• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore's birthrate new low. Dr Yap Mui Teng's plan will drop it to zero

MarrickG

Kuan Yew said during a speech in NTU, "Last year, the total fertility rate – which measures the average number of children born to a woman over her childbearing years – was at an all-time low of 1.15.

Mr Lee said: “The birth rate today, the fertility rate, is 1.01. In other words, for every couple, you have 1.01 babies."

Amidst the daily struggling Singaporean to survive just another day, someone by the name Dr Yap Mui Teng of IPS advocates to import more foreigners (http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1151560/1/.html). Her plans in favor of foreigners, will ensure Singaporean live miserably, so that birthrate fall to zero.

muiteng_120x160.jpg

Dr Yap Mui Teng @IPS,
fertility expert.
[email protected]

At that time, she will even has better reasons to proclaim that Singapore need foreigners. See my article on PAP's genocide, and foreigners imported to bailout banks for more info.

The fact is without foreigners and allowing real estate to fall, Singaporean will have a higher fertility due to a lower cost structure.

http://veritas-lux.blogspot.com/

Kuan Yew said during a speech in NTU, "Last year, the total fertility rate – which measures the average number of children born to a woman over her childbearing years – was at an all-time low of 1.15.

Mr Lee said: “The birth rate today, the fertility rate, is 1.01. In other words, for every couple, you have 1.01 babies."

Amidst the daily struggling Singaporean to survive just another day, someone by the name Dr Yap Mui Teng of IPS advocates to import more foreigners (http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1151560/1/.html). Her plans in favor of foreigners, will ensure Singaporean live miserably, so that birthrate fall to zero.

muiteng_120x160.jpg

Dr Yap Mui Teng @IPS,
fertility expert.
[email protected]

At that time, she will even has better reasons to proclaim that Singapore need foreigners. See my article on PAP's genocide, and foreigners imported to bailout banks for more info.

The fact is without foreigners and allowing real estate to fall, Singaporean will have a higher fertility due to a lower cost structure.

http://veritas-lux.blogspot.com/

Is truth what she said. High cost living making couple think 10 times before having baby.

If Spore produces more ugly fat women looking like this Dr Yap Mui Teng, then of course there will be birth rates problem in our country....

But during our mother's time, women with big hips, no problem in giving birth. But Dr. Yap, looks into the mirrior, it is lying in fright!. Can use brown paper bags with two holes what!...you cover the head & strum the bottom, hopefully, it produces good music!! ha ha ha ha

primarily, its the high costs of living.

its a vicious cycle...why would i produce my children only to face stiff competition? While you import foreigners, a clear distinction must be made that Singaporeans are favored and treated favorably.

primarily, its the high costs of living.

its a vicious cycle...why would i produce my children only to face stiff competition? While you import foreigners, a clear distinction must be made that Singaporeans are favored and treated favorably.

In their relenteless greedy pursuit of MONEY, they dare not say out loud or even enshrine by saying or declaring "SINgaporeans COME FIRST"!!

Show me your money...I will shoved SINgaporeans down the food chain.

In their relenteless greedy pursuit of MONEY, they dare not say out loud or even enshrine by saying or declaring "SINgaporeans COME FIRST"!!

Show me your money...I will shoved SINgaporeans down the food chain.

they did champion Singaporeans come first...but from where i am, i don't see any difference. Merely lip service?

Singaporean First Policy:confused:

Yeah.....

S'poreans first one to not get recruitment interview (FT in HR)
S'poreans first one to get rejected from interview (NS obligations, expensive, also someone gave ppl the impression that we are not diligent)
S'poreans first to get the retrenchment (too expensive)
S'poreans first one to get screw over escalating property prices (with increasing influx of FT & PR)
and the list goes on........

Actually, come to think of it......... its truely S'poreans come first policy...... they were true to their word:)

they did champion Singaporeans come first...but from where i am, i don't see any difference. Merely lip service?

Is truth what she said. High cost living making couple think 10 times before having baby.

1. aiyoh!
2. the fat faced sheep is just another elite sheep that blahs the same crap.
3. so what, if sheep birthrate dips!

