French News says DDR4 RAM in 2012 3D silicon archetecture - any better translation?

uncleyap

http://www.tablette-tactile.net/actualite-generale/les-prochaines-memoires-seront-cubiques-114037/

[h=1]Les prochaines mémoires seront cubiques ![/h]

<center> </center>

La mémoire est un composant essentiel de tout ordinateur et donc de toute tablette. Ses performances : vitesse et consommation électrique sont pour beaucoup dans la constitution d’une machine réussie, ou pas. Pour 2012, IBM annonce une révolution, la mémoire HMC, le premier circuit « vraiment » en 3D.

http://babelfish.yahoo.com/translat...-cubiques-114037/&lp=fr_en&btnTrUrl=Translate

[h=1]The next memories will be cubic![/h]

<center> </center>

The memory is an essential component of any computer and thus of any shelf. Its performances: speed and electricity consumption are for much in the constitution of a successful machine, or not. For 2012, IBM announces a revolution, memory HMC, the first circuit “really” in 3D.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DDR4_SDRAM
This article is about DDR4 SDRAM. For graphics DDR4, see GDDR4.

The first DDR4 memory module was manufactured by Samsung and announced in January 2011.

In computing, DDR4 SDRAM, an abbreviation for double data rate type four synchronous dynamic random-access memory, is a type of dynamic random-access memory (DRAM) with a high bandwidth interface currently under development and expected to be released to market in 2012. As a "next generation" successor to DDR3 SDRAM, it is one of several variants of DRAM used since the early 1970s.[SUP][citation needed][/SUP] It is not directly compatible with any earlier type of random access memory (RAM) due to different signaling voltages, timings, physical interface and other factors.
DDR4 itself is a DRAM interface specification. Its primary benefits compared to DDR3 include a higher range of clock frequencies and data transfer rates (2133–4266 MT/s compared to DDR3's 800–2133[SUP][1][/SUP][SUP][2][/SUP]) and significantly lower voltage (1.2 - 1.05 V for DDR4,[SUP][2][/SUP] compared to 1.5 – 1.2 V for DDR3). DDR4 also anticipates a change in topology – it discards dual and triple channel approaches in favor of point-to-point where each channel in the memory controller is connected to a single module.[SUP][2][/SUP][SUP][3][/SUP] Switched memory banks are also an anticipated option for servers.[SUP][2][/SUP]

[TABLE="class: toc"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD] [h=2]Contents[/h]

[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

http://www.ddr4.org/
As of the time of this writing, DDR4 is still in its design phase. While there is some information available about it, the chip is still a ways from being ready to be released to the public. This site has some details both on the expected timing of DDR4 availability, as well as projected details on the memory itself.

Expected release and development phase

As of the time this page was prepared, the expectation was for the DDR4 release to take place in 2015, Lord willing. Previously, it had been scheduled for 2012, but the timing has now been pushed back significantly. The first public announcement about this new type of memory was made in 2008. That occurred in San Francisco, at the Intel Developer Forum.

After initially being revealed, a move forward was taken in the second month of 2009, as a 40 nm DRAM chip was validated by Samsung. This was considered as a step in the direction of having DDR4 produced. At the time, DRAM chips were only migrating to 50 nm, so 40 nm was progress. Then, in January of 2011, a completed 30 nm DDR4 chip was mentioned by the same company. It was to undergo testing, and is noted as being a 2GB module, that can reach over 2 billion transfers per second, and uses 1.2V of energy.

About DDR4 SDRAM

I look at the speed figures DAMN FAST! 2133–4266 Million Transfer per second! So Shiok!

Re: French News says DDR4 RAM in 2012 3D silicon archetecture - any better translatio

oh i thought bro RAM in 2012 going for 3D silicon implants to enhance breast size and shape ....pai seh pai seh. :(

Re: French News says DDR4 RAM in 2012 3D silicon archetecture - any better translatio

oh i thought bro RAM in 2012 going for 3D silicon implants to enhance breast size and shape ....pai seh pai seh. :(

No unler-stand French Roti leh..:p

But you are talking French Pao...:eek::rolleyes::*:

:D

Memory Chips are gay and people interested SemipCon industry are even more gay! No money are to be made in this cut throat industry where they are cannibalising each other! The real money is in Financial Services! Uncle Yap is definitely gay :oIo::oIo:

not in Financial Services ....but in Funeral Services.

Who are you gonna Muay Thai to death ?

Memory Chips are gay and people interested SemipCon industry are even more gay! No money are to be made in this cut throat industry where they are cannibalising each other! The real money is in Financial Services! Uncle Yap is definitely gay :oIo::oIo:

uncle...see 666's reply to you. How about we gang together and do suicide mission and fight this mighty warrior ?

