• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

No MC for MBS dealer during CNY!

This is really nothing new. It's well known that these periods are the most busy and hectic, thus any frontline staff in the service industry would be expected to work longer and harder than usual. No small wonder if more than a few try to escape using MC. And if anyone really doesn't show up, the service provider will be hardpressed to find a replacement. Unfortunately, often it is the remaining staff that will have to pick up the slack. Management and staff may not be so forgiving towards the absentee, genuine case or not.

Hosay liao ! Time to attack the MBS this cny. When all the dealers are not happy with the company, its luck will turn bad ..huat ah all gamblers .

DEALERS at the Marina Bay Sands (MBS) casino have been warned: Get sick at your peril.

Any of them who fail to turn up for work over the Chinese New Year (CNY) period will be handed two demerit points - even if they produce a valid medical certificate.

Is this legal? I thought employment law entitles staff to a maximum of 30 days sick leave with valid MC except when on probation or contract basis.

Does the same law also say that a company cannot impose any penalty on an employee who takes MC?

It's technically hard to enforce, e.g. a boss may passover promotion or payrise for a staff who takes MC too frequently for his liking. Nothing wrong there. It's common business sense to promote and pay more to healthier and harder working staff who's always there. Good hardworking staff takes MC now and then too, up to the boss to judge. Taking MC too often may also result in work lag over back log that can warrant dismissal lawfully. However, MBS comes up with official demerit points for MC, i.e. even bona fide MC for a couple days would be officially blackmarked.

Unfortunately that's the price to pay for working as a frontline service staff. I know because I've been there before. You and I know, the law can say one thing, but in practice, who can say? Hmm, just read the full article, MOM knows about this... but I got the feeling they won't do anything more than make a statement. Unfair, but well, it's an unfair world.

root of evil is CNY
BAN CNY
opposition all gather and ban CNY

because of CNY - Chinese have taste of gambling

after CNY - chinese keep gambling

so to prevent an evil like gambling, we should ban CNY.

because so many people want to gamble in CNY, the casino have to treat their employees like slave. NO RESPECT at all.

The root of all evil.

CNY.

I think the problem is employing of too many foreigners.
We is having the same problem here at RWS. Many of the chinese foreigners is applying leave to be going home during this period. The local chinese are not allowing to taking leave so many is not happy about this arrangement.
They is saying cannot taking leave so take MC lor.

They should do it this way.

MC issued by company doctors will not be given demerit points while those who went to their own private clinics will be given demerit points instead.

If company doctors are not available, polyclinic or hospital issued mcs to be endorsed only.

Somehow I always think that those who chao keng MC will in fact create extended working hours for those who turn up for work and have to extend their working hours to cover those who did not turn up due to MC.

MC issued by company doctors will not be given demerit points while those who went to their own private clinics will be given demerit points instead.

If company doctors are not available, polyclinic or hospital issued mcs to be endorsed only.

latest in the papers...MBS has dropped the threat to issue demerit points....

You know what I think they will do? Those who take MCs will be blackmarked, bonus reduced, odd shift work hours after CNY. I think they have a high percentage of workers taking MC during last New year eve n new year. Close to 10%.

Why go through all the trouble? MBS should just terminate the employment with one months' notice, no questions answered save that it was not due to the taking of the MC.

Those who take MCs will be blackmarked, bonus reduced, odd shift work hours after CNY. .
hahaha...that's why i think MBS is then kuku....
why made such a big announcement...when there are so many other ways to tekan all these jokers later.....

hahaha...that's why i think MBS is then kuku....
why made such a big announcement...when there are so many other ways to tekan all these jokers later.....

Coz the message has been sent. Intention is not to punish but to prevent. MBS may not give the demerit points but the bloody MC king know what will happen to him.

hahaha....do u need to send such a msg through the papers??
not so much smart right?....surely there are such thing internal circulars/bulletins....

hahaha....do u need to send such a msg through the papers??
not so much smart right?....surely there are such thing internal circulars/bulletins....

Some buaysong keng king informed the papers. So MBS tells the papers "Oh, we withdraw". Internally, word goes out - you go on MC you die.

Who celebrates CNY when there is money to be made. The best form of Happiness is when one has money in his pocket.

Festive seasons and holidays is part of government's plan for people to spend money and increase GDP.

During the past, CNY is celebrated for at least 1-2 weeks, where shops and retail open earliest 5th day of the Lunar calendar.

This year, we will see many shops and retail open on eve, 1st, 2nd, 3rd of CNY. Why? Because Feb only got 28 days. And rental is so expensive. So they got to open and cover expenses overheads.

Come to say about it, the ang mohs at MBS rules with an iron fist. So they probably got to have a change of their HR dept head honcho. PR fail