• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

rotikosong

Re: A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand ? Feasible?

Yes, In LOS, I eat almost everything that is edible except grasshoppers and worms. Som Tam Plu Pla La also now my favorite

The crickets/grasshopper is the easy part - they taste like potato chips. I'm sure you know, up north, they eat more than just worms and grasshoppers. I've seen big hairy spiders (there's a special type), meng da (water beetles?) complete with fleshy bits and make wine with dakab (centipede). The dakab is perhaps the one scariest creature alive in all of Thailand - I've seen several that were half the width of my forearm. Other things they eat is semi-hardboiled fertilized egg similar to the Filipino Balut - that one is a specialty in the Keng Tung area.

Som Tam Pu Pa La (Crab/Fermented Fish) is not bad - kind of like the Malaccan cencaluk if you've eaten that (pink)

yinyang

..Margaret Dr was the closest poly. MRT was still under construction - that will date me easily. Always afraid of the pai kia hanging out at the bowling alley there :smile:. Brings back old memories - that area among the earliest flats around.
Oh, thought we were in opposite camps (pai kia skirmish):o Or chasing same skirts?:p Nowadays, pale shadow of past, with buildings retrofitted to church and no more that (taiwan?) emporium. Gosh, I'm old enough to recollect:o
..spent some time up north up in Lanna country - it typically gets that cold in Dec as well. That time, no hot water heater available - have to take a "shower" using a plastic scoop out of a big vat. Man, does that wake you up. The good thing is all the nasty bugs also nowhere to be found in winter. Bad news is that snakes like the relative warmth of the bathroom so never go into the bathroom without checking. ...chance to go into the mountains and stay in a hilltribe (Lisaw) village - it gets even colder up there.
Yo, Lanna up country can freeze your bxlls off at night -like Chiangrai, MHS etc. Only human way is to get some1 to heat you up.

Well, in case of emergency, take this. Never leave Sinkee land without it.

For goodness sake localize la no need to pave poh-chi-pills la. This one is much better -

thailand-ya-hom-powder-five-pagodas-medicine-set-2x25g-7cb35.jpg

rotikosong

For goodness sake localize la no need to pave poh-chi-pills la. This one is much better -

The Thai one is different - it has a some camphor in it, unlike po Chi pills. Having had many many episodes of stomach trouble in Thailand, I use western medicine. Bismuth subsalicylate - you can get it at any pharmacy.
pepto-bismol_12002_5_big_.jpg

yinyang

..biggest problem is not about pay or bonus for staff but more on relatives of partner becoming my staff. Sort of difficult because non-relative staff screws up can F them. Relatives cannot. :(
After this week, think I kiao ka yo lum par again.
Cbfc, just tongue in cheek kachau you ..to incentivise (only suay ones) for doing beyond call of duty, like OT specials for boss. :p New meaning to F (and screw), not for work lapses. So it's "up to you" (as they say in LOS) to QA right from start. Well, if you screwed things up, there's always benefit of extended family -maybe your mia luang will be your proxy to sack them (see, problem solved!)

You swinging balls again, oops forgot you are semi retired

No. That time in JC - Margaret Dr was the closest poly. MRT was still under construction - that will date me easily. Always afraid of the pai kia hanging out at the bowling alley there :smile:. Brings back old memories - that area among the earliest flats around.

In the past, spent some time up north up in Lanna country - it typically gets that cold in Dec as well.

Hmmmm that puts us around the same age. Construction of MRT I was in Poly but when it started I was in NS. Hey you're one interesting person spending time in Lanna country and hill tribes. Must have a very exciting time when young. I came live here only 6 years ago.

Find it quite amazing. How come the LOS runroaders machiam all from Queenstown one? Some more no chance to vote one hah? NW also from Queenstown right?
Mei Ling street boy for 20 years....used to take bus no 64 to go orchard road.
Area of influence from Redhill all the way to Ghim Moh :biggrin:

Speaking of eating Thai insects creepy crawlies...I cannot tahan the big fat water bug that look like cockroach. Beetle is close 2nd....centipede is ok tried it once during jungle survival....there's a way to cook it to rid it of poison.

Mei Ling street boy for 20 years....used to take bus no 64 to go orchard road.
Area of influence from Redhill all the way to Ghim Moh :biggrin:

Q'town boy (27A MRT Stn) for 24yrs. Yes 64 from Mei Chin to Orchard, for me its 13 (from Ghim Moh) and 111 (from Holland) to Orchard. Margaret Drive then New Town.

View attachment 3711

The Thai one is different - it has a some camphor in it, unlike po Chi pills. Having had many many episodes of stomach trouble in Thailand, I use western medicine. Bismuth subsalicylate - you can get it at any pharmacy.
View attachment 3712
For the opposite effect, 'too heaty' and cannot shit, I used the Thai medicated solution. Drink half a bottle, confirm go lau sai within 30 mins. For all other stomache problem, I stick to Po Chai pills. Yes, there is a LOS version but have not tried yet.

