• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Did Low Thia Khiang backstab his mentor JBJ? (Revisited)

yellow_people

hahaha...i am not sure about this.....
ok i will go round the kopitiam in Tampenis (not sammyboy) and ask around...

Good for you. When you do go around the kopitiams in Tampines, besides talking to the beer guzzling Chinese Ah Peks, I would recommend that you visit the Darul Gufran mosque to get a feel for the Malay sentiments over who they would rather have challenge MBT. The SDP and CSJ has spoke out and was jailed over the "tudung" issue. Recently, the SDP challenged the treatment, legality and injustice meted out to Mas Selamat's family. Not a peep from GMS or NSP. His Malay Bureau is just for show and is asleep.

Don't take my word for it please and ask the Malays in Tampines yourself and they will pick SDP over NSP to contest MBT in Tampines any day of the week.

GMS and NSP must be mad or politically silly to take on the PAP on such a sensitive issue. One has to be tactical and smart and not get dragged into issues that will such an incendiary matter. One has to work with one's means.

If you indeed have a feel of the people on the ground, it is was not necessary to intervene as people were already upset with PAP for going overboard with his Mas Selamat's niece. Yaacob is in trouble because of it.

These things are best asked in Parliament and let them stew in their answers which are not going to be convincing anyway.

CSJ did the right thing here and he should be applauded for it but he has nothing to lose and everything to gain. He has been disqualified and the PAP has done every thing possible and anything more is not going to make a difference or hurt him. Personally what they did to the trainee teacher is terrible. 52 years ago, Eu Chooi Yip, the leader of the CPM when on the run from the authorities went to Rajaratnam's house to get clothing to make good his escape. Both are similar in the sense that it involved ideology.

By the way, NSP Malay Bureau is a master stroke and it is already causing serious concerns within the PAP. A special focus group has been formed. It is a bold move and quite sensitive but it was handled well.

We should be applauding our opposition for making such a bold yet measured move.

Good for you. When you do go around the kopitiams in Tampines, besides talking to the beer guzzling Chinese Ah Peks, I would recommend that you visit the Darul Gufran mosque to get a feel for the Malay sentiments over who they would rather have challenge MBT. The SDP and CSJ has spoke out and was jailed over the "tudung" issue. Recently, the SDP challenged the treatment, legality and injustice meted out to Mas Selamat's family. Not a peep from GMS or NSP. His Malay Bureau is just for show and is asleep.

Don't take my word for it please and ask the Malays in Tampines yourself and they will pick SDP over NSP to contest MBT in Tampines any day of the week.

It not only what you do but what you don't do is also in the minds of people. I think the general consensus is that the forum went well. SPH skillfully preferred to talk about the moderator rather than what the forum brought out which is not surprising.

The other pluses are that Chee/Chiam coming together for greater good and all the parties from the opposition taking part. PAP despite it monopoly on talent did not seem to have the courage to attend while credit must go to the young Malay PAP MP who was prepared to attend but was told not to.

We need such forums that are brought together by neutral parties. The next step can be theme based such as HDB pricing, displacement of locals from the workforce etc. These can be done by subject matter owners from the respective parties. I would like to certainly see more of it.

SDP has already showed a novel way by doing the pre-election rally which RP is now following.

The momentum must be kept up.

I've heard of celebrity creating a stir by attending an event. This LTK has created a stir in this event by not attending, overshadowing all those who attended.

It is not right thing to do. But I wonder if his profile strategy is similar to that ad agencies where all noise is good noise.

hahaha....the UFO thingey is front page in sin ming......
many heartlanders lim kopi or tiger and read sin ming and think he is kuku...
at this rate he will becum a clown in the heartlands....if he is not already 1.
my heart bleeds for the opp cause....

Let be specific. You called me dishonest. Name me one thing that I said about WP and LTK that was factually wrong. Your integrity is now on the line. Please don't waffle.

I will be the first to admit that I tend to fly of the handle when it comes to opinions but suggesting that I am dishonest is another thing.

I think painting people inaccurately isn't what I expect of you, among others.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
By the way, NSP Malay Bureau is a master stroke and it is already causing serious concerns within the PAP. A special focus group has been formed. It is a bold move and quite sensitive but it was handled well.

We should be applauding our opposition for making such a bold yet measured move.

