• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lawyers - The Good, Bad and Ugly Ones

From the reports, he could have got away with 8 figures. It should be enough if he's not extravagant.
Heard DR had to run road due to owing money due to his gambling....soccer betting.

Another gambler that RR was ex bowling president Dr Ong Teck Thian....

These guys ran even before the IRs opened

Heard DR had to run road due to owing money due to his gambling....soccer betting.

According to the news reports, he was out with his wife one moment, and the next he was gone.
His wife apparently/supposedly had no clue that he was leaving and the last time she saw him was when they were out together.

One thing to look out for is the number of rr cases among casino clients and loan defaulters (bank, moneylenders, ah longs) and how many will be foreigners. The numbers could get more and more as the economy worsens.

From the reports, he could have got away with 8 figures. It should be enough if he's not extravagant.

From what I know, not much in cash. No way 8 figures. Money recoverd in Vietnam and S'pore not small amount. His diamonds also not worth that much in the black market. Buyers will squeeze you dry knowing the origin and one's desperation.

DR kenna from playing shares more than other bets. A very colourful chap indeed.

According to the news reports, he was out with his wife one moment, and the next he was gone.
His wife apparently/supposedly had no clue that he was leaving and the last time she saw him was when they were out together.

Wife was in Bangkok for a conference. DR met her there and disappeared from Bkk to Jakarta. Not too sure if wife was aware but if I need to bet, a big big bet she was. Hope the 2 daughters are doing alright without his presence.

Nothing to do with gambling but his arrest over HDB loans syndicate was imminent. Joyce had no clue.
Heard DR had to run road due to owing money due to his gambling....soccer betting. Another gambler that RR was ex bowling president Dr Ong Teck Thian....These guys ran even before the IRs opened

DS explicitly states that to engage him, as part of the mandate he must be flown First Class only - no exceptions.

International law firms with offices all over the world and leading barristers would be too paiseh (and probably heckled by the legal press) to even try and suggest that is their basic requirement in an official client mandate letter.

I guess in Singapore lawyer can really machiam celebrity....

actually the best criminal lawyers/advocates wld probably be the best civil lawyers/advocates...?...becuz the top legal talent is invariably found under civil legal work becuz generally much more lucrative n the work is naturally more complex in nature...same comparison wld apply in the uk...best advocates now in sin wld probably be chaps like cavinder bull, alvin yeo, andre maniam, harpreet singh, ang cheng hock etc...michael khoo is solid old school type...davinder singh is still v gd but looks like he taking more of back seat at d&n...solid criminal lawyers wld probably be sant singh, wee pan lee, edmond pereira, fernando...abrahim vergis n wendell wong not too bad as well...

Singapore lawyering has been a protected profession after the upheaval of Francis Seow. Only law graduates from Singapore universities are allowed to practise. The last I recalled, less than 20 foreign universities are gazetted, most in UK and a few in Australia are allowed to take the graduate diploma in Singapore law to convert to Singapore practice. The 6-month course is conducted once or twice a year and the queue is very long for Singaporean foreign law graduates returning.

To be fair, US though practising common law just like all British commonwealth countries, have even stricter protection for domestic lawyers. No foreign lawyers are allowed to practise in US without passing through a US law school. Gopalan Nair had to go through law school all over again when he migrated there.

1 Subhas - Over-rated. Takes up high profile cases to boost his reputation as a fighter in court. Still seeking the SC title but not likely he will be successful. Charges a bomb to defend you.

2 Ravi - If client is not mad, will get mad if in close proximity with him after a short while.

3 Michael Khoo - worth spending the bomb for this SC. Very sharp.

Michael Khoo ... wasn't he d one who defended TT Durai?

Subhas appears to be getting a lucky streak these days. Somehow lady luck shining on him.

I don't trust M. Ravi. He will go mad at the correct time when his client needs him most, and he will sabo his good friends when he his condition relapses. And if he never big mouth, openly talk for 3 minutes about how VW support gay rights and is gay himself, it won't provide ammunition for Balafucknan to attack VW. Somehow that guy got problem.

Anyway, its CNY, I don't want to talk so much bad things about people. Must tone down.

HAPPY NEW YEAR AND HUAT HUAT HUAT !!!!!