I already made my will so i am prepared.

No unler-stand French Roti leh..:p

But you are talking French Pao...:eek::rolleyes::*:

:D

Actually the real breakthrough will be in future when they replaced Si as the basic semi-conducting material with wider bandgap material like GaAs or GaN. i know they have being talking about it since my pri sch days almost 20 years ago. but i have a feeling it will really happen soon within these 10 years, we are seeing GaN getting more and more popular in optoelectronic usage - LED and blue laser, blue -ray.

but doing that will require a complete drastic change to current platform for many things....

Actually the real breakthrough will be in future when they replaced Si as the basic semi-conducting material with wider bandgap material like GaAs or GaN. i know they have being talking about it since my pri sch days almost 20 years ago. but i have a feeling it will really happen soon within these 10 years, we are seeing GaN getting more and more popular in optoelectronic usage - LED and blue laser, blue -ray.

You moronic dumbass

Any non-retard knows that the future of technology is Quantum Computing and I have known this since kindergarten!

IBM's new future: Quantum computing
Will IBM's last 100 years be remembered as its best?
By Patrick Thibodeau
June 16, 2011 09:23 AM ET6 Comments.Computerworld - IBM is marking its 100th anniversary by celebrating its record in technology innovation. It created dynamic RAM, the disk drive and the magnetic strips used on credit cards, among many other inventions. It is one of the most inventive companies in the world.

But the computing industry is moving to a new future as disruptive and as radical as the era that began with the introduction of silicon chips, and that future is quantum computing. These are systems that use the behavior of subatomic particles to conduct calculations now performed with transistors on a chip.

This future may be anywhere from 10 to 20 or more years away. But if the potential of quantum computing is fully realized, it may trigger a development rush in chip and hardware design reminiscent of what Silicon Valley experienced decades ago.

"Think about the game changer we're now approaching," said Bernard Meyerson, IBM's vice president of innovation and a fellow at the company. It's Meyerson's job to help make sure that IBM's last 100 years aren't remembered as its best ones. That's one of the reasons he talks about the changes in the chip world.

i am talking about feasible technology that can be market straight away.

the paper or article you quote is for general public interest, in another word talking cock. if i were you i would not dare to take this article out to shoot. this very much shows that you are not well educated in science field. for your info, i know the top people in singapore in this field, i was taught by him.

quantum computing of using atoms as transistor is a great idea, but not feasible due to current leaks issue when size of transistor fall below 10nm. In another word reducing the size is no longer the way to go. Current in lab, we have already tested the smallest possible transistor that could be build using electrical signal for triggering the binary code to be read by computer. the only possible way for quantum computer to be build, which currently in concept should work is via boson-einstein condensate observation of atoms at near 0K. where the 1 and 0 signal is being triggered by the distinct distribution of the atoms, those in the lowest quantum state or not. there is no place on earth that is at 0K except on lab where atoms are being cooled using lasering and magnetic field.

DDR4 RAM won't arrive till late 2013 or 2014 at the earliest.

And even if it has arrived, the first batches of memory modules always have high latency and are overly expensive.

Furthermore, mainstream adoption of a new RAM standard will be further delayed with limited chipsets supporting it.

Mainstream adoption of DDR4 RAM will only come in 2015-2016.

A similar trend was seen in the switch from DDR2 to DDR3.

uncle...see 666's reply to you. How about we gang together and do suicide mission and fight this mighty warrior ?

I already made my will so i am prepared.

I don't waste time with this dog, he is obviously a retard revenging against some gays who gangbang his backside. Very sore you can see. Even memory chips also will be considered gay to him. Trust me even IMH medicine are all unhelpful to him. Too Jiak Lat case liao.:(

but doing that will require a complete drastic change to current platform for many things....

Let the silicon foundry go figure that out wearing their space suits in clean rooms. :D

We just think about how to nicely utilise there products. As it is we can see DDR3 less than @S$10/GB - about @S$7.5 today. During the DRAM crisis caused by USA imposing quota against Japs DRAM makers it was about US$50K/GB. A full frame server memory board approx 60cmX60cm was 1GB those days can buy a very nice car.

Now @S$7.50 so shiok!

:)

Let the silicon foundry go figure that out wearing their space suits in clean rooms. :D

We just think about how to nicely utilise there products. As it is we can see DDR3 less than @S$10/GB - about @S$7.5 today. During the DRAM crisis caused by USA imposing quota against Japs DRAM makers it was about US$50K/GB. A full frame server memory board approx 60cmX60cm was 1GB those days can buy a very nice car.