Talking about NSP Malay Bureau, this is what has been reported in Berita Harian, translated into English:

NSP Malay Bureau to organize forum to discuss Malay community issues

Decline in PSLE performance among issues to be touched on

By
Chairul Fahmy Hussaini

NATIONAL Solidarity Party’s Malay Bureau will be organizing a Singapore Malay Issues
Forum next month.

According to the bureau’s secretary, Mr Syafarin Sarif, 35 years old, the main agenda of the
forum, which expects about 100 participants, is to discuss the various issues that is faced by the
Malay community here.

‘NSP hopes that the Malay community in general will participate in this forum, and together, we
can think of the best way to handle the important issues faced by our community, particularly in
education and socio-economic,’ he said, when met by Berita Harian last week.

In education, for instance, the forum seeks to identify ways to improve the achievement of Malay
pupils in Mathematics and Science in the Primary School Leaving Examination (PLSE).

‘We are concerned that the number of Malay pupils who passed in both the subjects is still far
behind, and very little progress is made in increasing the passing rate in the last decade.’

‘So, through this forum, we want to identify the existing gaps and barriers and the best way out
in further improving the Malay pupils’ achievement ar the national level,’ he said.

Statistics in an annual academic report that the Ministry of Education (MOE) released late last
year showed that for PSLE Mathematics, the percentage of Malay students who passed has
declined 7 percent in a decade – from 64.6 percent in 2000 to 57.4 percent last year.

Similar decline was also recorded for PSLE Science, with 75.6 percent of Malay students passed
the subject last year compared to 82 percent in 2000.

These statistics also showed that the performance of Malay students is still lagging behind when
compared to the performance of other students at the national level.

‘Apart from that, we are also concerned that the number of Malay students who enter local
universities is still small whereas increasingly many of our students are capable of admission into
universities abroad. So, this will also be discussed. For us, this situation must change,’ he added.

Other matters that will be discussed is the perception that there is still continuing marginalization
and the limited employment opportunities that is faced by the Malay community in this republic.

‘These issues have been the complaints and grievances of the Malay community for a long time
and in the forum, we want to discuss them openly and maturely and how the government can
give assurance to the Malay community that marginalization and limited opportunities are not
actually happening,’ he explained.

Mr Syafarin is a graduate in Political Science from the National University of Singapore (NUS)
and is likely to be put forth by NSP in the coming general elections.

The formation of the Malay Bureau under the auspices of the opposition party last September
was aimed at attracting more Malays to participate in politics.

It is headed by Ms Nor Lella Mardiiiah Mohamed, 36 years old, a property consultant.

Among the main objectives, the formation of the bureau is to be a platform for alternative voices
for Malay community issues.

‘The Singapore Malay community today needs a political shift and must not just depend on
the ruling political party,’ said Mr Syafarin, a regional project manager in a multi-national
corporation (MNC).

You are a housing agent with a flawed logic and poor value system who tried to explain why collecting commissions from both the buyer and seller is morally right. Not realising that conflict of interest is inherent. There are many in the industry that know that is not right but just capitalise on it as it is difficult to make it in Singapore.

Such a simple moral argument that you can't even fathom and you are talking about respect. You can only get away with such broking practices in HDB where the majority of people have little choice. Try that in the private sector and people will laugh at you.

I saw your comment about housing grant and it yet another laughable argument.

Respect is earned from the wider community and it is based on 3 things - (1) your track record and (2) your ability to argue your points in an logic and coherent manner and 3) your integrity. You can get away with (1) and (3) but it the track record that tells the story.

If I got your respect, I must be a nutcase. Why would anyone would want your respect. You can't even see difference between right and wrong.

I suggest you keep your respect to yourself. Not sure if you even know the meaning or how to earn it. You make it sound like it was table talk lingo.

Learn to respect people. Learn to respect yourself. This are the two things i ask for.

This is effectively the second front against the PAP. They have never liked fighting on 2 fronts and it is not something they will take lightly.

Would suggest starting a separate thread on this so that this is socialised to wider audience. Heat and attention from such discussions will only help propagate and build a higher profile.

It funny that the Malays never had meaningful alternative representation and platform for the last 20 years until now. Even in SDA, it was only a mechanism for standing in GRCs.

In Singapore's desolate political landscape, this must surely be a landmark event.

Talking about NSP Malay Bureau, this is what has been reported in Berita Harian, translated into English:

NSP Malay Bureau to organize forum to discuss Malay community issues

Decline in PSLE performance among issues to be touched on

By
Chairul Fahmy Hussaini

NATIONAL Solidarity Party’s Malay Bureau will be organizing a Singapore Malay Issues
Forum next month.

