• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Australia VS lowlife sinkieland.

You can tell straight away that Aussieland has a better quality of life that respect human being and their rights..

http://willwen.blogspot.com/2007/05/australia-vs-singapore.html

Wenty's brother called us last night, apparently he has a dilemma. He doesn't know whether it will be better for him to stay and settle in Singapore or migrate to Australia. We had no answers for him, just some perspectives. A man's trash is another man's treasure, this applies to location as well. Everyone is different, some people triumph in certain environment, others do better in different environment.

What we can do though is look at both countries objectively, look at a few important characteristics. The importance of each characteristic will depend on your priorities and what you want in life. Please note that many of the comparisons are coming from a very narrow view of a normal salary earner in IT industry with a Chinese ethnic background, and is in no way universal. Also note that I only lived in Singapore for some 20 months and that was over 5 years ago, my observation/comparison might be outdated or not completely accurate.

Work:
Australia: Higher salaries, better environment (shorter hours and more leaves), workers have more rights. Howard is doing his best to take them away though.
Singapore: Easier to find professional work, pretty much everyone I know who went there found a job in very short time. Bonuses can be very good in good times and can make up for the lower base salaries.

Housing:
Australia: Much cheaper, both in actual prices and annual property taxes. This is when you compare apple to apple, eg. private apt vs private apt, landed properties vs landed properties of similar size, not average houses here vs hdb flats there.
Singapore: Lower mortgage interest rate.

Food:
Australia: Has authentic foods from all over the world, by authentic I mean the chefs who prepare them are either from those countries or descendant of migrants from there.
Singapore: Cheap 'kopitiam' foods are everywhere! The local dishes (mee pok, katong laksa, fish head curries, chilly crab, stingray etc, damn mentioning them make me hungry) are best to be had locally.

House chores:
Australia: Labor is expensive, you have to do everything yourselves unless you are filthy rich!
Singapore: Indonesian maids can be hired at ~S$300 (plus another $300 to government) a month.

Transport:
Australia: Car is cheap, public transport is nowhere near Singapore's quality, taxi drivers are hopelessly rude and don't know their way.
Singapore: Superb public transport, cheap taxis, owning your own car is bloody expensive though.

Health care:
Australia: Everyone (citizens and PRs) is covered by Medicare. Waiting list can be long for non life threatening surgeries under public system though so many people have private health insurance anyway.
Singapore: Follow American system. Afaik, no such thing as public health care. Health insurance is normally provided by employers.

Government:
Australia: Democratic government, freedom of speech, people can openly criticize and complain against the government of the day without fear of reprisals.
Singapore: Virtually one party system, autocratic government. Heavily censored/government controlled media.

Crime Rate:
Australia: Pretty safe, I have never been robbed/assaulted/burglared in my eight years here (touch wood). It does happen though, and certainly more often than in Singapore.
Singapore: Gotta be one of the safest place in the world.

Racist:
Australia: My worst experience is limited to minor inconvenient like having a couple of idiots yelling racist taunts as they drive past. Under Howard and his fear mongering policies, Australia is becoming more mean and less tolerant though. His fear mongering is currently directed at Muslims so it doesn't really affect us yet. Considering our economy is highly dependent on resources export to China I can't imagine him driving his fear policy against Chinese anytime soon, but you never know.
Singapore: Will have to ask a non Chinese to find out how it compares. But as part of the majority Chinese, it wouldn't affect us.

Migrant treatment:
Australia: Eligible for some benefits (medicare, first home buyer grant, childcare rebates, etc) from day 1. After the first 2 years, PR has pretty much similar rights to citizen and access to all (afaik) kind of social security payment. Only restrictions are the obvious ones like residency requirement to extend PR, no rights to vote, stand for political office, some sensitive defense/intelligent jobs, and university fee loans (many PRs rorted the HECS by going back to their country after uni and never repaying a single cent of their HECS debt, hence the rule change).
Singapore: 2nd class citizen, can't buy new HDB, do not get most of government subsidies or handouts. Basically you don't get much (if any) benefits of the taxes you pay until you become citizen.

Taxes:
Australia: One of the highest income taxes in the world. It obviously depends on your incomes, deductions etc. You can expect to pay up to A$26k tax on A$100k annual salary in 2008/2009 financial year. GST is 10%.
Singapore: Low income tax. Property and vehicle taxes are much higher though. You can expect to pay up to S$7k tax on S$100k annual salary in 2008. GST is 7%.

Travel:
Australia: Far from everywhere, airfares alone are so expensive. Very strong A$ stretches further when traveling overseas. Plenty of domestic holiday destinations.
Singapore: Exotic destinations in their backyard within S E Asia. Travel to most destinations is cheaper and nearer.

