Porsche, anyone? Singaporeans are getting richer

My favorite convertible was Merz 280C. Well, that's the only convertible I've driven. Not mine. Loan from friend. No horse run. Want any woman also up the car!

I am not so lucky. Only a Ford Mustang convertible.

Performance Motors (BMW) first introduced the scheme ie. ballon payment. It is attractive to those who want a car at all cost but can't afford it under normal hire purchase. It reduces your monthly payment but it does not increase equity. The car does not belong to you as it essentially a long term hire. Its is the worst kind of financing after loan sharks. They were able to do so as MAS deregulated car financing and left it to the Hire Purchase to carry the weight. The Ang Mo from Performance Motors who introduced the scheme finally went to jail for corruption.
Its a simple financial scheme where there is a balloon price at the end of the financial terms, similar to hire-purchase schemes here. Shouldn't there be something similar for this for other cars as well? The flip side is that because of the balloon size, you are paying more interest during the term. However, it reduces your monthly expenses. Usually, people would just return the car at the end of the term and get a new one after that. No point keeping an old car when you can get a new one every 3-4 years.

Ghosh... first you have myo539 who writes incoherent stuff..... who says Porsche is unaffordable? Porsche is not in the same league as Lambo and Ferraris...
Simple minds don't understand "incoherent stuff". What do you know of Ferraris other than watching it from the Singapore F1 with the cheapest Walkabout ticket?

But nobody saw you in the VIP enclosure hor? But wait! Oh! You were squatting between the legs of the PAP VIPs there! Cock sucking PAP prostitute!

But she takes public transport. :D

I don't think so. She'll be booted out of the bus or train for the stench of decaying dried sperm that she had forgotten to wipe off from her marathon PAP MIW cock sucking sessions.

Its a simple financial scheme where there is a balloon price at the end of the financial terms .... No point keeping an old car when you can get a new one every 3-4 years.

True, for some people a vehicle is simply a means to get them from Point A to Point B in the shortest possible time and comfort and with minimal fuss. But for some others, it's symbolic, a message of success or wealth. Even when they trade in the car after a few years, the fact remains that they can afford to pay the huge monthly instalments.

Very few Filipinos appreciate the Porshe-loving President Aquino living in a third world country buying a Porshe, a third-hand one notwithstanding. I remember our practical-minded PM Lee and the thrifty Senior Lee buying just a humble Toyota (Lexus) - even though we know they can afford many Porsches. And of course the then young Wei Ling driving a lau pok kar (don't know the brand - not Ford definitely) out of Oxley Road. That doesn't stop them from preventing others from driving expensive cars when they become Prime Ministers.

That's the whole idea - to be seen.... Ever notice the mannerism of these drivers when they alight from their vehicles? Machiam can fly type. Esp at clubs when they are given a privileged lot at the main door carpark. The shorties machiam taller by 6 inches when walking.

hahaha, that's the feeling that money can buy - probably higher than the contraband ecstasy pills, or the lift that Triumph or silicone implants can give.

The ex-Malaysian PM Mahathir used to tease that Singaporeans with Ferrari..."when shifting into fourth gear, they fall into the sea because the country is not big... It is only 18 miles from Keppel Harbour to the Causeway. Not even time to change into fourth gear. You buy a Ferrari you can't change into fourth gear, there is no use. So we want to give them the opportunity to change into fourth gear on [Malaysian] roads. We want them to come, we thank them: because they are rich, we are poor, so when they come here, they spend money, we can tumpang (piggy-back) a bit."

Another dig at Singaporeans from Mahathir [applicable to those buying houses in Iskandar]. "Actually, we know that Singaporeans live in a small country. Every week, tak boleh tahan to live in the small country ... so they need to breathe and we have a big area in Johor and Malaysia for them to breathe. Come over, we welcome them and love them....Singapore has four million. So we like them to come."
[you simply can't get enough of Mahathir - like LAT cartoon]

But nobody saw you in the VIP enclosure hor?...

Of course you didn't see me, you twit! I got tickets, but I wasn't interested because it was simply not my cup of tea to be thrilled with F1 screechings and screamings. I gave them away. Haha, you must be drooling like a boxer!

But she takes public transport. :D

Alamak (I am reluctant to say) I drive more than I take the occasional public transport lah! I let it rest at the porch sometimes to experience and support public transport - or simply for practical purposes.

Afterall, the ang moh from Britain (see my other thread) said we have one of the best public transport systems in the world! And he is not the only ones praising our system sky high! Thanks to the wisdom of our government!

If many ang mohs say that we are one of the best, and I am not a beneficiary to experience that system, it's simply not right. Afterall, I had experienced taking their Metro and Tube in New York, London or Tokyo. And I tend to agree with the ang moh from Britain.

scroobal said:
Performance Motors (BMW) The Ang Mo from Performance Motors who introduced the scheme finally went to jail for corruption.

Did he actually landed in jail for the affair with TTS?

If one has to ask the price then probably one can't afford it :o
I think there are more important priorities in life like food, housing, investment for old age, etc...

I remember when I was in Canada, they were advertising Boxsters for under CAN$100,000. If anyone really wants one they emigrate & get one. Anyway a fast car would be useless in Spore. I often see Ferraris stuck in Orchard Rd's slow traffic:)

I have ex-bosses who drove Porsche, they don't speed and even keep to middle lane on the expressway...think speed is not important to them, they just like the idea of driving Porsche. :)

Ghosh... first you have myo539 who writes incoherent stuff... then you have singveld who thinks differently from everyone else... who says Porsche is unaffordable? Porsche is not in the same league as Lambo and Ferraris... i bet u jokers dont even know the price of a Boxster, Cayman, or 911s... what a bunch of ignorant people!

In a way it is true, my ex-bosses who drove Porsche income is way below the million dollar ministers and still can afford Porsche. But second hand ones though. :)

Of course you didn't see me, you twit! I got tickets, but I wasn't interested because it was simply not my cup of tea to be thrilled with F1 screechings and screamings. I gave them away. Haha, you must be drooling like a boxer!

Free F1 tickets from your PAP masters for doing a good job defending them in SBF..??? :D

Afterall, the ang moh from Britain (see my other thread) said we have one of the best public transport systems in the world! And he is not the only ones praising our system sky high! Thanks to the wisdom of our government!

Afterall, I had experienced taking their Metro and Tube in New York, London or Tokyo. And I tend to agree with the ang moh from Britain.

Of course you would agree with the Ang Moh since you love having a Thick British Sausage shoved inside your mouth every night.. :D:o:D

Ballon payments are good for those with iron rice bowls jobs and who expects their pay cheques to go up with time 100% like govt scholars with the future mapped out....

Besides BMW, Volvo came up with a cash back program that many copied....drive away a car without downpayment with deferred installments payment up to 6 months and also get 20-40k in cash.....technically loaning you money for buying a car. Dunno which scheme is worse....

Performance Motors (BMW) first introduced the scheme ie. ballon payment. It is attractive to those who want a car at all cost but can't afford it under normal hire purchase. It reduces your monthly payment but it does not increase equity. The car does not belong to you as it essentially a long term hire. Its is the worst kind of financing after loan sharks. They were able to do so as MAS deregulated car financing and left it to the Hire Purchase to carry the weight. The Ang Mo from Performance Motors who introduced the scheme finally went to jail for corruption.