• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

contra

Its very common for the sales/project manager to 'play games' with their devt - controlling Who, Which, What, When, How and even Why units are being sold. One day you go there, they tell u 80% sold,..making u kan cheong..the kan cheong spiders will quickly jump in. next day you go again, they say 20 more units released. When you enquire about a certain unit, they say "sold" when in fact its still avail; making you buy the less than desired unit for fear it will be sold too. Some developers play more intensely while others less. Its happening everywhere not just HH. Even SG included, so no way to avoid. Its a way to drive herd mentality and push up sales and prices.

Far East Org No#1 in this game.
I live in the east and have seen them play this game with Silversea, Dunman View, Shore, Cape, Sound, euHabitat. All strategically placed and pushed in tandem... although UEM & Gamuda far from that, they are learning fast.

Key is be disciplined and know what you want and know your own budget realistically...

Sanur

Motorists on Johor Causeway may have to pay 5 times more in tolls
Published on Feb 5, 2012

inShare
Purchase this article for republication
Buy SPH photos

Much-debated route: The 8.1km Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL) is expected to be opened in the coming weeks. -- PHOTO: THE STAR/ASIA NEWS NETWORK
JOHOR BARU (THE STAR/ASIA NEWS NETWORK) - Motorists using the Johor Causeway between Malaysia and Singapore may be forced to pay five times more in toll charges once it is implemented along the Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL).

They will be forced to pay the toll even if they do not use the 8.1km EDL as the collection will be done inside the Customs, Quarantine and Immigration Complex (CIQ).

Presently, motorists using the Johor Causeway are only required to pay RM2.90 (S$1.19) for cars during their return trip at the CIQ building. The RM1.27 billion EDL, which will help reduce congestion in the city area along Jalan Tebrau and Jalan Tun Razak, is linked directly to the North South Expressway.

It is expected to be opened in the coming weeks. Sources said the toll collection proposed by the concessionaire, MRCB Bhd, was RM6.20 for cars one way. 'Besides the RM6.20 EDL toll, drivers will have to pay RM1.45 to PLUS Bhd. This means the total toll is RM7.65 one way, which works out to RM15.30 to leave and return to Malaysia,' they said. The toll, to be cashless with the use of Touch'N Go, will affect about 70,000 to 100,000 local and Singaporean commuters each day.

Diaspora

Hi Diaspora,

Can you explain what is MISS?? You stated that they are Malaysian Investor on Sg Soil. If they are malaysian, why would they still need to be brought in to Malaysia? Are we talking about Malaysian SPR?

Appreciate if you could clarify....

N

Bro,

Intead of trying to explain using my own words I believe the best is to provide links to this... :smile:
I hope this helps, however, if still need further explanations, please contact the owner of the FB group... :smile:

A platform for Malaysian investors residing in Singapore. To share know how, potential deals, network and be merry!
http://www.alphamarketingsg.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=40&Itemid=29
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=819299069#!/groups/138144292918617/

Nusajaya

Thanks Bro.

Bro,

Intead of trying to explain using my own words I believe the best is to provide links to this... :smile:
I hope this helps, however, if still need further explanations, please contact the owner of the FB group... :smile:

A platform for Malaysian investors residing in Singapore. To share know how, potential deals, network and be merry!
http://www.alphamarketingsg.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=40&Itemid=29
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=819299069#!/groups/138144292918617/

cobragold

Motorists on Johor Causeway may have to pay 5 times more in tolls
Published on Feb 5, 2012

inShare
Purchase this article for republication
Buy SPH photos

Much-debated route: The 8.1km Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL) is expected to be opened in the coming weeks. -- PHOTO: THE STAR/ASIA NEWS NETWORK
JOHOR BARU (THE STAR/ASIA NEWS NETWORK) - Motorists using the Johor Causeway between Malaysia and Singapore may be forced to pay five times more in toll charges once it is implemented along the Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL).

They will be forced to pay the toll even if they do not use the 8.1km EDL as the collection will be done inside the Customs, Quarantine and Immigration Complex (CIQ).

Presently, motorists using the Johor Causeway are only required to pay RM2.90 (S$1.19) for cars during their return trip at the CIQ building. The RM1.27 billion EDL, which will help reduce congestion in the city area along Jalan Tebrau and Jalan Tun Razak, is linked directly to the North South Expressway.