Weather:
Australia: 4 seasons in a year, heck Melbourne is renowned of having 4 seasons in a day. We get the snows in the mountain and the ocassional crazy 40+ degree days in summer.
Singapore: Tropical all year round.

National Service:
Singapore: Your sons will have to serve 2 full years of National Service in the Singapore Defence Force.

Nightlife & Dating scene:
Can't tell much as we are married and do not have a clubbing and drinking lifestyle.

Anyone disagree or have something to add? It's obvious which one I think is better for us overall as I have voted with my feet. Like I said though, other may find it the other way. I always recommend people to visit their intended migration destination before making the plunge. It's a big decision, too big to be made based on hearsay. Don't quit your job or sell your house until you have seen first hand the place and culture and you like what you see.

A smart ex-sinkie on reason why he chose Aussieland over lowlife 3rd world sinkieland which is populated by sinkie cowards.

http://teapls.wordpress.com/2010/10/29/living-in-australia-vs-singapore/

living in australia vs singapore
By teapls 4 Comments
Categories: Uncategorized
Found 2 interesting website that made fairly good comparison in my opinion. Some background for me, I lived in singapore for 15 years of my early life , served ns and have decided to remain in australia. I live in perth which is on the western side of australia where our mining boom is carrying the whole australia’s economy.

In my own opinion this is my take on why I choose to call Australia, Perth my home:

You own a car and you can actually drive it unlike singapore where you spend your time in traffic.
Free parking
Average medium housing affordability is higher in australia with its higher mortgage interest rate but bigger house, better living environment. Its so quiet here at night your ear rings.
You own your land.. forever!! no 99 years bullshit
Better PPP(purchasing parity power) due to higher income even though higher taxes >.<
no need to think how much bonus we going to get.. its no guess work cause you probably get none :p Some companies do give up options and shares as bonuses.
Friendlier people to some degree even though there are bogans around. Depends on the area u hang out and where you live.
No Singlish. It really makes me cringe sometimes when I hear the “steady lah” , “how ah”, “how? good or not” ,”eat where” etc etc. My God!!! i don’t speak perfect english but i do make an attempt to change. There are some singlish in me but slowly but surely, I will iron them out
no prc asking you to fuk them for 100 bucks everytime you see a pretty asian around and you perv at them from the corner of your eyes :p cause most prc here are pretty well off.
The other website

http://willwen.blogspot.com/2007/05/australia-vs-singapore.html

that give a comparison of living culture

Work:
Australia: Higher salaries, better environment (shorter hours and more leaves), workers have more rights. Howard is doing his best to take them away though.
Singapore: Easier to find professional work, pretty much everyone I know who went there found a job in very short time. Bonuses can be very good in good times and can make up for the lower base salaries.

Housing:
Australia: Much cheaper, both in actual prices and annual property taxes. This is when you compare apple to apple, eg. private apt vs private apt, landed properties vs landed properties of similar size, not average houses here vs hdb flats there.
Singapore: Lower mortgage interest rate.

Food:
Australia: Has authentic foods from all over the world, by authentic I mean the chefs who prepare them are either from those countries or descendant of migrants from there.
Singapore: Cheap ‘kopitiam’ foods are everywhere! The local dishes (mee pok, katong laksa, fish head curries, chilly crab, stingray etc, damn mentioning them make me hungry) are best to be had locally.

House chores:
Australia: Labor is expensive, you have to do everything yourselves unless you are filthy rich!
Singapore: Indonesian maids can be hired at ~S$300 (plus another $300 to government) a month.

Transport:
Australia: Car is cheap, public transport is nowhere near Singapore’s quality, taxi drivers are hopelessly rude and don’t know their way.
Singapore: Superb public transport, cheap taxis, owning your own car is bloody expensive though.

Health care:
Australia: Everyone (citizens and PRs) is covered by Medicare. Waiting list can be long for non life threatening surgeries under public system though so many people have private health insurance anyway.
Singapore: Follow American system. Afaik, no such thing as public health care. Health insurance is normally provided by employers.

Government:
Australia: Democratic government, freedom of speech, people can openly criticize and complain against the government of the day without fear of reprisals.
Singapore: Virtually one party system, autocratic government. Heavily censored/government controlled media.

Crime Rate:
Australia: Pretty safe, I have never been robbed/assaulted/burglared in my eight years here (touch wood). It does happen though, and certainly more often than in Singapore.
Singapore: Gotta be one of the safest place in the world.

Racist:
Australia: My worst experience is limited to minor inconvenient like having a couple of idiots yelling racist taunts as they drive past. Under Howard and his fear mongering policies, Australia is becoming more mean and less tolerant though. His fear mongering is currently directed at Muslims so it doesn’t really affect us yet. Considering our economy is highly dependent on resources export to China I can’t imagine him driving his fear policy against Chinese anytime soon, but you never know.
Singapore: Will have to ask a non Chinese to find out how it compares. But as part of the majority Chinese, it wouldn’t affect us.

