• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Re: A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand ? Feasible?

In the evenings, also go Diam Lam Huay (night market) to play games and listen to Ko Tai (Getai). Don't know conned how much by the rolex on triangle wooden block. Used to play 12 numbers dart. Remember can change chips for cigarettes and guiness stout.

Good thing is these mobile night markets still plenty in LOS. I like to visit these mobile night markets and play LOS style Tikam and Lotto. Got one time, spend more than THB 1K to 'win' a few bottles of conditioner but overall, still enjoy.

Sometimes, can't help but feel whole Sinkeeland change too much and too fast.

Heard some time back the shops all compensatedby HDB and have to go. Maybe now gone already. Not sure is it kena enbloc by govt.
The arcade was my favourite too....remembered vaguely bowling alley had an arcade as well....this was before the ban.

The area machiam ghost town now.

My mom moved to Tanglin Halt (10 storey) now. You are right, enbloc. Now not like ghost town la, more like garden, all the blocks torn down including block 6C and all the blocks there, only thing standing is the old 2 storey market (now used car shop and also the famous Margaret Drive Food Centre Chicken Rice 新记) and the churches (used to be 金都 & 金城 cinemas).

Then I very sure you also go Queensway shopping centre (3 arcades). One at basement, another at second floor and one at the third floor (now think become billard/pool joint). Was very addicted to arcades during that time. Even go all the way to Pearl Centre and People's Park to play arcade games.
Yes remembered all 3....the basement one below the may bank next to alexandra hospital side entrance (morgue)....the billiard saloon above the oriental emporium and coffee house and the photostat shops....had a fight there and never stepped in again.
You could smoke in the arcades then and my favourite trick was to spy any small boy who had to tip toe to play the machines, would leave a lighted cig butt at his slippers and then step back and wait and him to finish the game and step on the cig....damn sadist I know :biggrin:

DELETED (repost)

OK, guys. Started early today cos' weather very hot. Will go for a short nap first.:smile: Talk to you guys later.

Photo0281.jpg

Saw someone mentioned in other Thai forums that last month LOS flag were at half mast?
Someone important died?

Tai Chung emporium gone first now all going also...think the old cinemas and hawker centers will go next...

Tai Chung Departmental Store on the second floor. Hell, I think they probably has the fist supermarket in Singapore on the ground floor. The supermarket occupies only half the building while the other half is share by OUB bank and a cake shop Del Monte or somethign like that. Third floor is my favourite dimdum restaurant Golden Crown (金冠), the pei-dan-jok (皮蛋粥) shiok shiok.

Oh forgot to mentioned was caught stealing something in Tai Chung by a indian security guard once, lucky know saleslady, was let off after calling parent to come pay. Of course kenna jialat jialat at home. (dirty past, chay!)

Tai Chung Departmental Store on the second floor. Hell, I think they probably has the fist supermarket in Singapore on the ground floor. The supermarket occupies only half the building while the other half is share by OUB bank and a cake shop Del Monte or somethign like that. Third floor is my favourite dimdum restaurant Golden Crown (金冠), the pei-dan-jok (皮蛋粥) shiok shiok.

Oh forgot to mentioned was caught stealing something in Tai Chung by a indian security guard once, lucky know saleslady, was let off after calling parent to come pay. Of course kenna jialat jialat at home. (dirty past, chay!)
Tai Chung where I bought my airfix and tamiya.
Further down there were a cluster of shops...can't remember the block....school books, tailor uniform, optician, barber all there. One stop shopping place to settle everything...think the place should be empty now as well.

hehehe. Me, Emporium @ queensway shopping centre. Tag Team partnership failed. No need to wait go home. Both tag team's parents come and whack on the spot. :smile:

Further down there were a cluster of shops...can't remember the block....school books, tailor uniform, optician, barber all there. One stop shopping place to settle everything...think the place should be empty now as well.
Think you are refering to the 1 Block in front of the library. Yes, remember the corner shop (facing market) selling alot of stuffs. Last known was it became a bird lovers hangout. Now, think should be gone by now.

yinyang

Wah, nostalgia on q'town (even if digress from thread). I dropped off 1 eurasian hot date (part time dancer with SBC then) in one of old high blocks -after doing Shangrila's disco Lost Horizon with her. Kns, myself got wooden legs so 1 farang smart ass asked if he could have a dance with her. Tried to give her a good night kiss at bottom of block, shits didN't quite work out way I wanted. Out of pocket (eat kiam chai rest month) and go back frus.

knn you spot on, I was caught because of Airfix. If you mention about the place for school books, uniforms opticians then it will be block 6C. They used to have the Pacific Book Shop and I believe the other is called Radian Book shop. Also have fish shops there.

hehehe. Me, Emporium @ queensway shopping centre. Tag Team partnership failed. No need to wait go home. Both tag team's parents come and whack on the spot. :smile:

You also? ha ha ha ha

Think you are refering to the 1 Block in front of the library. Yes, remember the corner shop (facing market) selling alot of stuffs. Last known was it became a bird lovers hangout. Now, think should be gone by now.

In front of the library is block 39A this block has many shops at the bottom but I don't think NW is referring to this block. Yes has bird shops there owned by my neighbour 2 units away. Yes its gone, all gone.

Overslept. A quick shower and go out jalan jalan else tonight cannot sleep again.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Queenstown?

Those were the good old days KYP. Recently during CNY took MRT passed by felt like part of my life had gone with the demolision, forever.

I'm glad I'm living in LOS. Latest COE is $200 short of $74k WTF? Surely Singapore has some seriously rich people to pay $74k for s fucking piece of paper for fuckoff after 10yrs.

It was 100k or thereabouts in the mid-90s if my memoy serves me right.

Morning guys!
Remember its was a dollor or two at one time. And car owners even sell their used cars for a profit. Think nowhere is this world a used car can cost more than a brand new car.

Think many SG car owners are bo bian eg. Kids, elderly folks & work requirement, so LL pay COE (See Hor Ee).