Objection against INTEGRATION - new Curry Incident against THAIS Super Stink Food

Shut Up you are Not MM

PUKE is the word

Not just once and not just one block of HDB, 2 blocks could smell the STINK of Thai food from carpark up to 6th floor. So strong that the people use their T-shirts to cover the faces and fled ASAP. Others started to pull out their cigarettes to smoke and made 2nd hand smoking an added hazard for the others in the vicinity.

Yucks & Pui! :oIo::*::mad:

I have no idea what the fuck was it, sour and stink and EXTREMELY STRONG and spread and reach very far and the coverage of this chemical warfare gas is 50m radius. It must be a fermentation food from a Thai family.

100% sure it is a Thai even when I have no idea which house. Because that smell I had encountered in Thailand and only Thailand plus SGP. Thanks PAP for bringing home this fucking STINK.

Yucks & Pui! once again.:oIo::*::mad:

If the PRC only thinks Indian curry is crazy smell this is 10X worst.

To me Si Chuan kitchen's smell and Indian curry are very close, and I am very sure that PRC & Indians are like me and we all can not withstand this SUPER SMELLY Thai fermentation food whatever it is called. PUKE! Because Ah Neh & pull their T-shirts up from their chests to cover their noses. PRCs made their faces as if they smelled shit in the air, one of them ask me WAF was it. I told him I did not fart in the lift.:mad:

Singaporeans KPKB said Si Peh Chow! & said KNN!

Integration? I Refuse and I won't change my mind. Fuck You PAP! :mad::mad::oIo::oIo:

You suck my toes 1st, I will had these stinky Thai food all sent to your fucking Istana & you will die instantly too, and you deserve it. I did not ask for FT you forced that onto us Singaporeans. I strongly Object I strongly REJECT!

http://www.cnngo.com/bangkok/eat/thailands-six-most-smelly-delicious-dishes-608575

Thailand's 6 most delicious-but-stinky dishes
If you can get beyond the fact that these meals smell like farts and old fish, your taste buds are in for a pleasant surprise
By Moragot Kongkiatkul 18 February, 2011
Tweet

For the most part, Thai food smells just as it tastes -- fantastic. But there are exceptions. Here are six super stinky dishes that shouldn’t be judged by their nasty aromas.
1. Pad Sa Tor

Pad sa-tor

Pad sa tor is a famously tasty dish from southern Thailand with an extremely strong smell.
Sa tor -- stink beans -- are stir fried with chilis and chicken, pork, beef or shrimp. In fact, I vote this delicious dish the absolute stinkiest in Thailand.

Basically, it smell likes flatulence. But many Thais love it because it does have an incredibly flavorful taste and health benefits to boot.

Some studies have found stink beans can have a positive impact on controlling/preventing diabetes, blood pressure, obesity, anemia, PMS, depression and constipation. Some even claim they’re a great hangover cure.

Pad sa tor is normally eaten with rice and can be found in most Bangkok markets. Unfortunately it's rather hard to find in restaurants or supermarkets because it is considered country-style food.

Stink rating: 5/5

2. Kao Klook Gapi

Kao klook gapi
Kao klook gapi is simply rice mixed with shrimp paste. Kao means rice, klook means mix, and gapi means shrimp paste. Thais normally eat it with side dishes such as fried mackerel, a cha-om (acacia) omelet and parboiled vegetables.

This dish is one of my favorites because it’s filling but contains lots of supposed health benefits as you get a whole set of nutrition in one dish. That said, it can be rather spicy and will leave your mouth in desperate need a of a breath mint afterwards.

You can find kao klook gapi in pretty much any Bangkok market or restaurant. Some people also like to eat the shrimp paste with sour unripe mango.

Stink rating: 3/5

3. Som Tam Pla-Ra

Som Tam Pla-Ra

Som tam pla-ra is the smelliest variety of the world famous spicy papaya salad from the northeast, as it's made with fermented fish.

Some Thais prefer only the fermented fish sauce in their som tum, while others want the whole stinky fish thrown in as well.

Many people even take their love for som tam pla-ra to the next level by throwing some salted field crabs in there (see photo). Certainly an acquired taste.

Whatever style you like your som tam, it's best enjoyed with other side dishes such as sticky rice, rice noodles, roasted or fried chicken, grilled pork, ground pork salad and spicy liver salad.

Tip: Don't bring a plate of som tam pla-ra into an air-conditioned room because its stink will seep into every nook and cranny and stay there for hours.

Stink rating: 4/5

4. Tao Jeow Lon

Tao jeow lon
Tao jeow lon is a dipping sauce made of fermented soybeans cooked with coconut milk and chilis. Personally, I can't stand this one because in addition to the stink it also resembles a bowl of baby’s vomit.

Nevertheless, a lot of people love it because it does indeed have a strong, satisfying taste and is packed full of nutritional benefits.

Tao jeow lon is most commonly eaten with fresh or parboiled vegetables and hot rice. You can find it in pretty much any Bangkok market or restaurant as it's really easy to make.

Stink level: 3/5

5. Pla Kem

Pla kem
Pla kem -- sun-dried salted fish -- is actually at its stinkiest levels before it's cooked. But even after it hits the frying pan it still gives off a pungent stench.

A simple dish, pla kem is usually topped with a little bit of lime juice, fish sauce, shallots and chili and eaten with a side of hot boiled rice. As most Thais love to eat meals with strong flavors, these ingredients give more oomph to the pla kem.