Migrant treatment:
Australia: Eligible for some benefits (medicare, first home buyer grant, childcare rebates, etc) from day 1. After the first 2 years, PR has pretty much similar rights to citizen and access to all (afaik) kind of social security payment. Only restrictions are the obvious ones like residency requirement to extend PR, no rights to vote, stand for political office, some sensitive defense/intelligent jobs, and university fee loans (many PRs rorted the HECS by going back to their country after uni and never repaying a single cent of their HECS debt, hence the rule change).
Singapore: 2nd class citizen, can’t buy new HDB, do not get most of government subsidies or handouts. Basically you don’t get much (if any) benefits of the taxes you pay until you become citizen.

Taxes:
Australia: One of the highest income taxes in the world. It obviously depends on your incomes, deductions etc. You can expect to pay up to A$26k tax on A$100k annual salary in 2008/2009 financial year. GST is 10%.
Singapore: Low income tax. Property and vehicle taxes are much higher though. You can expect to pay up to S$7k tax on S$100k annual salary in 2008. GST is 7%.

Travel:
Australia: Far from everywhere, airfares alone are so expensive. Very strong A$ stretches further when traveling overseas. Plenty of domestic holiday destinations.
Singapore: Exotic destinations in their backyard within S E Asia. Travel to most destinations is cheaper and nearer.

Weather:
Australia: 4 seasons in a year, heck Melbourne is renowned of having 4 seasons in a day. We get the snows in the mountain and the ocassional crazy 40+ degree days in summer.
Singapore: Tropical all year round.

National Service:
Singapore: Your sons will have to serve 2 full years of National Service in the Singapore Defence Force.

Nightlife & Dating scene:
Can’t tell much as we are married and do not have a clubbing and drinking lifestyle.

Anyone disagree or have something to add? It’s obvious which one I think is better for us overall as I have voted with my feet. Like I said though, other may find it the other way. I always recommend people to visit their intended migration destination before making the plunge. It’s a big decision, too big to be made based on hearsay. Don’t quit your job or sell your house until you have seen first hand the place and culture and you like what you see.

indeed Mate, Go to the immigration folder. A lot of ex-Singaporean here.

no problem.. i will check out all the stuffs there and get some good advice from you bunch of first world ex-sinkie.. But i am totally sure that i will bring some aussie juice to this part of the forum.. Some people from the PAP castle just cannot stomach australia juice leh... hehehe.... Thailand they are not worried but Aussieland.. oh .. no..!!!!! I should have done that a long time ago.. hehehhehehe...

Ash007

Mate, a lot of Thai people here as well. Sydney has some of the best thai food restaurant in the world!

no problem.. i will check out all the stuffs there and get some good advice from you bunch of first world ex-sinkie.. But i am totally sure that i will bring some aussie juice to this part of the forum.. Some people from the PAP castle just cannot stomach australia juice leh... hehehe.... Thailand they are not worried but Aussieland.. oh .. no..!!!!! I should have done that a long time ago.. hehehhehehe...

Mate, a lot of Thai people here as well. Sydney has some of the best thai food restaurant in the world!

yeah... i was thinking of Sydney too.. more cosmopolitan and sort of like the main centre for global gathering.. do you know much about Sydney? any experience to share?

What do you want to know about Sydney ?

Is Sydney really a global center? How expensive is Sydney,, it sure sounds like New York of USA.

At first i thought of moving to Melbourne but after checking out Sydney, it suits me more.

Do you know anything about its housing, the values, the number of Asians there?

Bro Ash, which part of Aussieland are you staying?

dedicate this song to all First world ex-sinkie in Aussieland.. be cool cheers and stay smart!!!! :biggrin:

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/UePtoxDhJSw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Is Sydney really a global center? How expensive is Sydney,, it sure sounds like New York of USA.

At first i thought of moving to Melbourne but after checking out Sydney, it suits me more.

In this thread, within an hour, from wanting to know more about Sydney to concluding that Sydney suits me more then Melbourne, within 2 lines?

TonyChat, did you see your problem there? :eek:

In this thread, within an hour, from wanting to know more about Sydney to concluding that Sydney suits me more then Melbourne, within 2 lines?

TonyChat, did you see your problem there? :eek:

i dun see a problem because you dunno about me and you dunno about my life. i dun put my life in the forum . you sinkie goondu!!!!
acting smart is actually a sinkie behavior...

