Message to Tony Tan - U are right now in Conflict with the duties of future President

Hello Tony,

Being a smart person, I don't understand why u still don't comprehend the role of President of Singapore. By throwing your hat into the ring, u must know that this is a position that is neutral and that is why by law, the President must not be a member of any political party and is empowered to safeguard certain funds.

However, in the last month, u have given analysis of the GE results, speeches at the Peranakan Association, Speeches at the Chamber of commerce talking about the singapore economy, giving speech at SMU about the FT education policy, etc. Excuse me, but many of these speeches are political in nature, and defend the existing PAP policies. SInce u are supposed to be neutral, why don't u avoid these invitations? Cannot refuse the free makan? cannot refuse the honorarium fee?

Instead, if you really want to open your mouth at these events, why don't u tell us what u will do to improve our lot once u become President. What specific direction do you want to take the presidency or are u just going to do the same old same old and rubber stamp PAP policies like allowing their wage and bonus increases?

Until u do this, u sound exactly like a partisan PAP ministers talking and not like an impartial person that the role of president demands and expects. What confidence do the voters have that u will live up to the spirit of this position and the legal obligations of this position when u sound like any PAP cadre. What say u Tony?

Re: Message to Tony Tan - U are right now in Conflict with the duties of future Presi

1. bro, the whitehair is barking up the masters' dick mah.
2. a sheep is always some sheep.

Re: Message to Tony Tan - U are right now in Conflict with the duties of future Presi

1. bro, the whitehair is barking up the masters' dick mah.
2. a sheep is always some sheep.

I know this, but at least he can pretend to have some semblance of neutrality mah. He is so obviously pro PAP by the last few speeches he had made.

Are the stakes so high that TT has to resort to this? And don't even get us started about the Braddel Brothel's role in all these. All this talk about "independence" - indeed. I wish people would stop insulting our intelligence!

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/where-normal-singapore-politics-101710523.html

Gay Loong told Tony Tan to campaign mah. But Tony not knowing any better does not know what is the meaning of independent, neutral, impartial. etc. Hence, he shoots his mouth off.

MIW and TT are counting on

1. Ignorance from the electorate in not recognizing the conflicts of interests that TT with his past associations with GIC
2. TT's strong branding and top-of-mind recollection amongst the public
3. Overwhelming MSM coverage

In other words, they are going with the cookie cutter strategy which can be summed up as

He who's face appears more, wins.

MIW and TT are counting on

1. Ignorance from the electorate in not recognizing the conflicts of interests that TT with his past associations with GIC
2. TT's strong branding and top-of-mind recollection amongst the public
3. Overwhelming MSM coverage

In other words, they are going with the cookie cutter strategy which can be summed up as

He who's face appears more, wins.

I think u summed it up exactly.

The white hair in high waist pants to guard our reserves while advising GIC what to gamble with our money?
This is a real mother fucking joke!

Used to respect him as someone above and beyond what PAP was... but i recall he became a changed person after he retired from politics to private sector but kanna recalled back by his masters

The white hair in high waist pants to guard our reserves while advising GIC what to gamble with our money?
This is a real mother fucking joke!

Exactly. I hope Sinkies can follow this train of logic.

- GIC does not report its financial numbers, although its part of the reserves. So, could be losses, could be gains, no one knows.
- What knowledge we have of the GIC financial situation consists of proven losses such as 20% portfolio losses from March 2008 to March 2009, $3.3 billion losses in UBS, USD$775 million loss in Stuyvesant Town (NYC), etc.
- Tony Tan has been deputy boss at GIC since 2006 when all these losses are happening.
- If Tony Tan is president, what incentive will he have to disclose the true financial situation at GIC, or to even attempt to disclose how much is in the reserves. An independent president can ask to see the books at GIC. He is in the perfect position to cover up past mistakes and incompetence at the GIC.

Truly a conflict of interest.

Gay Loong told Tony Tan to campaign mah. But Tony not knowing any better does not know what is the meaning of independent, neutral, impartial. etc. Hence, he shoots his mouth off.

He has been in the cabinet since 1980..
the words..independent,neutral and impartial is not in his dictionary.:mad:
For the future of sporeans he must not be voted in..
But knowing PAP too well..he has actually got one foot in already..zzzzzzz

Yes, agreed.

He has left the cabinet twice.

This actually leads to another question that Shit times has never asked. Given that TT is the scion of a wealthy banking family, he sits on the board and owns shares in many of his own companies and family or bank related companies. But the role of president specifically says that he must not engage in any commercial enterprise whilein office. I am sure he is involved in dozens of companies, whatassurance do we have that he will give up all his shares and seats on these companies?

There's no law against the president owning shares and assets. This must be differentiated from executive positions and non-executive board directionships. TT has already resigned all executive positions. As for board directionships, of course the president shouldn't sit on any commercial board except charitable organizations as patron.

There's no law against the president owning shares and assets.
hahaha...ah forv, the president is supposed to keep his money in biscuit tins lah....
you don't know meh.......

hahaha...ah forv, the president is supposed to keep his money in biscuit tins lah....
you don't know meh.......

Its called a blind trust u dumb fuck. That' what Obama and all the US cabinet secretaries have.

There's no law against the president owning shares and assets. This must be differentiated from executive positions and non-executive board directionships. TT has already resigned all executive positions. As for board directionships, of course the president shouldn't sit on any commercial board except charitable organizations as patron.

That is not what the constitution says. It says he cannot hold an office of profit. That means if he is on the BOD of any company whether in executive or non executive capacity and that company is not an charity, he is holding an office of profit. Regardless of whether its private or public company. When u are a major shareholder of a company, u are offered or eligible for seats on the board. Will TT reveal his shareholdings in these companies, so that the public can confirm he is not holding any positions inthese companies?

Whether for TT, TKL, TCB or others, I believe that they have to clear all these constitutional criteria to be eligible in the first place.

Best to go for one who was never a MIW - TAN JEE SAY.