Minister & Sports Star - Disgracefull

<tbody>
[TD="class: msgtxt"] See the bold and underlined below.

Since 1959, I can't recall a single Minister or Minister of State ever rushing to garland a Singapore born Gold Medalist and we even had Chee Swee Lee winning the Asian Games Gold Medal.

This fucking women is from PRC and its only the SEA Games. I am sure the fact that her cousin is famous around the world must have played a part.

Come 2016, we shall see if this arsehole is going to rush around somemore.

04:45 AM Nov 21, 2011 SINGAPORE - The badminton gold medal Fu Mingtian captured in the women's singles at the 26th SEA Games in Jakarta on Saturday is clearly modest compared to what her more famous cousin Fu Mingxia has achieved.

China's diving legend Mingxia won four Olympic golds and two world titles.

She retired after the Sydney Olympics in 2000 and is 33 today.

At 21, Singapore's Fu still has a long way to go before any thoughts of her own retirement.

And after making history by becoming the first Singapore woman to win a singles gold in badminton at the SEA Games, Fu is chasing Olympic success.

She was greeted by a rousing welcome from around 200 supporters at Changi Airport's Terminal 3 yesterday.

After the hugs, pats on the back, handshakes and photos, the mood calmed down a little for her to say: "I just want to focus on next year. That is my target now and I will fight like I did on Saturday to qualify for the Games."

While many of the world's top shuttlers were missing from the SEA Games, the manner in which Fu kept her focus at match point down in the third game against home favourite Adriyanti Firdasari in the final, amidst the cackling din of the home crowd, impressed so many.

Fu says she will ask her famous cousin for advice and inspiration.

Now married and a mother of three, Mingxia, who currently stays in Hong Kong, has been kept up to date with Fu's progress.

"I called my mum after winning the gold on Saturday and I'm sure my parents told her about it," said Fu. "She's my idol and I want to become like her some day. It has been my dream to become an Olympic champion like her but I still need to improve a lot.

"She comes to meet me whenever I am in Hong Kong and there will be plenty to talk about the next time I am there."

The next big test for the world No 26 will be the China Open in Shanghai, which begins tomorrow.

Fu is scheduled to face Japan's Sayaka Sato, ranked 10 rungs above her, in Round 1 on Wednesday. Should she get past the Japanese, India's Saina Nehwal (world No 4) or Joo Bae Youn (No 10) of South Korea will be next.

Fu believes her biggest rival is none other than herself.

"I will take to Shanghai the same attitude I took to Indonesia. I have to keep my composure if I am to advance to each round, and I will take each game as it comes and fight for every point and game," she said.

Singapore Badminton Association president Lee Yi Shyan, who rushed overnight from a trip to Malacca to greet the country's latest star with a garland at the airport, was impressed by Fu's mental fortitude in the critical moment in the final.

"What she has demonstrated is the rare quality of being calm and collected at the very critical moment," said Lee, the Minister of State for Trade and Industry and National Development.

"Most players would have caved in, which is normal. But what distinguishes top players from the rest is their ability to stay focus that few seconds longer. This is the quality I want our other players to have."

[/TD]

</tbody>

Good leaders win respect the hard, old-fashioned way. By being there for their people day in and day out. Attempts at cheap publicity will only lower their estimation in the eyes of many.

Haha. If there was a hairy 350 pound 7 foot tall Punjab born medal winner in wrestling, I wonder who will the first to rush back and garland the fella.

everybody loves a winner ..... especially those who have a political bent.

It just confirms these buggers chiak liau bee lah.
Doing fcuk all office hours - writing books etc etc

Haha. If there was a hairy 350 pound 7 foot tall Punjab born medal winner in wrestling, I wonder who will the first to rush back and garland the fella.

There is name that comes to mind, but it would politically incorrect to mention the name, give you a hint " nerves".

People's Republic of China 1 - Indonesia 0, and that is South East Asian Games!!. This is a PRC convert, not even born in SINgapore, a minister rush from Malacca just to congratulate her! what is this country going to...???:mad:

we gonna stop having politicians helming the sports association for the goodness of the sports.

KNN...since when politics & sports mix? yah...once..ping pong diplomacy.

we gonna stop having politicians helming the sports association for the goodness of the sports.

KNN...since when politics & sports mix? yah...once..ping pong diplomacy.

They have already got themselves in the 'soup' in the past, "zorro limp" " Jamban Li" now another "li", don't they ever learn or they are so damn arrogant thinking that this won't affect them or the people just don't care!! This Fu is from PRC...not a SINgapoe born.

The real reason you and I are angry about this episode is very simple.

Singapore gave this girl the chance to excel in her forte and in this lengthy and verbose exchange, she mentioned nothing about "how grateful she is to Singapore for giving her the chance to represent Singapore, blah blah blah." Where are her manners?

Can't even bother to wayang? You know how many PR flacks are hired by the SG Govt everywhere? So basic also cannot manage? 全都是饭桶!狗奴才!

... Singapore Badminton Association president Lee Yi Shyan, who rushed overnight from a trip to Malacca to greet the country's latest star with a garland at the airport, ...
yeah! ... kpi target achieved! ... another 8th mths bonus cumming! ...

What the fuck is he doing in Malacca, shouldn't he be in Jakarta, when the finals are played?

Why he have to give the garland at the airport?

What the fuck is he doing in Malacca, shouldn't he be in Jakarta, when the finals are played?

Singapore's biggest whores....they will do anything for S$.:oIo:

Our 4x100m running team were within a whisker of a gold medal.. In the end they won a Silver for their efforts, being beaten by a hairline margin by the Indonesian team.. The team consisted of 3 local Chinese and a local Malay.. 4 true Blue Sporeans who did the country proud against all odds.. Nobody expected them to even win a medal in the 4x100 relay final but they surpassed all expectations.. Why no fucktard PAP Minister to garland them..??? :mad: :*:

These Young Men of Spore Made me Proud.. I'm more Proud of their Silver Than Fu Mingtian's Gold medal..Well Done Boys..Well Done..

The PAP is so frightened that the xenophobic groundswell will scare off the FTs that all their cabinet ministers will spare no effort to salvage their policy in front of foreigners.

truly only in S'pore is the foreigner first, Singaporean last.

Good leaders win respect the hard, old-fashioned way. By being there for their people day in and day out. Attempts at cheap publicity will only lower their estimation in the eyes of many.

I saw that too ! Really shameless sometimes. The next charity show is also going to be this way too. Just piggyback mah. Cheap advert.

ai yo he faster 1 2 licck her pussy liao ... i give u garland u let me lick yr pussy ... understand!!! :D

Our 4x100m running team were within a whisker of a gold medal.. In the end they won a Silver for their efforts, being beaten by a hairline margin by the Indonesian team.. The team consisted of 3 local Chinese and a local Malay.. 4 true Blue Sporeans who did the country proud against all odds.. Nobody expected them to even win a medal in the 4x100 relay final but they surpassed all expectations.. Why no fucktard PAP Minister to garland them..??? :mad: :*:

These Young Men of Spore Made me Proud.. I'm more Proud of their Silver Than Fu Mingtian's Gold medal..Well Done Boys..Well Done..

this was damn fucking close, i am proud of that silver won!

Singaporeans have won quite some worthy trophies and medals before. No ministers went to airport to greet or garland them. It's a privilege only for FTs.

You know why? Singaporeans are taken for granted. FTs went through a process of scouting that's endorsed and funded by the ministry directly. When they hit any success, the minister takes the trouble to show the whole Singapore and the world that his decision on the selection was correct. Singaporeans? Bleah!