The first world behavior such as those from australia will be " what makes you switch from Melbourne to Sydney?" in an enquiry manner.

your sinkie manner is the i know best who you are and if you try to act what i think is not right, you will get it from me.. Totally no respect for another human beings.. well.. that is how sinkie behaves... i am right to stay away from sinkies.. one of the most disgusting human being ever exists on earth.

since you behave like that... then this is your behaviour to you... i think you have a problem when you keep suspecting others on their behavior.. you better go for a check up.. seek therapy help, pls.... err.. i cannot do what you did.. cos i am not a sinkie.

tonychat, dont use this thread to por lumpar SamLeong :biggrin:

poring is a sinkie behavior and only PAP low life ball lickers do that..like those RC losers..

i am not a sinkie.. this sort of behavior is very foreign to me..

I have nothing to do with the forum host, and i dun care.

Ash007

Sydney is very cosmopolitan. I've tried authentic food from Korean, Japanese, Lebanese, Cantonese, etc. Its exactly what the original article you posted said.

There are a lot of Asians here, when I said Asians, its not just Chinese or Indians either. Koreans, Japanese, middle-easterns. Basically, people from any and every continent you can think of. There are suburbs where you can be in it and as long as you know Cantonese or Mandarin you won't have to speak a word of English in them. Same with suburbs where its pre-dominantly Koreans as well. I've been mistaken for being a Korean in there a number of time and have picked up replying back in Korean that I don't know Korean. It sure is fun to learn another language this way.

The downside to all this is that houses, property prices are really high. Average medium house prices in Sydney is around 600K now. Mind you, compared to Singapore its still cheaper. I think other then Singapore, Hong Kong, Sydney has the next highest property prices. Living expenses are ok. You may pay more, but the fruits, vegies are all fresh and healthy. My wife has a small vegie garden in the backyard and we have been spring onions, lettuces, corn, potatoes growing there. Air quality is good here as well. I've assuming all these haven't changed much in Singapore in the many longs years since I'm back. There are signs that property market may drop next year. But they have been saying the same thing for the last 10-20 years before. I suppose, people really pay for what they get. Some Aussies, I've met, actually has never brought property in their life. They prefer to rent and use the extra cash to enjoy life travelling etc. I've heard property in Melbourne is lower and they have a different culture there. In general, Sydney is like the tall blonde as they say, sunny, beautiful, sophisticated, while Melbourne is like the studious brunette, professional looking, cultured, always wear black office wear.

I'm in Sydney.

Bro Ash, which part of Aussieland are you staying?

Sydney is very cosmopolitan. I've tried authentic food from Korean, Japanese, Lebanese, Cantonese, etc. Its exactly what the original article you posted said.

There are a lot of Asians here, when I said Asians, its not just Chinese or Indians either. Koreans, Japanese, middle-easterns. Basically, people from any and every continent you can think of. There are suburbs where you can be in it and as long as you know Cantonese or Mandarin you won't have to speak a word of English in them. Same with suburbs where its pre-dominantly Koreans as well. I've been mistaken for being a Korean in there a number of time and have picked up replying back in Korean that I don't know Korean. It sure is fun to learn another language this way.

The downside to all this is that houses, property prices are really high. Average medium house prices in Sydney is around 600K now. Mind you, compared to Singapore its still cheaper. I think other then Singapore, Hong Kong, Sydney has the next highest property prices. Living expenses are ok. You may pay more, but the fruits, vegies are all fresh and healthy. My wife has a small vegie garden in the backyard and we have been spring onions, lettuces, corn, potatoes growing there. Air quality is good here as well. I've assuming all these haven't changed much in Singapore in the many longs years since I'm back. There are signs that property market may drop next year. But they have been saying the same thing for the last 10-20 years before. I suppose, people really pay for what they get. Some Aussies, I've met, actually has never brought property in their life. They prefer to rent and use the extra cash to enjoy life travelling etc. I've heard property in Melbourne is lower and they have a different culture there. In general, Sydney is like the tall blonde as they say, sunny, beautiful, sophisticated, while Melbourne is like the studious brunette, professional looking, cultured, always wear black office wear.

I'm in Sydney.

Great!! Sydney sounds like me... Yeah.. the population in Sydney is very much diverse.. It is understandable as Sydney is really a place for the globe without artificially rising the property price, unlike sinkieland. It reflects the true nature of the state's current economic level. Sydney is more like California than New york then, at least it sounds like that from you.

Ash007

California/New York, I suppose you can put it that way. Melbourne is colder and have a higher season variation in general. Climate in Sydney, still four seasons, but not as bad as in Melbourne.

Great!! Sydney sounds like me... Yeah.. the population in Sydney is very much diverse.. It is understandable as Sydney is really a place for the globe without artificially rising the property price, unlike sinkieland. It reflects the true nature of the state's current economic level. Sydney is more like California than New york then, at least it sounds like that from you.