Discrimination Pervasive in Singapore Rental Market

sirus

Ah neh, Ah tiong sorry.

SINGAPORE – A three-bedroom condominium for rent in Singapore’s cosmopolitan Claymore Hill area in the central part of the island boasts a pool, a
gymnasium, and proximity to the Orchard Road shopping district. It would be a great catch for any high income family – unless you happen to be
Indian.

The listing, which appeared November 3 on the Property Guru classified listings website, beckons prospective tenants to “search no more” but adds the following caveat: “Accept all race, except indian sorry no offence (sic).”

While multiracial Singapore has established an enviable reputation worldwide for its social harmony in recent decades—especially compared with its more conflict-prone regional neighbors – racial discrimination remains an unabashed fact of life in the city-state’s residential rental market.

A significant number of property advertisements on rental websites such as Singapore-based Property Guru or Craigslist specify that no Indians, ‘PRCs’ (from the People’s Republic of China) or Malays be allowed to rent various properties. Some ads also specify that Japanese, Caucasian or Chinese
tenants are preferred.

Although the number of listings with such requests varies over time, a recent search for rental ads on one property site that stated preferences
against tenants from mainland China alone yielded an estimated 200 such listings from over the past month.

Such specifications are not illegal under Singaporean law, though they are officially discouraged for rental properties and are, at times, questioned by
residents.

“Certainly, the ads’ specification against people of certain races or nationalities is discriminatory. It flows from certain stereotypes of specific categories of people,” said Eugene Tan, a professor of law at the Singapore Management University. But “it is not illegal in the Singapore context as landlords are free to specify their requirements.”

Singapore’s Council of Estate Agents, a statutory board under the purview of the government’s Ministry of National Development, says it doesn’t
condone racial discrimination. It also said in a response to queries from The Wall Street Journal that it has advertising guidelines in place to prevent
discrimination, but “some landlords have explained that they face practical considerations renting out their properties, leading to certain requirements in rental transactions.” It did not specify what those considerations were.

The statement went on to say that the government plans to continue educational efforts stressing the importance of mutual respect to preserve ethnic harmony.

The prevalence of race-specific property listings in Singapore comes at a time when Singaporeans have grown increasingly conscious of – and
dissatisfied with – the large number of immigrants working and living in their midst, particularly from mainland China and India.

An estimated 1.9 million foreign nationals now live in Singapore, which has a total population of about 5.2 million. Residents often complain that those
immigrants add to traffic, take local jobs and help push property prices out of reach for some younger families, among other problems. The
government has responded with a number steps in recent years to limit the number of foreign workers coming in, such as an increase in levies
employers pay to bring in foreign workers.

The government has also long used strict rules governing who can buy properties – though not over who can rent them – to help ensure social order
and encourage racial and cultural integration.

Most of the city-state’s residences – about 80% — are government Housing Development Board (HDB) flats, which are Singapore’s version of public
housing. Such flats can only be sold to Singaporeans or permanent residents, and are regulated by an Ethnic Integration Policy, which sets limits on
the number of Chinese, Malays and Indians – Singapore’s three main ethnic groups – in each public housing block and neighborhood so as to maintain a roughly even ethnic distribution across the island.

In 2010, HDB added newer rules that limit the number of units in a building that can be sold to some permanent residents, which includes foreigners who have met many, but not all, of the requirements to become full citizens.

While discriminatory in practice, the government’s policies on ethnic integration in the public housing market have generally been accepted both locally
and internationally as their broader aims are seen as working toward a greater degree of social harmony and cultural acceptance.

However, these quotas and limits do not apply to either the public or private rental markets, nor for purchases of private residential units outside the
HDB scheme.

The local Council of Estate Agents’ guidelines include admonitions against marketing tactics that “indicate preference for any race or religion in all advertisements, unless it is to comply with the Ethnic Integration Policy which aims to achieve a balanced ethnic mix among the various ethnic communities living in public housing estates.” However, there are no hard laws on the matter and no punishments.

Despite those guidelines, advertising considered discriminatory by some residents in both the public and private rental markets is still very visible on
many property-listings websites.