You will find a lot of fresh pla kem in towns near the coast because most styles of this dish are made with salt-water fish. But here in Bangkok you can also find them in any market, supermarket or restaurant.

Stink level: 4/5

6. Kao Neaw Durian

durian

The durian gets a lot of flak for being the world's stinkiest fruit. It's one of those foods you either love or hate. No in-between.

Personally, I love it. Particularly when it's served in coconut milk with sticky rice -- the delicious kao neaw durian.

Durian is extremely nutritious because it is rich in vitamins B, C and E and has a high iron content. It also contains high levels of the amino acid tryptophan, known to alleviate anxiety, depression, and insomnia, and create feelings of happiness, by raising levels of serotonin in the brain.

Even if you hate the smell of durian, just give it a try and you might be surprised. It's very addictive, but never bring it into air-conditioned areas, on public transportation, into your car or even store it in your refrigerator because that stink will linger for a couple of days.

Stink level: 3/5
Tags:

Thai cuisine
durian
smelly food

http://www.thaivisa.com/forum/topic...e-were-served-had-very-strong-chemcial-smell/

You cannot start a new topic
You cannot reply to this topic

Fish (Plaa Ga-Poong) We Were Served Had Very Strong Chemcial Smell like ammonia
#1 User is offline farang000999

PipPipPipPip

Group: Members

Posted 2011-03-28 21:38:59
Well, it was actually my wife's meal. She ate a few pieces before she noticed the smell. I smelt it and it smelt just like ammonia. She forced herself to vomit. Wondering now if you think what we were smelling was some kind of chemical used to clean or preserve the fish?
Tweet

Back to top ^

#2 User is offline mstribling

NRA Member
PipPipPipPipPip

Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2011-03-28 21:40:46
Yes

Back to top ^
Reply Icon Reply

#3 User is offline farang000999

PipPipPipPip

Group: Members

Posted 2011-03-28 21:51:39
Really hoping that she got it all up and will be okay. :(

Back to top ^
Reply Icon Reply

#4 User is offline TheLaughingMan

PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2011-03-28 21:51:57
THIS is why Thailand scares me so much. There's just a hundred fold more chance of the cook/food seller doing something deadly to your meal out of pure incompetence. They even sell poisonous puffer fish coloured and sold as Salmon.... anything for a buck and safety be damned.

Back to top ^
Reply Icon Reply

#5 User is online roamer

PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2011-03-28 23:11:10
Actually I think you can relax on this one. Certain fish, skate being a prime example, and others usually belonging to the shark family will more often than not have an ammonical odour to them when fresh. This comes from the urea in the fish, not normally a problem if the fish is promptly on ice. Its often dealt with by leaving it in water with lemon for a while.

Whatever the fuck it is I have no interest to know. Smell is like shocks of from whole battalion of SAF infantry stuffed in a huge bucket for a month and then suddenly opened. Stink the entire building plus the next nearest building.

Nah Beh! Buay Tah Han!

Face paled stomach puking.:*::*::mad:

Smells like m&d/shit to me leh. Got sour meh?

I know of some some foul smelling food but non so stinky until it permeated the whole block and not heard of any stinky curry........

It's probably bamboo shoots. The Thai variety is really, really pungent, very strong ammonia-laced. Don't believe me go down to Golden Mile and follow your nose.

I know of some some foul smelling food but non so stinky until it permeated the whole block and not heard of any stinky curry........

Curry gives irritation to eyes and nose, when very powerful it is a tear gas material. Sneeze like crazy when someone cook a lot.

Actually TS speak true also. I go GM or Thailand also sometimes cant tahan the smell of all spice dont know what. But all not Thai food bad stinky. Tom yam and glutinous rice quite OK. Thai kind of curry except tom yam or Thai rojak are no no for me. Smell orready lose appetite LOL

PAP IDIOTS are forcing a WRONG MIX and blindly creating a ROJAK which is bad taste and non-edible.

There is this science call chemistry and not everything can mix well.

Mixed the wrong things you will get explosion in your face, that was how the ancient Chinese had invented gun powder BTW.

Singapore's population is now toxic and explosive as a result of STUPID DUMB PAP POLICY.:mad::mad:

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/cLWcjiujJVU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/FWOHqeRSVkM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/xuAYX1QWxQ0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ubyCi_7FRQs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Stinky Beans (Petai) is the smelliest? Guess you didnt eat too much food outside Singapore.... Like Mr Khaw recent comment about Bhutan, hahahaha

A bunch of idiots who'd never been out of Singkapore. No wonder gahmen spend money to "integrate" FT with Sinkies.

Fish sauce and bamboo shoots will stink wen hits a hot pan.

Fish sauce OK lah. I use it even with common Chinese food like soup and porridge. The stinkie ones are all the rojak Thai veggies and strange curries.

I also dam scare to eat Thai food .. By the way , Chinese rojak I also buay tahan the smell ...

The mother of all Curry Incident in SG was in th 90s when Hong Kong FT came to open a STINK BEAN-CURD stall at Smith Street Hawker Center China Town. The smell is so strongly foul all day that the other hawkers go no business at the area near by. They had a big quarrel & ousted the HK stall from that Smith Street. The HK stalled then moved to Geylang near Paya Lebar. Still smelling bad at that place but his neighbours seems to have sealed up doors and windows with A/C inside.

:D:D:D