Now @S$7.50 so shiok!

:)

lol its in my nature as i am in science field

..spastic post snipped..

You retarded gay dog :oIo:

You are lucky I don't beat up senior citizens like you!:oIo::oIo:

You retarded gay dog :oIo:

You are lucky I don't beat up senior citizens like you!:oIo::oIo:

Grow up PAppy dog! So childish. You made famiLEE LEEgime very Maluh!:*::D

DDR4 RAM won't arrive till late 2013 or 2014 at the earliest.

And even if it has arrived, the first batches of memory modules always have high latency and are overly expensive.

Furthermore, mainstream adoption of a new RAM standard will be further delayed with limited chipsets supporting it.

Mainstream adoption of DDR4 RAM will only come in 2015-2016.

A similar trend was seen in the switch from DDR2 to DDR3.

Can not be so late lah.

You are saying 2013/15/15/16... I observed the intervals of pass motherboard DDR replacments from 2 decades ago, DDR3 already in market for steady 1 yr. So I anticipate DDR4 next year.;)

Do you know that they had been in use on ATI N-vidia graphics card since 2007, (engineering in 2005) example this:

http://www.trustedreviews.com/ATI-HD-2900-XT-1024MB-DDR4_PC-Component_review
Sapphire HD 2900 XT 1024MB DDR4 review
94|ec5d9a|b8cc_orh175w300_5161-IMG7686aas.jpg

More photos

Leave a comment

[h=2]TrustedReviews says[/h] It seems ATI made the right decision when it chose not to ship HD 2900 XTs with 1024MB of memory. While doubling the memory quota does improve performance by a small margin, it is nowhere near enough to justify the increase in cost the extra memory would have demanded.

94|8b7e41|6c6e_orh40w40_ed.jpg

Reviewed by Edward Chester 14 August 2007

<noscript> </noscript>

[h=3]Sapphire HD 2900 XT 1024MB DDR4[/h] If you cast your minds back to before the flooding and general disappointment that we British proudly call our summer, you may recall Riyad's review of the HD 2900 XT - ATI's current flagship graphics card. Among the in depth technical explanations and myriads of graphs there was one little nugget of information that led to a few raised eyebrows both in our office and among technology enthusiasts around the world. Even though the card can use up to 1GB of RAM, ATI was choosing to limit the quota to 512MB, for retail boards. One gig boards were available for OEMs and ODMs, for integration into specialist systems, but the general public weren't going to be able to pick them up in the shops.

The reason given for this was that by reducing the amount of on-board memory, the cost of each card could be kept down, while having a minimum impact on performance. However, although we could see the logic in this decision, it still seemed strange not to allow the option, even if the extra cost didn't give a significant boost in performance. Well, luckily for us all, ATI's board partners have seen the merit of providing such an option to us lowly masses and HD 2900 XTs sporting 1,024MB of memory can now be found from many of the usual outlets.

ec5d9a|0d63_5161-IMG7686aas.jpg

Uncle Yap,

You are wrong. The GDDR RAM on a video card is not the same as your normal DDR RAM memory modules.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GDDR

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=56318

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/168

I read this and essentially it say that GDDR are more overclocked by pumping up supply voltage and clock-rates. Essentially they are same in terms of class of data timing diagram.

memgrade04.gif

This is example of burst-mode timing diagram. Each class of memory product have a specification in terms of their operation timing. There are diagrams of different operating modes R/W/burst/refresh etc.

DRAM makers will package their products into DDR & GDDR call them different part numbers & went into different test requirements @ different prices. But in broad categories they are the same class which divided apart from e.g. DDR3 & DDR2 especially in speed performance.

To address the other area is the technological changes happens between 2007 and 2011/2 so it is going to be in .32 or .34 microns instead of the older 2007 process. Supply voltage is going to be lower, speed faster. Also as pointed out in that French news they physical silicon structure is going 3D, rather than as monolithic as 2007, increasing the density. Lastly the price will be different than 2007.:D That is Very Important. I am not going to pay the 2007 prices.;)

2011 is so disappointing for computer. that sandy bridge e is such a lack down. i want to upgrade from my 12gb x58 4gHz oc + ssd + gtx285 sli+ 30 inch lcd bought several year ago, but i do not see anything that will smoke my present computer. better yes, blow my com, nothing.

pc world come on, i have 10k to spend on my next computer, money is yours, you got to give me something is much better. like 4K monitor, 6 ghz octo core, 1tb ssd etc