Guys:

This low fertility thing is common throughout industrialized nations. You guys better get used to this and come up with better solutions than keep harping on the FT issue because they are here to stay.

http://www.econ.ucdavis.edu/faculty/gclark/papers/clark - jeea.pdf

HUMAN CAPITAL, FERTILITY AND THE INDUSTRIAL
REVOLUTION12
Gregory Clark
Department of Economics
University of California, Davis
Abstract
The Industrial Revolution and the Demographic Transition are the two great
forces that explain the upward march of modern incomes. This paper sets out
the empirical realities attempts to unify these events through theories of human
capital investment have to meet. The major difficulty is to form an explanation
which connects them which can also reconcile the seeming differences in
fertility behavior over time and in cross section in the pre-industrial world, the
transition period, and the modern world. (JEL: J1, N3, O4).
1. Introduction
Before the Industrial Revolution four features characterized all societies:
high fertility rates, little education, the dominance of physical over human
capital, and low rates of productivity growth. In modern high income countries
we observe the opposite: low fertility, lots of education, human capital as an
important a source of income, and high rates of productivity growth. These
1Acknowledgements: I thank Oded Galor and David Weil for discussions on
these issues that helped shape this paper. Financial support was received from
NSF grant SES, 02-41376 “The Great Escape: the Industrial Revolution in
Theory and in History.”
2Email address: [email protected].
conjunctions suggests there must be a connection between the decline of
fertility, the rise of human capital and the onset of modern growth.
We see exactly this transition between society types in Industrial
Revolution England. TFP growth rates in the eighteenth century were less than
0.1% a year, typical of the pre-industrial world. Soon after 1800 rates of
productivity growth rose much closer to the modern level of 1% or more per
year in a very short period. In England the average women gave birth to nearly
5 children all the way from the 1540s to the 1890s. Figure 1 shows the gross
reproduction rate (GRR), the number of daughters born per woman who lived
to 50, by decade. In the England 10-20% of each female cohort remained
celibate. Thus for those who married the average number of births per woman
was close to 6. The “demographic transition” to modern fertility rates began
only in the 1890s. By the 2000 English women gave birth on average to less
than 2 children.

primarily, its the high costs of living.its a vicious cycle...why would i produce my children only to face stiff competition? While you import foreigners, a clear distinction must be made that Singaporeans are favored and treated favorably.
Absolutely right...the previous generation where farmland were still available, some prople produce children to help out in farm. Now mostly educate people, think twice , thrice and still not convince that kids will be better off. If you cannot even convince yourself that your next generation will lead better life, why bring them here to suffer ?Instead of trying to convince the true blue singaporean to reproduce , they take the easy way out to import, thereby , making the whole situation worse.Seen so many young married couple who have decided not to have children , when they need some companionship beside each other, dog is the preffered. Yeah! pappie the choice.

I just got back from grocery shopping at NTUC. It was terrible so many "fat" people blocking the aisles:eek:

Congestion is not only limited to the roads & trains:rolleyes:

Our birthrate was already falling way before the foreigners were let in. They just happened to be a convenient excuse. SG have been trying to address the issue of falling birthrate since 1986

In October 1987, future Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, then a young Brigadier General, exhorted Singaporeans to procreate rather than "passively watch ourselves going extinct". United Press International noted the "baffled" reaction of parents, many who had grown up in an era where they were told that having more than two children was "antisocial". One parent commented, "are we being told to have more children for the sake of the country or for ourselves?" Goh Chok Tong, despite the skepticism, remained optimistic that the population rate would restored to the replacement rate by 1995. An NUS sociologist however, observed that Singapore had "a new breed of women" — one "involved in their careers [and] used to a certain amount of leisure and more material possessions" — and hence would not be as receptive to financial incentives like previous women of the 1960s and the 1970s. As of 2011, Singapore's birth rate has not yet been restored to replacement level.

The fact that Sinkie women mostly have a face like Dr.Yap Mui Teng and an attitude to boot, I'm surprised the birth rate is NOT in the negative by now! LOL

incidentally, there was a talk show on radio regarding this...the gahmen had earlier implemented a slew of incentives / policies that tried to induce Singaporeans to fuck more n produce more...

as it is not working, they hve to import FTs...n it was further revealed that with the showing in the erections, gahmen has moderated this influx and the cost of this is already showing esp amongst the SMEs as they cannot cope with the shortage of labor. And the true price will come later...when ecomomic activities slow and SMEs either fold or move out.

The above is what i heard and re-quote here.

Now, my personal feel is that, shrinking birth rate is something faced by all developed economies not only Singapore. Japan, Korea, Taiwan are all facing this problem.

European economies faced this problem as well...I don't see they going all out for immigrations although in France, UK, lowly paid jobs are held by Eastern Europeans, Asians, etc, yes..part of being in EU means immigrations & employment occur freely and there are as well tensions against immigrants in such countries as well.

Our gahmen once said the Scandinavia countries could reverse this falling trend...and they want to emulate...emulate poorly they did.

They shld seriously look at why Scandinavia countries are successful - the work - life balance, generous work / maternity benefits, attitudes towards part time work, etc.

For us to fuck n produce kids, the environment must be conducive, not in this stressful enviro where success, results, $$ means everything.

Here's our thumbs down to the gahmen.

