• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Opposition and leadership after GE

Actually, you got it. It is because WP felt that MP is not good (at least, not as good as Moulmein Kallang) that is why they are not interested at all, even though it is just NEXT to East Coast and Aljunied! They would rather go to MK which is miles away... talking about being "near"!

But now people just turn around and say, hey, you go there because of TPL and MP is weak, you grab the opportunity.. whatever. This is talking with 100% hindsight. But why didn't WP grab that opportunity? Simply because it feels that it is not a good place compared to Nee Soon and MK. Why waste resources.

Right from the start, even before TPL comes into picture, I have already stated my interests in MP. Yes, simply because I think it is a GOOD ground, contrary to all those naysayers. And yes, I have been a contrarian and keep telling people that GCT's so call popularity is just a MYTH. I believe in the choice I made and it has proven the point very clearly that yes, my judgement is right from the start.

With or without TPL, GCT is going to get a beating in his home ground. There is no mystery about it because PAP just throw every damn bad apples into Marine Parade. Braddel Heights, Chai Chee, Macpherson, part of Joo Chiat... cut out the supposedly stronger part, Mountbatten... etc. He has been FIXED by his own Party's strategy of gerrymandering.

But frankly speaking, how many of you here really understand this prior to GE 2011? There are even people out there calling me insane when I say NSP wants to contest in Marine Parade. Well, first, NSP has lost deposits in a 4 corner fight in 1992 Marine Parade by-elections. Secondly, GCT is perceived as the more popular guy.

Only "insane" person like me would think otherwise. :)

Goh Meng Seng

It shows that you do not know where you have fundamentally gone wrong.

The objective is about winning seats, not someone's popularity game.

If you say your judgement is proven right, it may be right but definitely on the wrong thing.

:)

So do you mean that it would be alright for me to post using a clone, just like some people here? ;)

Goh Meng Seng

Isn't it freaking obvious? How come you like to broadcast your own stupidity to the netosphere? How many people here post using their real names?

I am starting to understand why when Nicole Seah asked for donations, you went to backstab her and say personally, you would not have done that.

GMS = Zero EQ

The thread starter should come clean for starting this thread in the disguise of discussing on the future oppositions after GE but purportedly left out WP. Despite having left WP but somehow still maintain a special "relationship" with WP, i hope his intention is not to demonise non-WP opposition parties.

GMS knows the TS, so if you don't, you can ask him. ;)
I don't know him personally, but I know who he is. :o

I don't think his intention is to demonise other opposition parties. His thread appears to be what happens to opposition parties who didn't get any seats, it's like discussing what clubs which didn't win the championship would do or what would happen to them.

The reality is that the result was WP: 6 seats; all other parties put together: Nil

A general comment about GMS. Some people may not like what he says or how he says it, but kudos for using his real identity in the forum. Full marks for accountability.

chee is being manipulated and paid by foreign back financier which is dying to see the destruction of sgp through the evil scheming chee. explain how does chee live so well with 3 school going kids and can still zip around in a TOYATO when he's branded a nefarious notorious bankrupt?

If you are right, our intel boys must be sleeping then. It isn't that difficult to detect the scenario you painted wrt CSJ.

Can it be that CSJ is paid by an entity in S'pore? Hahahahaaaa.

It shows that you do not know where you have fundamentally gone wrong.

The objective is about winning seats, not someone's popularity game.

If you say your judgement is proven right, it may be right but definitely on the wrong thing.

:)

It is taken that WP has an advantage over other opposition parties as it has built up its initial branding in GE2006. At the very least, it is at least ONE GE ahead of NSP.

Having said that, even in 2006 GE apart from Hougang, WP has only one GRC above 40%. i.e. Aljunied which it manages to build on the strength and momentum to win it in GE2011.

In comparative terms, NSP has TWO GRCs and ONE SMC above the 40% mark right now. If NSP is to build up the momentum, chances are, it could breach the 50% mark for at least one of them in the next GE.

