• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Nanbeh pay some more...

SINGAPORE: Most owners will have to pay more in property tax for their HDB flats in 2012. This comes after the annual values of HDB flats are revised upwards with effect from 1 January 2012 to reflect the rise in market values.

The annual values are used as a basis to compute the property tax payable.

The government will give a one-off rebate of S$55 to owner-occupied HDB flats to mitigate the increase in the property tax payable, especially for lower- and middle-income households.

94% of all HDB flat owners would enjoy the rebate.

The remaining 6% would not qualify for the rebate as they are not owner-occupied and will be taxed at 10% of the annual value.

Those in one- and two-room HDB flats will continue to pay zero property tax in 2012.

With the rebate, owner-occupiers of three-room flats will pay up to S$41, which is S$5 more than in 2011.

For four- and five-room flats, the tax is between S$77 and S$173, which is S$5 to S$29 more than in 2011.

The Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (IRAS) reviews the annual values of all properties including HDB flats annually.

The annual values of all HDB flats were last revised on 1 January 2010, taking into account the changes in market rents in 2009. They were not revised in 2011 as the increase in HDB market rents in the preceding year was small.

Taking 2010 and 2011 together, market rents have risen by around 20%-28%. Accordingly, the annual values of all HDB flats will be revised from 1 January 2012.

- CNA/ir

My friend told me over kopi.....

1. 6% not owner occupied, that means rented out to earn rental income. 10% of AV means 1.2 months of rental income kenna as property tax:confused: Means property tax is deductible against the rental income giving rise to a tax benefit which is dependent on the individual's Marginal Tax Rate:confused:

2. Owner occupied pay property tax, but don't derive any tax benefit because no rental income to deduct against.

Now I know why, public housing got to go up and up. And a finance lease is called my property:o

SINGAPORE: Most owners will have to pay more in property tax for their HDB flats in 2012. This comes after the annual values of HDB flats are revised upwards with effect from 1 January 2012 to reflect the rise in market values.

The annual values are used as a basis to compute the property tax payable.

The government will give a one-off rebate of S$55 to owner-occupied HDB flats to mitigate the increase in the property tax payable, especially for lower- and middle-income households.

94% of all HDB flat owners would enjoy the rebate.

The remaining 6% would not qualify for the rebate as they are not owner-occupied and will be taxed at 10% of the annual value.

- CNA/ir

everyday pay and pay more and more but get less and less - less sugar, less milk and less kopi...nan beh!!!

Don't need sugar or milk lah. Don't grind the coffee beans even cheaper. :)

everyday pay and pay more and more but get less and less - less sugar, less milk and less kopi...nan beh!!!

Haha, reminds me of the slogan, "MORE GOOD YEARS". That slogan was absolutely true. What are you going to do. Quietly pay lah.. Bo pian.
Cheerios to my fellow Singaporeans. Merry Xmas

dont use water better just chew the coffee beans ;)

lianbeng heard that it was a camel in some arab countries that discovered coffee when it accidentally chewed on some coffee berries in a plantation.:D the 'power' of that berry made the camel walked for long hours without feeling tired.:rolleyes:

I just receive my property tax bill. Just hope it isn't increased again(re-assessed upwards) like it was last year.

Last year after I paid the property tax, they sent me another revised bill a few months latter:mad: Still angry about it :o

lianbeng heard that it was a camel in some arab countries that discovered coffee when it accidentally chewed on some coffee berries in a plantation.:D the 'power' of that berry made the camel walked for long hours without feeling tired.:rolleyes:

really ? lucky the camel never chew on weeds confirm lazy ;)

SINGAPORE: Most owners will have to pay more in property tax for their HDB flats in 2012.

owners? i always thought Sinkee only lease the HDB pigeon holes for 99 years :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

really ? lucky the camel never chew on weeds confirm lazy ;)

lianbeng can imagine that scenario..."the camel was on its way to dunnoe where in the usual hot n sleepy desert when its master let it rest in some cool shades n it began looking for leaves...then it saw some berries hanging on some branches and wondered what they were, sniffing at them, and started chewing the berries...oohh...:eek:turbo power turned on liao...nice and fragrant coffee in a hot sleepy desert...finally awakened from its zombie state.":D

I just receive my property tax bill. Just hope it isn't increased again(re-assessed upwards) like it was last year.

Last year after I paid the property tax, they sent me another revised bill a few months latter:mad: Still angry about it :o

They tell you that SINgapore have the lowest tax rate on planet earth, but they didn't tell you, you open your eyes each morning, the tax you every which way you turn.

Thank the 60% who just love getting rammed in the behind all the time & getting the 40% into the act also!..thank you!

They tell you that SINgapore have the lowest tax rate on planet earth, but they didn't tell you, you open your eyes each morning, the tax you every which way you turn.

Thank the 60% who just love getting rammed in the behind all the time & getting the 40% into the act also!..thank you!

It looks like it's time to pay the piper, again :(

If the PAP don't watch out their geese will be cooked in the next election. I can't believe that 60% figure. Very fishy, maybe some kelong is involved:confused:

It looks like it's time to pay the piper, again :(

If the PAP don't watch out their geese will be cooked in the next election. I can't believe that 60% figure. Very fishy, maybe some kelong is involved:confused:

What Kelong!, your 'kelong' is involved, you stay there, they assumed you lease it out to some 'ah tiong' etc. if you paying that kind of rates, you might as well lease it out! ha ha ha :D and don't tell them.

You don't pay them now, your 'goose' will be cokked, wait they send you threathening letters, but don't worry, they give you a 'balm' that is worth S$55, so smile & be happy & their leader in the next election will once again " I am so sorry"; but they screw you very hard from now till then.

"I am so sorry" you property tax rates had be revised again....enjoy! more GOod years!!:D

yes , sinkies tax burden is actually very high. :mad:

owners? i always thought Sinkee only lease the HDB pigeon holes for 99 years :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
When I fully paid for my pigeon hole, HDB asked me to go down to collect a piece of old paper. (Pai Say keep forgeting what is the name of the paper). In the paper, it list of the previous owner and the dates of purchase and purchase price. This piece of paper suppose to proof ownership of the pigeonhole but realise cannot even remortgage my own fully paid pigeonhole.

So you are right, no one other than HDB owns the pigeonholes. We are only renting pigeon holeslong term from the HDB.