They shld seriously look at why Scandinavia countries are successful - the work - life balance, generous work / maternity benefits, attitudes towards part time work, etc.

For us to fuck n produce kids, the environment must be conducive, not in this stressful enviro where success, results, $$ means everything.

The scandinavian countries are fortunate that don't have a world class dictator like LKY. For those too young to remember must look at LKY's brilliant eugenics policy of limiting the reproduction of babies to only mothers with the correct "qualification" i.e. a uni degrees.:eek:

Problem is further compounded by the money faced policies of LKY, making it too expensive to make babies in Spore :rolleyes:

I know many, many people who left Spore because they couldn't stomach the PAP's policies. Personally know one "quitter" who had 8 children after he resettled in Canada :)

Talk so much for what,just cut down the costs of living in this little Red Dot.
Talk so much forums,seminars,presentations,statistics,so-called panel of experts...etc all talking the denial mode and afraid to talk the obvious and truth.
KNNCCB to the PAP!

incidentally, there was a talk show on radio regarding this...the gahmen had earlier implemented a slew of incentives / policies that tried to induce Singaporeans to fuck more n produce more...

as it is not working, they hve to import FTs...n it was further revealed that with the showing in the erections, gahmen has moderated this influx and the cost of this is already showing esp amongst the SMEs as they cannot cope with the shortage of labor. And the true price will come later...when ecomomic activities slow and SMEs either fold or move out.

The above is what i heard and re-quote here.

Now, my personal feel is that, shrinking birth rate is something faced by all developed economies not only Singapore. Japan, Korea, Taiwan are all facing this problem.

European economies faced this problem as well...I don't see they going all out for immigrations although in France, UK, lowly paid jobs are held by Eastern Europeans, Asians, etc, yes..part of being in EU means immigrations & employment occur freely and there are as well tensions against immigrants in such countries as well.

Our gahmen once said the Scandinavia countries could reverse this falling trend...and they want to emulate...emulate poorly they did.

Actually ALL your examples have FTs repenishing supplies

European economy has the advantage of the EU policy. Eastern Europeans flooding into Western Europe hence no big issue

Japan for the last couple of years have been opening up their foreigner policy. I'm seeing more FTs in Japan especially Customer Service and tourist related

Taiwan and HK both opening up to China.

Korea have a lot of N.Koreans and China men running over.

As for Sweden "reversing the trend", their birth rate still stands at 1.67, way below the replacement rate of 2.01. Even the Norwegians probably the most successful of them is at 1.77, are still working towards that goal despite having a 10 mth(SG = 6mth) maternity leave in place for decades

Having kids is a matter of choice. Some of the fault with the current birth rate can be trace back to LKY's stop at 2 policy but given the situation he face during independence and the uncertain future, it is understandable why he did what he did. At the end of the day it's about the change in lifestyle. It's about sacrificing your current lifestyle to provide for your children, something which many young pple nowadays are unwilling to make. All industrialized countries face the same issue and both long term and short term solution from all of them are the same, migration

BTW the Migration and population issue + the amount of FTs here. The FT -> citizen population that we are talking about here is only about converting +/- 20K citizens a year. If you look at the number of new citizenships granted it works out to SG annual replacement rate -> 50K - birth rate = number of new citizens. But it doesn't address the more then 1 million FT workforce here

The scandinavian countries are fortunate that don't have a world class dictator like LKY. For those too young to remember must look at LKY's brilliant eugenics policy of limiting the reproduction of babies to only mothers with the correct "qualification" i.e. a uni degrees.:eek:

Problem is further compounded by the money faced policies of LKY, making it too expensive to make babies in Spore :rolleyes:

I know many, many people who left Spore because they couldn't stomach the PAP's policies. Personally know one "quitter" who had 8 children after he resettled in Canada :)

another portion to the problem...those who are not supposed to propagate are doing so like rabbits...whereas those who shld aren't doing so...LOL.

that adds more complication to their incentives / policies.

But being million-dollar paid ministers, they choose only to open the doors to FTs...LOL

another portion to the problem...those who are not supposed to propagate are doing so like rabbits...whereas those who shld aren't doing so...LOL.

that adds more complication to their incentives / policies.

But being million-dollar paid ministers, they choose only to open the doors to FTs...LOL

Reminds me of a comment from my reservist mate who is a teacher.

"Government grant is going to the "wrong pple". Those pple who should be making babies are not doing it and those who shouldn't are. The more they give the more babies those pple make. Nowadays you see more of them in my classes"

However according I remember LHL once said that even that race although making the most babies still not making enough. And the problem is compounded by the fact that none of them will leave Matland coz there the incentive to that race too good liao. So they ended up trying to attract the Arabs(not same race but same religion mah)