Q'town boy (27A MRT Stn) for 24yrs. Yes 64 from Mei Chin to Orchard, for me its 13 (from Ghim Moh) and 111 (from Holland) to Orchard. Margaret Drive then New Town.
downstairs got Fiji cake shop tio bo? The kopitiam downstairs also got a satay man always wearing singlet and khaki bermudas....he was my uncle and I always help out at his stall.
Took my class 2 and 3 driving license next door....further up forfar house used to be a silo supermarket (precursor to NTUC) where my mum buys the rice.

Cbfc, just tongue in cheek kachau you ..to incentivise (only suay ones) for doing beyond call of duty, like OT specials for boss. :p New meaning to F (and screw), not for work lapses. So it's "up to you" (as they say in LOS) to QA right from start. Well, if you screwed things up, there's always benefit of extended family -maybe your mia luang will be your proxy to sack them (see, problem solved!)

You swinging balls again, oops forgot you are semi retired
Sometimes, LOS cannot anyhow F or screw. Not their culture. Must talk slowly and nicely. Good for those who are good temper. Bad for those who have a short temper. My temper have changed quite a lot. Now, I am more Jai Yan Yan but occasionally still the fuze will blow.

All staffs are interviewed by me except one who come in without interview. :( I only get involve when there are matters concerning money or new staff. Day to day things, I cannot do anything cos' no work permit. :biggrin:

downstairs got Fiji cake shop tio bo? The kopitiam downstairs also got a satay man always wearing singlet and khaki bermudas....he was my uncle and I always help out at his stall.
Took my class 2 and 3 driving license next door....further up forfar house used to be a silo supermarket (precursor to NTUC) where my mum buys the rice.
27A actually 2 kopitiam at both ends of the block. In between is a gold shop and pawnshop. Not sure if they still around. The second floor on top of NTUC was my favorite 'bon tank' place, arcade centre. Think now they are selling camping staff.

Tio Tio Tio all Tio. Fuji cake shop where all our birthday cakes are from right at the corner before the stairs that separates the coffeeshop and cake shop. Satay stall comes and goes changed hands. But one satay I really remembers is hainam old couple evening time sells porridge and satay gravy with pineapple damn shiok. Coffeshop right hand corner stall next to lift is always indian stall for years, roti and curry damn shiok. I actually lived on this side of the block not the ROV side. In the old days there were 3 provision shops after NTUC came left with 2 then 1.

I think everyone living in Q'town area goes to that silo supermarket you mentioned, for us we call it in Hokkien 十四楼联络所 and everyone understands its that supermarket. If I'm not mistaken it opens only on certain days a week.

27A actually 2 kopitiam at both ends of the block. In between is a gold shop and pawnshop. Not sure if they still around. The second floor on top of NTUC was my favorite 'bon tank' place, arcade centre. Think now they are selling camping staff.

27A had been torn down last year. Totally flat. Grass field now. ROV building is still there. NTUC also gone liao. You are right about the "bon tank" place, me too always on the 2nd floor NTUC playing Space Invaders.

Pai Seh. Sala NTUC. Now recall which one after seeing joetys last post. The one you refer to is near to Dawson Road. Last time used to be 4 storey flats but now is 40 storeys.

27A had been torn down last year. Totally flat. Grass field now. ROV building is still there. NTUC also gone liao. You are right about the "bon tank" place, me too always on the 2nd floor NTUC playing Space Invaders.
Space Invaders only 20 cents. Pac Man, Donkey Kong, Rally-X and Galaga all 40 cents. Knn. Can't believe I still remember the names of the games.

Heard some time back the shops all compensatedby HDB and have to go. Maybe now gone already. Not sure is it kena enbloc by govt.
The arcade was my favourite too....remembered vaguely bowling alley had an arcade as well....this was before the ban.

The area machiam ghost town now.

Heard some time back the shops all compensatedby HDB and have to go. Maybe now gone already. Not sure is it kena enbloc by govt.
The arcade was my favourite too....remembered vaguely bowling alley had an arcade as well....this was before the ban.

The area machiam ghost town now.

Then I very sure you also go Queensway shopping centre (3 arcades). One at basement, another at second floor and one at the third floor (now think become billard/pool joint). Was very addicted to arcades during that time. Even go all the way to Pearl Centre and People's Park to play arcade games.

Sometimes, LOS cannot anyhow F or screw. Not their culture. Must talk slowly and nicely. Good for those who are good temper. Bad for those who have a short temper. My temper have changed quite a lot. Now, I am more Jai Yan Yan but occasionally still the fuze will blow.

When I first started to live here I also very hot tempered. Cannot tahan the people here the way they work. I always fuck people either people I met outside or in company. My partners always advised me I got to adjust to the Thai way even if I don't like and they being international guys could empathize with me but still wanted me to change. 2 years ago I blasted someone in office and it became a misunderstanding with my partners and he was very angry with me. After that I realized that I really need to jai yen yen and lower my expectations. Now I am a much happier man.

Tai Chung emporium gone first now all going also...think the old cinemas and hawker centers will go next...