Who owns Wheelock, the Borders place?

I was taking a look at the Isetan Supermarket & looking at the imported Japanese melons selling for $25, grapes selling for $90+ ,..I wonder who can afford such prices

20% of our population with household income more than 12k can easily afford the Japanese grapes and melons.

the other 80% can buy made in china grapes and melons for 1/10 of the price.

22-23k? Even if one satay stick is $1 profit, he still have to sell 22k/30 = 730 sticks a day! How is that possible?

He told me he's bleeding red ink n he has no intention of renewing his lease at the end of the year. I'm just puzzled how he did his sums. Granted material cost is low but if you add utility and labor, it can cause serious damage to your P&L.

He sells other dishes too-very common ones like nasi goreng and what have you.

I still go to the orchard store, morgan at katong, another one a shaw center, and sunshine plaza. Any additional sources?

hong lim tower/plaza basement sell model/RC planes and cars.

The shopping cum office block opposite it also sell models, cannot remember the building name, the one mercer consulting firm is located.

There was a desert stall guy who gave up at the 4th floor food court in Raffles City. He told me the rent was $15K a month. Possible? I don't know the market.

well, a stall in hougang central coffeeshop going at $7k a month. And it just a normal small coffeeshop located opposite Hougang Mall, no aircon.

.............. strange that the filipinos congregate in Lucky plaza. ......:

I find it surprising too that the biggest single group of people in Orchard are the Pinoys.
Go everywhere in Orchard and the Pinoys are everywhere-shopping, eating, enjoying themselves.
We know they are not the biggest income earners and yet they can eat and shop at Orchard very often and stay in Condos.

Ask who are the credit card, loan and rent defaulters and you will find the answer.

With so many Pinoys with dubious qualifications imported by the pappy, just wait for the crime rate to increase dramatically over the years.

The Borders situation is symtomatic of what ails sillipore-high cost but low income.
The million dollar salaried pappies are still in their ivory towers publicly lamenting (or pretending not to know) why the birth rate is low.
Who wants to have children in a place with high cost, low salaries and insecure jobs not to mention about the places reserved for foreigners in a punishing and suppresive educational system.

It gives them the excuse to open the floodgates to cheap and low quality foreigners- but how long can these cheap foreigners sustain themselves?

Ask who are the credit card, loan and rent defaulters and you will find the answer.
The Borders situation is symtomatic of what ails sillipore-high cost but low income.
It gives them the excuse to open the floodgates to cheap and low quality foreigners- but how long can these cheap foreigners sustain themselves?

Banks are charging 20%+ penalties for CC defaulters so they must luv this group of people. Especially when interest rates are so low, where else can you legally extort $$$?

I'm not surprised about Borders. I've seen the shops at Plaza Singapura(another Orchard Rd Mall) struggling. You have stores there moving into smaller premises. Even Best Denki has downsized their store in that mall. From being one of the largest tenants to one of the smallest.

On my visits to JB I notice that there are now more foreigners visitng from Spore, & these are not Sporeans. The cheap foreigners of Spore are doing the same as the "lesser mortals" & shopping in JB:o

Challenger also another dodgy company, they owed $$$ at either BKK or KL branch i cant remember, Harbour front as well, but still can tahan the Funan side, zzzz

well, a stall in hougang central coffeeshop going at $7k a month. And it just a normal small coffeeshop located opposite Hougang Mall, no aircon.

"member' of George! what!...that is why so expensive...In George We Trust...

20% of our population with household income more than 12k can easily afford the Japanese grapes and melons.

the other 80% can buy made in china grapes and melons for 1/10 of the price.

Nowadays it's common for condos to cost $1+ million, $100k+ cars, $10 parking, $$$ electrcity..... Couples with a joint income of $12k would still be struggling in Spore:rolleyes:
I think only 5% of the population MPs & expats can afford Japanese produce:confused:

I still go to the orchard store, morgan at katong, another one a shaw center, and sunshine plaza. Any additional sources?

U tried the tamiya agent along the paya lebra or the newly open miniature hobby at trivex ind bld just outside lor chuan mrt?

Some hawker stall in Kopitiam rent at high as $13k/month/unit that no even near MRT/Shopping center.

StarGek? Tamiya agent?

Tamiya is only good for tanks. Airfix and Hasegawa for planes. Airfix had a few lousy models too, e.g. the Buccaneer was simply void of details and there was no Vulcan available. These weren't available with other brands too. I actually wrote to Airfix, yeah via schoolboy snail mail, to complain. They actually replied, apologies as not much details were available for planes that were supposed to carry nuclear bombs. Revell was good for battleships especially aircraft carriers. No other brands can match their aircraft carriers.

Wah lau..... i never ask you to explain airfix models lah.... you reminds me of that Stephen Chow "Journey to the West" movie, Sun Wu Kong's teacher, damn fucking lor sor leh. I feel like hanging myself liao....

Nobody's stopping you from hanging yourself but make sure you succeed in dying. Otherwise, attempted suicide is an offence under Section 309 Chapter 224 punishable by one year imprisonment.

I was at Funan & found out that the Computer Book Centre will be closing down in mid Oct. Many of you must be familiar with this store which specialises in computer related books. I asked them if their Clementi branch would also be closing & they told me they don't have a Clementi branch.

When their store at Funan closes they continue as only an online store at http://www.compbook.com.sg/

I was at Funan & found out that the Computer Book Centre will be closing down in mid Oct. Many of you must be familiar with this store which specialises in computer related books. I asked them if their Clementi branch would also be closing & they told me they don't have a Clementi branch.

When their store at Funan closes they continue as only an online store at http://www.compbook.com.sg/

Computer books very expensive but I don't blame the store. I know retail price and rental both expensive. Anyway even mags are dying. Almost anything or any help can download online, even CD also dying, buy book or mag for what?

Would get books for MSCE & DBA certification and programing from that store. Those kind of books are quite specialised.

However the certification fad is over & I'm more into health & investing:) Unfortunate for anyone looking for computers books since Borders has closed, and MPH & Times have scaled back their retail outlets:(

Would get books for MSCE & DBA certification and programing from that store. Those kind of books are quite specialised.

However the certification fad is over & I'm more into health & investing:) Unfortunate for anyone looking for computers books since Borders has closed, and MPH & Times have scaled back their retail outlets:(

MPH and Times are also half dead in Singapore. But MPH in Malaysia not bad.