Civil Serpents get 1.75 month bonus. Deserve or not?

Singapore’s 76,000 civil servants will get a total of 1.75 months end-of-year bonus this year, said the Public Service Division (PSD) on Thursday.

The payout comprises of the 13th-month payment and an additional 0.75 month payout. The latter, the annual variable component (AVC), was decided after the PSD took into account the 5.4 per cent economic growth in the first three quarters of 2011 and the overall growth forecast for the year, said PSD in a statement.

The news comes amid a gloomy global economic outlook, with Singapore predicting sharply lower economic growth of around 5 per cent this year and a further slowdown to between 1 and 3 per cent next year.

“Near-term growth could be affected by easing global demand and heightened economic and financial uncertainties especially due to the Eurozone debt crisis and sluggish growth in the advanced economies,” noted PSD.

Unlike last year where civil servants received up to 1.6 months of Growth Bonus, there will be no such bonus this year as it is only given out when the economy registers strong economic growth.

Civil servants also received two months bonus payout, comprising of a month's salary for an AVC and another month for the 13th-month payment, at the end of last year, when the economy grew by 14.5 per cent.

In July this year, civil servants received a mid-year bonus of half-a-month's salary and $250 after a strong economic performance in the first quarter. The one-off cash payment of $250 was given based on the National Wages Council recommendation to assist low-wage workers with rising price.

Then, the PSD said the government would decide on the year-end bonus for civil servants after considering the Republic's economic performance in the second half of 2011.

Of course, you twit! Our tireless servants have worked hard growing the economy by 5% this year! Of course they need to be rewarded for their indefatigable spirit and forward looking vision. Why, how else would they be able to cope with the 6% inflation this year?

Did someone say real GDP growth is negative? :rolleyes:

Not their fault! The service is independent of the economy, nothing to do with it at all. Let's be fair ok? They also got kids and housing mortgages, so what if the economy gostan this year? We must be fair.

if the PAP didn't buy the civil servants support, they might have a problem winning elections :rolleyes:

i was a civil servant and i vote against pap then. for all the civil servant that vote against them, i would like t speak for them.

"FUCK U"

this is the message we would like to pass to you

1.75 mth a lot meh? pity those civil peasants. those high level got a lot more!!!

i was a civil servant and i vote against pap then. for all the civil servant that vote against them, i would like t speak for them.

"FUCK U"

this is the message we would like to pass to you

So now you speak for all civil servants:confused:

What makes you think civil servants are not influence by $. Just because you quit there are others who are more ambitious or scared to rock the boat. You must be real naive to think anyone is going to tell you their true intentions :rolleyes:

I pity my neighbourhood postman, rain or shine still work.

And the ah neh and his son who send "Today" papers for my fishbones.

I also met one hdb admin supervisor who is very compassionate and helpful.

I think for the civil servants on the ground who do real work deserves more:cool:

1.75 mth a lot meh? pity those civil peasants. those high level got a lot more!!!

I think for the civil servants on the ground who do real work deserves more:cool:

sorry then, its the porlumpar and the top fella get all the bonus. those field man get peanuts.

Singapore’s 76,000 civil servants will get a total of 1.75 months end-of-year bonus this year, said the Public Service Division (PSD) on Thursday.

interesting to note that civil servants also pay income tax, so they are paying part of their salaries to themselves... so what is this 1.75 month bonus about? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

So now you speak for all civil servants:confused:

What makes you think civil servants are not influence by $. Just because you quit there are others who are more ambitious or scared to rock the boat. You must be real naive to think anyone is going to tell you their true intentions :rolleyes:

my english wasn't that good, but i think you have a serious problem with comprehension. READ AGAIN,

" for all the civil servant that vote against them, i would like t speak for them."

which part of this statement equate to "So now you speak for all civil servants"

lan jiao understand? FUCK U AGAIN

Well done son, like father like son. I voted against PAP when I was in police too. 1.75 months isn't much but always expected something like that just after election. The highest bonus is just before election. ;)

This is a fact. The poor civil servants deserve much better than what is being offered - "peanuts" so to speak.
These low level civil servants are truly the servants of the people.
They are not paid millions and scrape out a living
They pay all the other daily expenses which you and me pay.
They have mouths to feed and mortagages to service.
They have to work for the government of the day BUT that does not mean that they support the government and Vote for them.
Voting Is a Secret. This is my assurance. No one knows who you vote for.
Who knows members of the Ruling Party may also be voting for the Opposition in their own constituencies.
SO PLEASE SUPPORT OUR CIVIL SERVANTS FOR THEY ARE THE TRUE SERVANTS AND NOT OTHERS WHO CALIM TO BE SO.

I think Ok leh, no more iron rice bowl for them liao.

SO PLEASE SUPPORT OUR CIVIL SERVANTS FOR THEY ARE THE TRUE SERVANTS AND NOT OTHERS WHO CALIM TO BE SO.

The Spore gov't aka PAP is the largest employer in Spore & I suspect it's because the "civil servants" voted for them. Theoretically civil servants are independant & can vote for whoever they want but this is Spore & there is always the fear that your boss will find out who you voted for :rolleyes:

Theoretically civil servants are independant & can vote for whoever they want but this is Spore & there is always the fear that your boss will find out who you voted for :rolleyes:

last heard the ISD was looking into the teaching fraternity :D:D:D
they even thought the younger teachers are against the establishment :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

good to note that not all civil servants voted for the PAP, can i just support those folks only? :D:D:D

They are technically not civil servants. HDB is a offloaded from the Ministry of National Development and called a stat board. So those people there are not civil serpents as they do not work for the govt. of Singapore.

The Spore gov't aka PAP is the largest employer in Spore & I suspect it's because the "civil servants" voted for them. Theoretically civil servants are independant & can vote for whoever they want but this is Spore & there is always the fear that your boss will find out who you voted for :rolleyes:

This is true, there are some cases I have been told in the civil service when somehow, your supervisor knows whether u voted for PAP or not. This is especially true for super scale levels.

Well done son, like father like son. I voted against PAP when I was in police too. 1.75 months isn't much but always expected something like that just after election. The highest bonus is just before election. ;)

When the economy go down, they must give back their prior years bonus or not. No clawback right? So, its just a one way system that keeps going up.