• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Intelligentsia captures SBF

Joetys,
I would sincerely like to ask you to stay and fight with us. We have a good bastion of free speech in cyberspace, namely this forum. But our forum host is having a mid life crisis and God knows what has gone into him lately. Please stay and help us preserve our way of life as I know you are someone who has his heart in the right place.

This guy is really ungrateful. I contributed a significant amount of information when he was looking to buy a new pickup and now he simply abandons the forum for no other reason than for my trying to help the underdogs here have a say.

Nowhere did I ever say that free speech is being curtailed. Every single post has been allowed to stand. None have been deleted. I have issued no infractions for disagreeing with me. I have deducted no points.

On the other hand, my points have been deducted on 3 occasions over the last 48 hours simply for standing up for the PAP.

You tell me which side of the fence is trying to shut down free speech!!!!:eek: Anti PAP rants dominate this forum on a daily basis. When the pro govt members want to have their say, they're driven out of town by a rabid mob waving pitch forks and torches.

pitchforks-torches-mob.jpg

Lets all cool down as we head towards the new year.

There has been a lot done in jest, there has alot being taken too seriously and the written word is never a good communicator. Satire, sacarsm and playing the devil's advocate has never gone down well in this forum. The intentions are good and there is always a need to for more discussions, checking of the compass and the occasional recaliberation is always a good idea.

Joetys is a rare few that has not only contibuted with his light hearted and life in Bangkok insights as well as other things but has always erred on the side of caution when it comes to confrontation. In simple terms, a descent and nice guy. If we don't look after Joetys of the world, we would not have much to look after. Not many have the thick skin or the motormouth that some of us do. Always a balance.

SBF provides a platform for dissent and retrospect. And the PAP has always had their way and their say. They control the media and they control the general thought process. It would be meaningless to talk about good policies as most can spot a good one a mile off. Its the contentionous and the poor ones that needs to be debated on.

I am sure if we wanted to see and talk about the good side of PAP, we would have signed on to Hardware Zone much earlier. So lets all cool down and take things with a large pinch of salt.

Lets all cool down as we head towards the new year.

I think year 2011 went very well for a great number of reasons. The wars that were started, the fun we all had. I could never have believed this level of participation and the incredible cast of characters was ever possible in an internet forum -- and i've been following this forum for many years.

We have had two elections, GMS getting blasted from all quarters, many new nicks joined that added spice and flavour to the forum, a guy who obsesses about hanging flowers, and then we had Teflon and his air stewardess, brilliant photoshopping by Drifter, and finally Leongsam paying a nick 100 rep pts to write pro PAP material.

If I wanted a series of one-liners from adolescents I'd go HWZ or EDMW. I know why I stick around here.

Damn, how to make 2012 even better than 2011?!

There were a number of attempts. The first was the penetration of individual PCs via Pacific Net and then thru the Singtel. The latter was detected by an NUS female law student and the dumbfuck left MHA calling card in his pen test. This was in late 90s when bulletin boards were big. Then they set up a statboard with the Police No. 2 as CEO. Then they created a second Stat Board to issue digitial certs and that too was closed. That closed down soon after when they realised that they could not control it. Prior to GE 2006, the PAP set up a task force to counter allegations on the net. They also bought Hardware Zone via SPH as it was the most popular forum. The trouble was people began overwhelming the internet with their own blogs and the PAP dumbfucks could not handle people like Yawningbread.

Then they came out with discrete sponsoring of so called "independent" forum with "ex-PAP" and others and TOC was formed. The psychology of group run forums is that it will be a series of compromises because all it takes is a cautious chap and he will tone it down criticisms. They however could not hold onto the reins in a transparent manner and ended up gazetting it. People like Joshua Chiang cannot be reined it. This coupled with general trend of the young who don't buy into fear and communist bogeyman politics put paid to TOC original trajectory.

Sam has always encouraged free speech and he has been consistent on this. He however gets the occasional bouts of the great cross-Tasman ailment of taking the piss out of everyone. He is also an ardent entrepreneur and firmly believes in hard work and diligence. In the first half of SBF history, we all had to listen to his speeches on entrepreneurship and going into business. I am sure many benefitted. With Ho Ching and the govt going overboard on enterprise, the message seem to come from the same souce.

SBF however has never fallen into their hands. SPH made overtures and even did an interview and it did not go well. This was the early years. I am sure that it will continue to be a thorn as long as it remains in Auckland with the same chap.