Of course, there will be WP opportunistic supporters wanting WP to step into these three places. Alex Au from Yawning Bread has stated quite well that by "Game Theory", it is only a natural progression for WP to do that. But as I say, things are very fluid and future 3 corner fights are not so straight forward any more. It will depend on MORE THAN party branding.

One must not forget that winning seats have to depend on popularity as well. i.e. If LTK or Sylvia Lim is not popular, do you think they can win Aljunied?

There are trends to follow and deeper analysis to make other than making generalization. What will happen next to various opposition parties and even PAP in the next 5 years, it is up to anyone's guess.

Goh Meng Seng

GMS,

who did better for GE 2011. wp or nsp?

just simple answer will do.

no answer or dun dare to answer. or no face to answer.

Just win one seat and the whole nation will cheer for NSP. GRC... I also want to drive Ferrari and have nine inch dick... But not holding my breath...

In Singapore it is not easy for oppositions to one seat :o

Mr Goh, it very easy to horse after the cannon. by the way, what your aim for 2011GE, to gain seats or just to see how popular pap are in the places nsp contest? While it true many areas who support AP b4 were chop into MP but that do not justify the 50+% for ah goh. A lot of ppl bei song TPL, just look at the amount of reports on TR just on TPL only. if u got hindsight, you would now be mp for tampines grc. hindsight my ass.

actually i dont know why i bother, should have let you continue your ways.

aiyah! u all pls let lao goh go lah. stop tekan him anymore. his point also valid what. eric tan really left wp with a big show. crack sure have, how to mend the crack? its up to wp people. if they can focus on what the party want, they will keep on winning seat than to weigh down by all these distractions. i believe there will be more such event coming up regardless of parties.

ultimately, its about winning seats. they can talk until the cow come home still no seat, that is useless. SDP been doing well with branding too! less abrasive and more statesman like. WP and SDP is the 2 parties to look out for. what i can say is crisis sure have, its how u contain and handle it. focus and be objective.

If i recall correctly from my observations in a previous incantation in the old Sammyboy forum, GMS was actually booted from WP for shooting his mouth off in online arguments with forummers.

He was trolled and he took every bait that came by. Sometimes he sets his own traps. GMS was given the very same advice that some of you proffered in this thread.

He obviously hasn't learned anything. This looks like history repeating itself.

GMS will contest under the SDA or RP banner come next election?

Having said that, even in 2006 GE apart from Hougang, WP has only one GRC above 40%. i.e. Aljunied which it manages to build on the strength and momentum to win it in GE2011.

In comparative terms, NSP has TWO GRCs and ONE SMC above the 40% mark right now. If NSP is to build up the momentum, chances are, it could breach the 50% mark for at least one of them in the next GE.

The climate in 2011 is very different from 2006.

In 2011, people are fed up with Lee Hsien Loong's policies and this is shown very convincingly in the results. IF you have fielded a good team in Tampines, you would have won hands down. Not because of your good team but because the ground is so ripe that your good team will provide the tipping point.

IF Nicole Seah is not in your MP GRC team, I will hazard a guess that GCT will continue in his PAP ways.

IF you fielded a good team including Nicole Seah in AMK GRC, PM LHL may no longer be in office.

The ground in 2011 is that ripe for ALL oppositions. Unlike the 2006 vintage.

Going forward, the 2016? election may see PM LHL regaining the lost ground as he connect back to the lost electorate. His humility in wanting to learn from the 2011 feedback may make him the Prime Minister that Singapore needs. "May" only because a lot depends on his being able to deliver. If he delivers the ground will be very different for you.

Besides Mr Heng Swee Keat is a wonderful MP and Minister, unlike that Mah Bow Tan. Competing in Tampines again will be very different. MP GRC will be helmed by some other PAP representative. Let's hope it is Charles Chong.

Finally some said that you did not field Nicole in Tampines because of the internal dynamics in NSP. If so, you should tell your colleagues to off themselves and not waste your chances again. Better still find your own party.