Typically if you have a recognised law degree, in order to be admitted to practice in the US you need to get a postgrad qualification in the form of an LLM/Masters - so no need to go through law school all over again (as law in itself is a postgrad course in the US unlike the UK and Singapore) - there are alot of people who queue up to take the New York Bar exam and upon passing this then realise then they can't get a license to practice in the state of New York because they don't have a Masters qualification from a US university. In the US it is not unusual for associates to get a job before the pass the Bar Exam - sort of an apprenticeship before being confirmed as an
associate.

Same in the UK - just because you pass the Bar does not mean you have a license to practice - you need to have completed pupillage in Chambers. A different set of rules apply for solicitors as the legal profession remains split despite efforts to enjoin the two.

Typically if you have a recognised law degree, in order to be admitted to practice in the US you need to get a postgrad qualification in the form of an LLM/Masters - so no need to go through law school all over again (as law in itself is a postgrad course in the US unlike the UK and Singapore) - there are alot of people who queue up to take the New York Bar exam and upon passing this then realise then they can't get a license to practice in the state of New York because they don't have a Masters qualification from a US university. In the US it is not unusual for associates to get a job before the pass the Bar Exam - sort of an apprenticeship before being confirmed as an
associate.

Same in the UK - just because you pass the Bar does not mean you have a license to practice - you need to have completed pupillage in Chambers. A different set of rules apply for solicitors as the legal profession remains split despite efforts to enjoin the two.

You cannot become a lawyer (even US citizens) without a basic degree in whatever discipline. Then can you enter a law school. You'll graduate, if you pass, as a JurisDoctor.

actually the best criminal lawyers/advocates wld probably be the best civil lawyers/advocates...?...becuz the top legal talent is invariably found under civil legal work becuz generally much more lucrative n the work is naturally more complex in nature...same comparison wld apply in the uk...best advocates now in sin wld probably be chaps like cavinder bull, alvin yeo, andre maniam, harpreet singh, ang cheng hock etc...michael khoo is solid old school type...davinder singh is still v gd but looks like he taking more of back seat at d&n...solid criminal lawyers wld probably be sant singh, wee pan lee, edmond pereira, fernando...abrahim vergis n wendell wong not too bad as well...

Very good assessment of some of our lawyers. Cavinder's a great chap. Dealt with him previously. Very well brought up though he lost his dad when he was very young. Mum's very involved in mission work. Completely no airs. Turned down the MIWs during an earlier GE coz he refused to see himself as a minority.

Andre's folks are very similar to Cavinder's. Mum's Chinese. Very down to earth and helpful to those in need. Very actively involved in church work.

Sant very ex to engage. Need to put down 50k deposit first. Would rank Edmund, Peter and Leo slightly behind Sant but way above Subhas. Wendell was DPP and prosecuted Ah Long San's case. Up-and-coming from what I heard.

Michael Khoo ... wasn't he d one who defended TT Durai?

Subhas appears to be getting a lucky streak these days. Somehow lady luck shining on him.

I don't trust M. Ravi. He will go mad at the correct time when his client needs him most, and he will sabo his good friends when he his condition relapses. And if he never big mouth, openly talk for 3 minutes about how VW support gay rights and is gay himself, it won't provide ammunition for Balafucknan to attack VW. Somehow that guy got problem.

Anyway, its CNY, I don't want to talk so much bad things about people. Must tone down.

HAPPY NEW YEAR AND HUAT HUAT HUAT !!!!!

Happy New Yr and huat huat huat to you too.

Met Ravi several times. There was once he went bonkers and told everyone present his dad was orang China and he, a member of Ang Soon Tong. Bro, this took place opposite Sub Ct! And during lunch time. I quickly walked away.

Happy New Yr and huat huat huat to you too.

Met Ravi several times. There was once he went bonkers and told everyone present his dad was orang China and he, a member of Ang Soon Tong. Bro, this took place opposite Sub Ct! And during lunch time. I quickly walked away.

You ai wan liao. Later they go cheong Tian An Men.

Ah Ram, TAM is too posh for me. I rather go to the smaller joints in bermudas than the big established ones like Dynasty, Lido, LV etc. Uncle's standard better chiong the SMEs of KTVs and HFJs. Actually, I patronised joints where either the boss or the bouncers are my kawan kawan. More at ease that way.

Tian An Men bouncers are my kah kias. But I don't like to go there anymore. I pincked at Beach Road basketball court and playground areas. Just for the fun. Not for cheong or HFJ.

Boss of TAM also boss of Orchard K and old Hollywood at Furama. Indon chap named Ghazali. Chinese though. Son running his biz now. Drank with him previously but didn't feel at ease so left early.