It is expected to be opened in the coming weeks. Sources said the toll collection proposed by the concessionaire, MRCB Bhd, was RM6.20 for cars one way. 'Besides the RM6.20 EDL toll, drivers will have to pay RM1.45 to PLUS Bhd. This means the total toll is RM7.65 one way, which works out to RM15.30 to leave and return to Malaysia,' they said. The toll, to be cashless with the use of Touch'N Go, will affect about 70,000 to 100,000 local and Singaporean commuters each day.

Remember. Sg will also charge you the same amount in toll so effectively you pay 30.60 rm in tolls for a return trip. Only hope is that the jb Chinese chamber of commerce will step in to highlight the lost of revenue to the local business. Also a lot more jb drivers will change to motorbike to beat the cost of driving.

yahoo1234

Hi Diaspora,

Can you explain what is MISS?? You stated that they are Malaysian Investor on Sg Soil. If they are malaysian, why would they still need to be brought in to Malaysia? Are we talking about Malaysian SPR?

Appreciate if you could clarify....

N

mostly are investors concentrating in singapore/KL market.... so most of them dont even know how to get to JB.

JB was a mudland but now could be our playground as well...:smile:

jasonjst

Remember. Sg will also charge you the same amount in toll so effectively you pay 30.60 rm in tolls for a return trip. Only hope is that the jb Chinese chamber of commerce will step in to highlight the lost of revenue to the local business. Also a lot more jb drivers will change to motorbike to beat the cost of driving.

Wondering how does it affect properties investment near Woodland Causeway , like KSL , Eco Cascadia , Southkey and surounding area ? Was actually thinking of a shophouse there , but now got to do some retinking liao . The business around the old JB city already badly hit by Nusajaya new town , now kena a 2nd hit , jialat leh .

toyohon

Yah, many sharks too haha ... Of course HH is highly raved about and I like to have a piece of cake there and I can't deny that I was so mad at them on Thursday before going into the office (well, u saw my posts) ... the games that they played and thinking I'm a fool had certainly put me off a bit.

Ermm .. No wife leh, still a bachelor haha ... And I don't see myself buying a HDB ... The gov doesn't protect me, I need to find ways to protect my self and grow new roots out there in IM

DoA, good that you've found an alternative besides the coveted area/s. It's a little like going all out looking to shop at Premium Outlets when you realized that better bargains can be found in your Juscos and Tescos..

toyohon

Think about it, in Singapore, you get sucked every morning by the ERP going to work, school, etc. but this is going to another country and you are paying roughly the same. Personally I won't mind paying if it could greatly reduce the daily jams.

Aisanbo

Effectively, they're making the woodlands and Tuas link equally priced.
The traffic would over time achieve equilibrium in terms of "traffic jam".
An indirect tax for people living in JB and working in Singapore.
S$250/mth for the tolls....people will still pay lah as you either get much more in pay in Sg or pay much less for housing in JB.
So long as they can cut down the traffic jam at CIQ....

LeMans2011

Try and error is the Malaysian style. Roads are normally built by listed companies hence they have to make money for shareholders, but then there is the government in the equation. I reckon they will start operating the new roads with a steep charge... then lower the charges if they cannot get enough volume. And further lower the charges when they have recover the majority of the costs... much in the same way as second link.

Aisanbo

I'm certainly keeping the option open. Like trithl has mentioned, that area has strong local presence. I liked the feel and I loved seeing the family and kids playing at the park. The one I booked is actually not a house, it's a services residence. I took all into consideration, especially of the daily travelling next time, I prefer to stay at something close to lots of shop houses/commercial complex like the sky loft in bukit indah. I figure i wont have time to cook etc, so it is always convenient to walk to the eating places in a very short time. For such similar advantages, I can only find it in ST. Moreover, there are a lot of shop houses fully operational, and more are coming up. There is a proposed tesco in the pipeline too. And Starhill golf course is also very near. Perhaps I might take up golf in the future lol

All in all, ST ticked most of my boxes, compared to nearby dato onn, adda heights etc. I looked at cascadia, while its nice, I had to consider the travelling time to get to the customs. ST is right next to the highway so it appealed more to me...