Property Guru says it employs a team to moderate the more than 100,000 listings on its site to check against “racist or anti-social content” that
contravenes Singapore’s anti-sedition and racial harmony laws. But it still makes allowances for clients to request their preferences even when it comes to race and ethnicity.

“We understand that agents have to take care of their clients’ preferences,” said a spokesperson from Property Guru, adding that if any listing is found to be racist or anti-social, agents are contacted and told to amend the information.

Craigslist did not respond to a request for comment.

In some cases, the discrimination revolves around worries about residents’ cooking styles, which sometimes rely heavily on odor-intensive oils and
spices. In those instances, Property Guru suggests agents and landlords use less-divisive language to address such concerns but its policies stop
short of prohibiting such ads outright.

Instead of saying ‘No Indian or No Malay Allowed,’ (the ad) can be put as ‘light cooking allowed’ or ‘owner prefers (tenants) who do not do Asian
cooking,” the spokesperson explained.

Even if those changes are made, though, discrimination can still occur in other ways. For example, a Canadian professional of Indian origin who works
in Singapore said even landlords and agents that don’t explicitly discriminate in advertisements still do so later on in the application process.

“It’s understandable if they have an issue with Indians who cook, for example, but to generalize based on just your ethnicity is unfair,” the Canadian,
who chose to remain anonymous, said. The man recalled one incident in which an agent said, “but you look Indian, let me check with the landlord if Indian is okay.”

Agents will also often ask prospective tenants to provide details of their race in their rental applications.

“Many times they are still willing to meet if you respond ‘Indian’ but sometimes they say ‘profile not suitable’,” he continued.

Experts say that while the “market decides” on rental properties in Singapore, the government can exert moral suasion on landlords not to
discriminate, though it is hard to legislate in such an area.

“The issue is more an ethical one than a legal one,” said SMU’s Mr. Tan. “To be sure, such ads do work against existing efforts at racial and religious
integration here in Singapore (and) also work against Singapore’s efforts to attract immigrants to live and work here.”

http://blogs.wsj.com/searealtime/2011/11/10/discrimination-pervasive-in-singapore-property-rental-market/

Yes it is kind of funny, my friend was looking for houses recently and had this experience:

Indian? Not ok.
Ah Tiong? Preferably not.
Dog? Ok.

Hey its good that there such discrimination exist. At lease its more free market as land lords have a right to choose who they want to rent too. I would not rent to a keling and ah tiong too. Why should I put my investment at risk? Its good that land lords can decide not like in western countries where scums hide behind the veil of ' do not discriminate'.

Such policies discriminate against the land lords, is that not discrimination?

Also lets be fair, can anyone give examples of dealing with kelings and Ah tiongs? good and bad tennants?

Ah Nehs bring bed-bugs with them from mother India. Once in the house, almost impossible to eradicate. Go to Mustafa centre, you find all kind of anti-bed bugs. Some you use to spray on their luggage.

Ah tiong brings bed-bugs too with poor hygiene.

Honestly speaking, If i have a home and put it up for rental which is based on Investments.

The last people i would rent it to will be ah nehs, ah tiongs, pinoys, and also Single Ang mohs esp not to ang moh males.

I will only rent it to Koreans/japs girls and Ang moh families.. No singles.

In australia, When i was first living in a commune that also had Ah nehs.. The kitchen had a very thick stench attached to it..Since they were the only ones cooking most of the time... I dont know why but my house doesnt smell like that.. Maybe cause we dont cook curry every single day and leave it to once a week or once every 2 weeks but then again i dont see a problem with local ah nehs homes to having a stench.. One thing i suspect is when i take note of a local curry and a Foreign curry is local curries are cooked less thick/abit watery.

Those from hongkong/Taiwan also had problems, Etc dirty shoes,discoloration on the bed sheets, laundry and socks and not being washed and left in the room is very common. I had this problem with them while i was working in a Hostel and my boss reminded them alot of times till the point of asking them to leave..

Ang mohs can be very dirty esp personnel hygiene wise.. Their bedrooms have a very strong smell of themselves. Etc.. Smelly socks, clothes, not taking showers and they are 10times more messier based on what i have seen while aboard. Even their cars are a mess with empty bottles, food wrappers and garbage thrown everywhere. I once wanted to bring this Samoan girl out and i had no veh and I borrowed an ang moh's mate car, But i had to clear his car of rubbish which collected into one big black trash bag.

