for the wife to be more vocal. Then you have some room for compromises. For the elder who thinks that they need to side their girl from your bully, a lot of things you don't have a chance to argue with. You can only bite the bullets when it come, esle it turns into bigger problems.

I know it because I got many relatives and friends who marry Malaysian wives. You marry them thinking they are the quiet, hardworking and obedient type. End up worst then marrying a Singaporean girl. But what to do? Too late already. :biggrin:

rogue1109

Thanks for taking time to talk me through your experience.

I am also 3 candles like you but have three kids and one of them is in primary school located in the east so I don't think I will be able to commute in and out of JB at the present moment.

However I do believe in the potential of Iskandar hence am making an investment now for my future - whether for passive income, holiday home or even my own future retirement home.

But we are a middle income family so if we get this property and not rent it out at all, it would kinda mean that we will save very little over the next few years (unless we get promoted or get super big increment). I guess my main obstacle is whether the property I am eyeing in Sutera can be rented out to help offset my loan repayment.

So far I have been there only on weekends so cannot attest to the traffic during peak hours but mostly we've been using the Skudai Highway from Causeway. We have visited several other places too but feel most at home here.

I don't know what your age is, but I think my situation might be much simpler than yours because I have no kids and I have no big commitments in sg. I love my parents, and it's unfortunately that I haven't managed to break their barriers. But I have confidence that one day, they will move in and stay with me. I believe what I'm doing is right for me, and my parents, as well as my future family :smile:

So, I think u shall identify what your obstacles are. If its because of safety, it's valid but things have improved so much so I wouldn't say this is deal breaker. If its education, I can't advise because I never factored this into consideration. If its money, and worry that you are literally throwing money away because everyone says that buying in JB is stupid and dumb, then I let bro wuqi lecture u on this. He is the living proof of everything we do now. If its travel/transport, then u need to sort out. If its family and kids, rent a place and see if things work out, before u commit. U can't just ignore their feelings on this.*

Think logically, rationally and overcome the barriers. I also lost my focus once but making a rushed decision for ST. Luckily the fellow friends here helped me got back on track. Perhaps u can share your concerns here and let the bros and sis help u out to analyze.

Btw, Sutera is a nice place and I always frequent there. But if u need to commute daily, please think twice and assess the traffic situation. It could be quite bad at the bestari area at certain peak hours.

Good luck to you as hope to see u around! :smile:

cathylmg

And the rich Singaporean son-in-law will smile and welcome them. Bring them around for shopping, makan, entertainments....all on the house. As a learned friend once said, 'Don't worry lah, Singaporean all very rich one.... !':P

jasonjst

Actually, most pple rent out their private houses or hdbs which are heavily subsidised, convert to rm and they can spend and stay in jb.

So what i mean is that without spore, these same group of pple would not even have anything to rent out, convert to 2.4 times rental and stay in jb.

Those pple staying in jb have literally nowhere to go or not enuff money to spend should they decide to sell their houses.

This is a fact we need to accept.

Bro , our " heavily subsidised " HDB pigeon hole is like 500 to 800K leh. If not for the heavily subsidised HDB, all of us here might be homeless liao , thank you !

CameraMan

Wow cathylmg, you freaked out DOA more than I do.

Not all Malaysian girls are like that lah. At least my wife isn't. She's the best.

Malaysian people are very closely knitted with their family. Very unlike local Singaporean girls who has to fend for themselves and so most are more outspoken. With many relatives as their backup. Anything not happy, your Malaysian wife doesn't have to open her mouth. Her Ah Mah will call you up or talk to your mother directly. Even unreasonable requirements. If not happy, whole family will turn up at your house. Or your parents. And live here at your expense. Your wife will insist that you keep a room just in case they visit.

Sometimes its makes sense for the wife to be more vocal. Then you have some room for compromises. For the elder who thinks that they need to side their girl from your bully, a lot of things you don't have a chance to argue with. You can only bite the bullets when it come, esle it turns into bigger problems.

I know it because I got many relatives and friends who marry Malaysian wives. You marry them thinking they are the quiet, hardworking and obedient type. End up worst then marrying a Singaporean girl. But what to do? Too late already. :biggrin:

CameraMan

Relax lah, bro. Just kidding!

But seriously, I hope you would have been married or at least have someone in mind before you renovate your house. Imagine your future wife does not agree with you taste and demand for re-renovation. Your big house means big buck to renovate, twice!

Narmi

Bro, your developer should have sent you the bill asking for payment each time it gets the bank to make payment for it. Also from the monthly interest the bank is asking you to pay, you should be able to see how much it has disbursed to the developer assuming you haven't started paying the principal yet. I suggest you call the developer, your lawyer and your bank

You're received the title deed already? I signed S&P almost for 6 months and still haven't got the title deed yet. But then the lawyer has not yet asked me to pay for the stamp duty for title transfer.

Bro Mathstub

Thank you. Yes i collected d title deed copy fr lawyr office n also copy of quit rent although keys yet to receive. Ok since I started having to pay the interest then It means loan disbursed to developer then. I also received the doc requesting payment fr developer with their principal architect signature confirmg completn at different stages of the development. Subsequently received doc fr bank inform release of sum of money into my mortgage act.

worlauer

as a person who has spent his primary school and secondary education in Singapore,it is really surprising that Singaporeans have considered JB a viable option,after all i went through all the bashing for being from JB during my education there.

To the above bashing on Malaysian women,please wake up,not all Malaysian are as evil and conniving as mentioned,sure some are which i wouldn't deny,but most aren't as dependable as you put them to be,rural people these days are cash rich from palm oil,mining,agricultural produce has gone up in pricing,making them i am sure much more comfortable then before,and no they wouldn't move in with you cause u have a big house cause now they probably can afford it.

Another thing,Malaysians aren't that poor as you make them out to be,for Bro dreamoraction like any other place in this world,if you do intend to marry a Malaysian women pick wisely

Status
Not open for further replies.