Hi Scroobal

Don't mind if I ask you something. You're the best person to answer this since you been in this forum for quite awhile now, very knowledgable and politically intellectual as well. I must first say I stand corrected on this but I remember there was a time when after the PAP realised that the internet forums are abuzz and filled almost entirely with negative postings about them, they made a concerted effort to also log onto these forums, probably including this one as well, to do what they call posting their side of the story. But this died down not long after as they couldn't defend their so called side of the story after being slammed by forummers. So they just gave up. If that was really the case, I think we will be seeing history repeating itself if pro PAP samsters wants to revive this, for they won't be able to sustain their postings as they lack substantiating facts. Grateful if you could throw some light on this for benefit of other forummers. Many thanks.

Nowhere did I ever say that free speech is being curtailed. Every single post has been allowed to stand. None have been deleted. I have issued no infractions for disagreeing with me. I have deducted no points.

On the other hand, my points have been deducted on 3 occasions over the last 48 hours simply for standing up for the PAP.

When you play with points in this forum, you gotta understand some people are going to get emotional. Some people are perpetually begging for them, others get into major quarrels over time (frequently the same group of people), and yet others are willing to alter their political views at a drop of a hat in exchange for them.

Never in my life would I have guessed that rep pts can bring out the best and worst in people.

There were a number of attempts. The first was the penetration of individual PCs via Pacific Net and then thru the Singtel. The latter was detected by an NUS female law student and the dumbfuck left MHA calling card in his pen test. This was in late 90s when bulletin boards were big. Then they set up a statboard with the Police No. 2 as CEO. Then they created a second Stat Board to issue digitial certs and that too was closed. That closed down soon after when they realised that they could not control it. Prior to GE 2006, the PAP set up a task force to counter allegations on the net. They also bought Hardware Zone via SPH as it was the most popular forum. The trouble was people began overwhelming the internet with their own blogs and the PAP dumbfucks could not handle people like Yawningbread.

Then they came out with discrete sponsoring of so called "independent" forum with "ex-PAP" and others and TOC was formed. The psychology of group run forums is that it will be a series of compromises because all it takes is a cautious chap and he will tone it down criticisms. They however could not hold onto the reins in a transparent manner and ended up gazetting it. People like Joshua Chiang cannot be reined it. This coupled with general trend of the young who don't buy into fear and communist bogeyman politics put paid to TOC original trajectory.

Sam has always encouraged free speech and he has been consistent on this. He however gets the occasional bouts of the great cross-Tasman ailment of taking the piss out of everyone. He is also an ardent entrepreneur and firmly believes in hard work and diligence. In the first half of SBF history, we all had to listen to his speeches on entrepreneurship and going into business. I am sure many benefitted. With Ho Ching and the govt going overboard on enterprise, the message seem to come from the same souce.

SBF however has never fallen into their hands. SPH made overtures and even did an interview and it did not go well. This was the early years. I am sure that it will continue to be a thorn as long as it remains in Auckland with the same chap.

Many thanks, Scroobal. I knew I could count on you to provide a comprehensive. I wish you all the very best in 2012 and look forward to learning even more from you. Happy New Year, bro!

The like of SPH and MHA will never in their lifetimes figure out what SBF is. Its irony, sarcasm, wit, wry humour, tongue-in-cheek, double entendre, mixed with silliness, cross-dressing, cloning, stalking, and then combined or coupled with hard-hitting logic, inside baseball, flowery prose, cogent arguments, all rolled into one that only the free in spirit can really appreciate.

Pen-pushers working behind a government desk or slavishly following edicts from their higher-ups will never understand. Good for us too. We get to have all the fun while they scratch their heads.

I also noticed something that I have never seen before.

Sam going head to head with TT and Freedalas. I thought it was a really good thread, certainly food for thought. Credit to the 3 of them.

I am sure the next few years will be more interesting as the PAP has not changed its course despite its apology. Ho Ching is still playing pinball with the state funds. The formula remains and the main concern of our identity being drowned by foreigners also remains.

I think year 2011 went very well for a great number of reasons. The wars that were started, the fun we all had. I could never have believed this level of participation and the incredible cast of characters was ever possible in an internet forum -- and i've been following this forum for many years.

We have had two elections, GMS getting blasted from all quarters, many new nicks joined that added spice and flavour to the forum, a guy who obsesses about hanging flowers, and then we had Teflon and his air stewardess, brilliant photoshopping by Drifter, and finally Leongsam paying a nick 100 rep pts to write pro PAP material.