I booked at Sky Gardens too ;-) There is the other newer project in ST called Sky Peak.
It is the all the way highway from CIQ to Sky Gardens that attracted me.
Environment also not bad with the commercial zones beside the project.
Not confirmed but they are planning to have a shopping centre in ST.
I do believe that is a great location to have a shopping centre. But on other hand, I also hope that the place dun become too crowded.

lastresort

EDL opening delayed by cracks in tunnel

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/2/4/nation/10678212&sec=nation

JOHOR BARU: Cracks have appeared in certain parts of the tunnel that links the RM1.27bil Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL) to the Customs, Immigration and Quarantine Complex (CIQ) here.

Water is also seeping in from the cracks in the tunnel, which is part of the soon-to-be opened EDL project.

Engineers have been working to rectify the problem and tests are being carried out to determine whether the structure of the tunnel is intact and safe.

Contractors are also putting up more lighting inside the tunnel to ensure that it is adequately lit before it is opened to the public at the end of the month.

However, it is not clear whether the works have anything to do with the delay in opening the EDL to the public for free since Jan 1.

Stulang assemblyman Mok Chek Hou said he was informed about the cracks and added that remedial work was already underway to resolve the problem.

The construction of the 8.5km link started in 2008 and was scheduled to be completed within four years.

The concessionaire, MRCB Bhd, was awarded a 34-year toll concession (which includes four years for construction).

The elevated three-lane link, which is connected to the North-South Expressway, has exits to Stulang Darat, Bakar Batu, Desa Pandan and Permas Jaya.

The EDL, which is supposed to help reduce traffic congestion along Jalan Tebrau and Jalan Tun Abdul Razak, is said be causing concern among the people over toll rates.

Source familiar with the pro**ject also said the EDL would be cashless as it would use the touch-and-go system and readers have been installed at the immigration booths at the CIQ building.

An announcement on the toll rates is expected to be made soon following Cabinet approval.

lastresort

Okay, done lots of running about in these 2 days. At last I can take a breather now. Just a quick update:-

Given the ordeal I had at the HH's office, I am never going back there again, and I will never buy a property from them directly, never ever! Not gonna elaborate much either ... Ah tiong, sorry to disappoint ...

On the other hand for the brighter news, I have made a booking at setia tropika instead. The joy and the excitement of my first venture in property is indescribable. At last I have made the first bold step :-)

Bro yonglip, we can see that it was only meant as a joke, don't take it to heart :wink: in fact, I found it funny :smile:

Okay, gonna put my feet up and watch a movie. Hope u guys are having a good weekend too. Cheers

whoah so much action over the weekends, the thread is as happening as always!

Congrats Brother DOA on your decision, but like many brothers and sisters here advise, I hope you take a little more time to cool down and think, think about the potential pros and cons. But if you have already taken time off to think and made up your mind, don't let anything change your mind.

I personally like Setia Tropika too as I feel it has good masterplan, good management/maintenance, landscape and is convenient if travelling by causeway. Hope to hear more updates from you!

lastresort

I've been a little busy studying for exams lately, will get busier and post less for the time being, until exams are over in mid May. Then I will start to catch up with all the actions.

So I've not been to the sales offices this week, but checked out 3 resale houses with an uncle (small time developer) and auntie, went to a neighbour's house for CNY gathering last week and visited a neighbour who has just renovated her home, Balinese style. Impressed by these people because they know what they want.

Over at the sales office, if there is too much speculation, i don't mean it, but I heard from people who have visited, prices of the greens launching price shot up 50k overnight! and it was jam packed at the sales office over the weekends, sales people really had no time to talk, sell until hands soft (direct translation). Go there to find out more if you're interested, but otherwise it is just good to know there is still much activity and all!

Also got a few quotations from resale agents to know valuations of resale houses have indeed moved up as new transacted prices are up. Will keep track as much as I can until exams are over, I will go all out to research again!

oh yes, have you guys seen firework tubes as big as a 1.5L bottle (exploded louder than my 155mm artillery shells)? I think I've seen bigger than that, it felt like a war zone last saturday night as people one after another started to clear their fireworks and firecrackers, lion dance dancing all night.

lastresort

anyways, according to the malaysian side, toll rates hike amount is not confirmed but is expected to be made soon following Cabinet approval. I highly doubt it will be 5 times the current because it will kill the local economy as it is highly dependent on Singapore dollar. But of course they might still increase significantly to benefit a few cronies at the expense of the locals.

lastresort

oh yes, brother DOA, if you're looking at condos/serviced apartments, have you looked at the about to launched development called Sky Peak by Setia?

There's also another one called Sky Oasis though you might not like the location.

Status
Not open for further replies.