• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Interesting places around Shanghai ... anybody ?

Visit the 'remains' of our Suzhou Industrial Park ?

I can think of Suzhou which is north of Shanghai, and Hangzhou, which is south of Shanghai.

Hangzhou can go visit 西湖.

Since yours is a short trip and wanna go beyond Shanghai, can go 周庄.

Just google and see for yourself if you like it or not.

Yah, that's the place to eat the fucking big meat dumpling.:D

Women will try to chat you up at the pubs, just like the pinoys here. Later not careful, kenna chop robert.:D It just one small area, can miss it, imo.

Have you tried Xin Tien Di? Trendy place for yuppies. But oldies oso can go lah.

Old city buildings converted to F&B outlets, like those in Club St and Maxwell rd.

Actually I go SH on Thursday but on Friday in Hangzhou stay one night then back to SH on Sat. Personal trip not ahgong.

Be staying in hotel in front of 西湖

if you feel comfortable in an updated and clean environment for night life, xin tian di is ok. for me, i prefer street food. before they disappear for good, try the night market at wujiang road. it's like a little back alley. the other place for street food is zaoyang lu.

For those who are familiar with Shanghai, what are the interesting places that you would recommend ?

I'm going to spend a few days in Pudong, but thinking of exploring beyond Shanghai.

1. Can take a train or bus to Hangzhou and see the west lake. The journey should not be more than 3 hours.

2. Visit the old towns in Shanghai.

3. Be careful of conmen or conwomen. They will tell u that just like u, they are from outside Shanghai and try to build empathy. For all u know, their house could be down the street.

can try this上海小杨生煎包 which is near the ren min guang chang mrt. very cheap too. i remember its RMB6 for 4 pau.

Clone said:

In case the trip includes a visit to 周庄, do not forget to try 万三蹄 (pig trotters). It is said that in the early days of the Ming Dynasty, 沈万三 was the richest man in China and helped fund many of 朱元璋 's military campaigns. During CNY, his extended family will feast on pig trotters, their special delicacy. Today 万三蹄 can be taken home vacuum packed.

1. Can take a train or bus to Hangzhou and see the west lake. The journey should not be more than 3 hours.

Can save time now la going to Hangzhou by HSR (High Speed Rail) takes only 45mins. From Hongqiao Train Station in Shanghai directly ointo Hangzhou's city center station which is very close to West Lake.

In Shanghai 弄堂 now a days very few so must go see them soon.

can try this上海小杨生煎包 which is near the ren min guang chang mrt. very cheap too. i remember its RMB6 for 4 pau.

Yes this is in 黄河路. When you are in Nanjing West Road (南京西路) at the start of the walking street look back at Park Hotel (国际饭店) a very dark old classic hotel. 黄河路 is just at its side. This is a nice (but not so clean) street with many good food including 上海小杨生煎包 on the left side of the street and 佳家汤包 that I recommended on the right side of the street, in fact they are almost opposite each other.

jw5 said:

3. Be careful of conmen or conwomen. They will tell u that just like u, they are from outside Shanghai and try to build empathy. For all u know, their house could be down the street.

If you are visiting Hangzhou, you should try the 龙井茶 which have several grades, the highest being the imperial grade, then followed by lower grades, using the various stages of a woman's age to represent the quality (e.g. 女儿,姑娘, 媳妇。You can guess which is which) and the age of the tea plant. Of course, the younger the better and is reflected in the pricing. If you ask me, the best tasting tea should be that in the middle where the tea is most ripe. No point going for the most expensive. There are a couple of famous names: 梅家乌 and 虎丘 selling the best tea. The other thing that Hangzhou is famous for is 东坡肉. The famous restaurant that serves this delicacy which melts in the mouth is 楼外楼 next to the lake. There is a copycat called 天外天, which is very different in standard. Don't get confused. If you like silk, Hangzhou is also famous for silk.

Fook Seng you are so knowledgeable with tea. I love 龙井茶 too because of its clarity in look and simplicity in taste a great tea indeed.

Ok here's something about Chinese buying tea in Taiwan. Recently I came back from Taiwan and as you know its now even more opened to Chinese tourists. One very hot item in Chinese tourists' minds is Chinese tea especially Taiwan's 高山茶, teas from the mountain. Taiwanese are very bad because they will sell tea same price as to Taiwanese but in RMB meaning if a tea costs 1,000TWD (S$40) they will say its 1000RMB (S$200). Still its sold out every time. Taiwanese are very daring. But Chinese are very rich. Reason Chinese buying up all the Taiwanese tea is because fake teas are rampant in China as most of the better teas are mostly exported and or real good teas are being taken up be the very rich Chinese. Fake teas are not just fake by the names but are mixed with other dangerous stuffs to make it look like, taste like and smells like the real deal. Also in China now a days say when you visit someone and they want to make tea for you they will feel very proud to tell you that this is Taiwanese tea.

Fook Seng you recommended here about Hangzhou's tea and 东坡肉 and silk you forgot to mention that Hangzhou's ladies are very beautiful and gentle :D. They are very beautiful I find.

If you are visiting Hangzhou, you should try the 龙井茶

龙井 is good stuff.

I like to smell tea, I love the aroma of 龙井.

Yeah dining by 西湖 having 东坡肉 is quite something. ;)

Fook Seng you are so knowledgeable with tea. I love 龙井茶 too because of its clarity in look and simplicity in taste a great tea indeed.

Fook Seng you recommended here about Hangzhou's tea and 东坡肉 and silk you forgot to mention that Hangzhou's ladies are very beautiful and gentle :D. They are very beautiful I find.

龙井 is good stuff.

I like to smell tea, I love the aroma of 龙井.

Yeah dining by 西湖 having 东坡肉 is quite something. ;)

1. bro, bingo!
2. "lun jin" green tea is one of chiney's top 5 tea.
3. normally, i shall directly get the tea leaves from the farmers that plant the tea.
4. honest, it is only the rich that can afford living in shanghai.
5. it is getting too expensive.
6. however, i like visiting the "old" shanghai.
7. just beware of conmen & of course, prc mei meis looking out for sheepishland roberts!

joetys said:
True. Suzhou and Hangzhou are the Paradise on Earth. The girls are pretty but I was told that many pretty ones have moved to Shanghai, a bigger city. You should know since you were there for one year.

西湖 is vastly over-rated. i dont find it nice or scenic at all. but if you are already at hangzhou then might as well look see look see.

True. Suzhou and Hangzhou are the Paradise on Earth. The girls are pretty but I was told that many pretty ones have moved to Shanghai, a bigger city. You should know since you were there for one year.

1. seng kor, beauty on the suzhou gals is very much over-rated leh!
2. honest, they are of course, more demure than most prc mei meis.
3. very very good skin complexion, soft!
4. bonking one is some heaven too.

1. seng kor, beauty on the suzhou gals is very much over-rated leh!
2. honest, they are of course, more demure than most prc mei meis.
3. very very good skin complexion, soft!
4. bonking one is some heaven too.

You have just help me set my next target :D

So far, I have only tried (not counting chickens) Shenyang, Shandong, Hubei, Hebei, Fujian, Shanxi, Anhui. :D

ssrrvv11 said:
西湖 is vastly over-rated. i dont find it nice or scenic at all. but if you are already at hangzhou then might as well look see look see.

To fully appreciate the scenery you must read up or listen to the stories behind each scenic spot.