If I wanted a series of one-liners from adolescents I'd go HWZ or EDMW. I know why I stick around here.

Damn, how to make 2012 even better than 2011?!

Dear brothers and some sisters here, many of you know me as an easy going guy living in Bangkok. Many also know I am quite neutral in my postings although I admit I am anti PAP and in Thailand you can consider me a red shirt sympathizer. Many also know me as a guy who don't really fuck care about points or upz or zaps. I come here simply because I enjoy being with many of you.

However it has come to a time when the course of nature is going to be altered and the freedom of expression is being curtailed by threats, I mean to balance the anti-PAP group is itself unfair. So how now, I must be force to speak good about PAP or rather I cannot speak against it if I buay song? Or I have to be a hypocrite and pretend to speak good about it? I have lived my 40 years in Singapore under PAP's threats and I have enough of it. I have found my freedom in Thailand and also in SBF however as SBF is evolving to lower itself like scums a decision needs to be made. I know I am only a small fry here so I may not be affected however as it had broken the very fundamental right of expression I have made a simple decision.

Happy New Year. All the best to you all. Finally, Sawasdee Krup for the last time.

hey bro joe....dun go la. Just ignore these critters. We can still have our own good time here.

The like of SPH and MHA will never in their lifetimes figure out what SBF is. Its irony, sarcasm, wit, wry humour, tongue-in-cheek, double entendre, mixed with silliness, cross-dressing, cloning, stalking, and then combined or coupled with hard-hitting logic, inside baseball, flowery prose, cogent arguments, all rolled into one that only the free in spirit can really appreciate.

Pen-pushers working behind a government desk or slavishly following edicts from their higher-ups will never understand. Good for us too. We get to have all the fun while they scratch their heads.

Best encomium of SBF thus far ;)

When Sam came out with his idea, my instinct was that he was just playing the devil's advocate. I think his real intention is to stir up some dust, disturb the waters, tilt the windmills, generate more vibrancy, rile up the seniors and taunt the gullible.

Otoh, now that I might have exposed his true agenda, he likely will deny he was doing such thing but is adamant to pursue his declared aims otw his strategy will not be effective.

My suggestion is not to award 100 points. That is way too much for one fucking pro-PAP liner. maybe give soemthing like 10 pts at each go, and it can't be oneliners. They must provide some substance for an argument and they must be reasoned out. Otherwise it wld be a farce if I were to post:

"The PAP is the best party to be in govt for the next 100 years" and I get 100 pts??

When Sam came out with his idea, my instinct was that he was just playing the devil's advocate. I think his real intention is to stir up some dust, disturb the waters, tilt the windmills, generate more vibrancy, rile up the seniors and taunt the gullible.

Otoh, now that I might have exposed his true agenda, he likely will deny he was doing such thing but is adamant to pursue his declared aims otw his strategy will not be effective.

My suggestion is not to award 100 points. That is way too much for one fucking pro-PAP liner. maybe give soemthing like 10 pts at each go, and it can't be oneliners. They must provide some substance for an argument and they must be reasoned out. Otherwise it wld be a farce if I were to post:

"The PAP is the best party to be in govt for the next 100 years" and I get 100 pts??

So why deduct points from only some and not all? TT gets minus 10, Scroo, TFBH and yourself not mentioned and I get minus 20? Is there an agenda?

It's by rotation... by passing the hat around. I figured the most liberal minded wouldn't mind giving some points away to help the downtrodden.

The next time "donations" are needed, I'll collect from another group of lefties.

Am I left or right? Is there a list that shows who is on the left or right? Are we talking about the American left? European Left? Or the Aussie left?

It's by rotation... by passing the hat around. I figured the most liberal minded wouldn't mind giving some points away to help the downtrodden.

The next time "donations" are needed, I'll collect from another group of lefties.

Sam has been playing the devil's advocate for a month now. Look at the thread crumbling of Singapore.

The 100 pts thingie however was not really funny and tends to yank people the wrong way. The thread on redistributing points fell flat on its face the moment it started. The regulars tended to stay away from it, you notice.

You have made your point (pun intended). I believe you wanted to demonstrate that the Robin Hood approach to welfare is wrong, and you carried out your demonstration by threatening to deduct points from high flyers.

Coincidentally, that misses the point. What TracyTan and others have been advocating is not a Robin Hood approach, but simply a fairer economic model for Singapore in the rules are not so skewed toward favouring the rich and elites, and in which the underclass are given a better social net so they have a chance at life too.

Leongsam said:

Even a "newbie" like me need to be deducted points?