The cleanest i noticed are those with more girls in the house then guys and families from 1st world countries simple as that. Then again this are stereotypes and cant really be used on every single ah tiongs, ah nehs..

Not surprise. This have been normal practice.

Not only locally, Ah tiongs and ah nehs have issues renting flats in Australia too. There was once there was this bunch of ah neh school-mates who wanted to rent a villa on the hills over-looking the ocean but had their application denied. Few of my Malaysian Chinese friends also had lots of problems renting flats.. So me and my Canadian/Bulgarian descent friend decided to give it a try and we got a call immediately to ask to go for viewing.. Fucking Stereotype but i do feel a pity for my friends.. Cos end of the day no one would want their friend to be treated as lowly scum.

But if you put yourself in the landlord shoes after the stories he heard or past bad experiences he had would you blame them? I did rented my flat to an indo chinese before was a pleasant couple until Soharto died and they moved their whole family over was a nightmare. Chinese from mainland china are not much different rented to 2 students and they sub rented the unit to over 10 of their classmates. The least problematic person surprisingly as to a chef working in 1 of those IR. The only problem is everytime I pop by the flat to collect the rent from him and inspect the flat he has a different boyfriend. It sorts of creep me out man holding hands with another man sitting in their Pjs.

Unfortunately the Ah Tiongs and Ah Nehs only have themselves to blame. I have this Ah Tiongs couple once in a while have great quarrels shouting, banging doors and throwing stuff. knn

I confess i rented my house to ah neh.
I sold the house after that as i did not want to ever see it again.

I had a friend who rented out their property to an india ah neh family despite my numerous hints. both her and her husband had a good middle class upbringing, are church attending methodists, well travelled and highly educated professionals. You know, the typical holier than thou sort.

Let's just say that by the end of the 2 year contract they became bitter racists. LOL!

Bro. If you, your friend or acquaintance are being discriminated when leasing Apartments, house or Villa in Australia. Please contact your state tenant board. Property managers are under strict guidlines in dealing with landlords and tenants.
Your rental application is base on few criteria. If you are a student and looking to rent villa on the hills over-looking the ocean, your application will be queued to the last, no matter what race you are.
If your Malaysian chinese friend have income and good track records from bond board and have problems renting flats, your Malaysian chinese friend need to bring this up to the state tenent board.

Please remind your friend, he/she is in Australia. Not Singapore or Malaysia.

Btw. which state are you talking?

Cheers.

The cleanest i noticed are those with more girls in the house then guys and families from 1st world countries simple as that.

Most definitely a misconception. Some female tenants may keep themselves clean but they can actually put up with living in filthy conditions. Female tenants also tend to have lots of belongings that clutter up the house, making it unsightly. Single male tenants, depending on where they come from, may be better as they usually do not cook a lot. I am still learning the ropes when it comes to being a landlord but I would say the country the tenant grew up in would be my most important guide.

Ah Tiong got good one, and got bad one. But Ah Neh from India, I have not even heard of a single good one. Ah Neh, even during the phone-call and viewing stage, can have major problem develop already. There was this Ah Neh corporate boss, want to rent a condo from my brother, kept my brother waiting 3 hours for him to turn up, 2 days in row. In the end, say: 'Sorry, no time to come view your property.' Like that also can!!!! Chey!!!:mad:

Why are they complaining about discrimination? Nobody pointed guns at their heads and forced them to come here. If they are not happy, they should fuck off back to where they came from. WE ARE FULL.

how abt this indian? can rent or not?
2980643_f520[1].jpg

I am amazed at the audacity of the indian community, be it in Singapore or anywhere else in the world.

Should they be not in an advantage position, they will always scream discrimination or racism.

Perhaps they should look into their lives and their work places and find out truly what racism is.. their lives are filled with all such acts.. i give a couple of examples:
- indian companies will hire ONLY indians and promote ONLY indians (and mostly from the same caste, dont believe .. just check out the offices here in Sg or anywhere else)
- go buy something from an indian shop... chances are they will treat you with contempt and distaste even if you are well better off than those scumbags.

They have never ceased to amaze me with their incredulous claims of racism