You need a new treasurer.

Going forward, the 2016? election may see PM LHL regaining the lost ground as he connect back to the lost electorate. His humility in wanting to learn from the 2011 feedback may make him the Prime Minister that Singapore needs. "May" only because a lot depends on his being able to deliver. If he delivers the ground will be very different for you.

We should have a long standing bet on this.
I think PM Lee is going to be let down by his team.

I don't think his intention is to demonise other opposition parties. His thread appears to be what happens to opposition parties who didn't get any seats, it's like discussing what clubs which didn't win the championship would do or what would happen to them.

You are right. I was wondering why people were chasing their tails until I re-read my statement. I meant to say "With the GE over and nearly only one OPPOSITION party is represented in Parliament..." I left out the word "opposition". Since I have pre-mentioned that one opposition, I went on to the rest.

Like it or not, WP can no longer be mentioned in the same breath as the other opposition parties. With 8 seats including NCMPs, the dynamics and battles are totally different. Unless they start fighting like SDP in 1991 and be left with 1 seat again.

This thread was started because I observed a distinct demarcation between 2 camps in each of them and wonder if others felt the same. I am of the view that it would take some effort to gel them together or only one will "survive" in the end.

To "demonise" opposition, I would probably choose other more effective platforms as I have always seen this forum to be insignificant enough to even swing the spoil votes. And it might be my own opinion but I contributed more than enough to overwrite any "damage" with this by being assentor to the RP AMK team and voted for them despite the fact that many people know I have no love lost for RP, as well as polling and counting agent for WP MK GRC.

The last I heard, Harn Ho, the only remaining woman leader and Women's Wing chief of RP has resigned. I don't know how it is like to work with KJ, but even Harbans Singh had people who stuck to him.

aiyah! u all pls let lao goh go lah. stop tekan him anymore. his point also valid what. eric tan really left wp with a big show. crack sure have, how to mend the crack? its up to wp people. if they can focus on what the party want, they will keep on winning seat than to weigh down by all these distractions. i believe there will be more such event coming up regardless of parties.

ultimately, its about winning seats. they can talk until the cow come home still no seat, that is useless. SDP been doing well with branding too! less abrasive and more statesman like. WP and SDP is the 2 parties to look out for. what i can say is crisis sure have, its how u contain and handle it. focus and be objective.

GMS is not politically savvy to be a leader.

One weakness he so willingly exposed about himself is his oversized inflated EGO. If you want him to lose his coherence and directions and start to talk rubbish, just whack his ego repeatedly. LKY was a master at this. Too bad Michael Palmer did not take advantage of this earlier.

Rest assured in future debates with PAP, the PAP rep will effortlessly use this on GMS.

The one thing we should not forget is that GMS and those like him did participate in the elections. All of them made the effort and that we cannot take away from them as they were standing up for their Singapore. To belittle his efforts and demand he perform to our standards and to win and not lose is way too much. He is brave and indeed lost, but at least he tried. I am not saying he was right but I cannot support anybody who wants him to explain things and admit he was wrong. He loses and we lose too but we should encourage and not discourage those who fight for us. Only the PAP supporters are happy that he lost. Sorry for stepping on anybody's toes but GMS deserved more than having brickbats thrown at him.

Bravo! Totally agree. All others only arm chair critics. he...he..

this gms really a sore loser. bloody thickskin n stupid somemore. nsp will not go far with him.

its like after a soccer match (wp vs nsp) which wp won 8-0, nsp still insist they are the better team becos their fans clapped louder, their jersey nicer, their pom pom girls chio-er.

gms, lose means lose ok. the more u come here to kpkb, the more u look like a sore loser, the more votes nsp will lose in next GE.

gms, my advice, either u quit online forum or u quit nsp.

btw in spite of all your nonsense which i already knew before the 2011GE, your nsp team in mp still got my vote.