According to the bureau’s secretary, Mr Syafarin Sarif, 35 years old, the main agenda of the
forum, which expects about 100 participants, is to discuss the various issues that is faced by the
Malay community here.

‘NSP hopes that the Malay community in general will participate in this forum, and together, we
can think of the best way to handle the important issues faced by our community, particularly in
education and socio-economic,’ he said, when met by Berita Harian last week.

In education, for instance, the forum seeks to identify ways to improve the achievement of Malay
pupils in Mathematics and Science in the Primary School Leaving Examination (PLSE).

‘We are concerned that the number of Malay pupils who passed in both the subjects is still far
behind, and very little progress is made in increasing the passing rate in the last decade.’

‘So, through this forum, we want to identify the existing gaps and barriers and the best way out
in further improving the Malay pupils’ achievement ar the national level,’ he said.

Statistics in an annual academic report that the Ministry of Education (MOE) released late last
year showed that for PSLE Mathematics, the percentage of Malay students who passed has
declined 7 percent in a decade – from 64.6 percent in 2000 to 57.4 percent last year.

Similar decline was also recorded for PSLE Science, with 75.6 percent of Malay students passed
the subject last year compared to 82 percent in 2000.

These statistics also showed that the performance of Malay students is still lagging behind when
compared to the performance of other students at the national level.

‘Apart from that, we are also concerned that the number of Malay students who enter local
universities is still small whereas increasingly many of our students are capable of admission into
universities abroad. So, this will also be discussed. For us, this situation must change,’ he added.

Other matters that will be discussed is the perception that there is still continuing marginalization
and the limited employment opportunities that is faced by the Malay community in this republic.

‘These issues have been the complaints and grievances of the Malay community for a long time
and in the forum, we want to discuss them openly and maturely and how the government can
give assurance to the Malay community that marginalization and limited opportunities are not
actually happening,’ he explained.

Mr Syafarin is a graduate in Political Science from the National University of Singapore (NUS)
and is likely to be put forth by NSP in the coming general elections.

The formation of the Malay Bureau under the auspices of the opposition party last September
was aimed at attracting more Malays to participate in politics.

It is headed by Ms Nor Lella Mardiiiah Mohamed, 36 years old, a property consultant.

Among the main objectives, the formation of the bureau is to be a platform for alternative voices
for Malay community issues.

‘The Singapore Malay community today needs a political shift and must not just depend on
the ruling political party,’ said Mr Syafarin, a regional project manager in a multi-national
corporation (MNC).

This is effectively the second front against the PAP. They have never liked fighting on 2 fronts and it is not something they will take lightly.

Don't let imagination and expectation run wild from reality. Fighting on two fronts is something on the scale like Wei fighting Shu and Wu or Germany fighting Britain and Russia. The scattered opposition can contest as many wards as they can and they're still nothing amounting to any front, including WP, at most a firefighting exercise which even if failed, can't burn up anything much more than a tissue paper thrown into an ashstry.

jixiaolan

You are a housing agent with a flawed logic and poor value system who tried to explain why collecting commissions from both the buyer and seller is morally right. Not realising that conflict of interest is inherent. There are many in the industry that know that is not right but just capitalise on it as it is difficult to make it in Singapore.

Such a simple moral argument that you can't even fathom and you are talking about respect. You can only get away with such broking practices in HDB where the majority of people have little choice. Try that in the private sector and people will laugh at you.

I saw your comment about housing grant and it yet another laughable argument.

Respect is earned from the wider community and it is based on 3 things - (1) your track record and (2) your ability to argue your points in an logic and coherent manner and 3) your integrity. You can get away with (1) and (3) but it the track record that tells the story.

If I got your respect, I must be a nutcase. Why would anyone would want your respect. You can't even see difference between right and wrong.

I suggest you keep your respect to yourself. Not sure if you even know the meaning or how to earn it. You make it sound like it was table talk lingo.

Is this a thread on Low Thia Khiang backstab his mentor JBJ or is this a thread abt my job? Since this thread has nothing to do with my job, why did you bring up on a discussion over the other thread? Dun have to distort fact abt what i wrote when your credibility came under scrutiny.

Who care abt whether you will laugh at what i wrote. This is a public forum, i can write abt anything i want. I din write anything here just to please you.

kukubird58

Don't let imagination and expectation run wild from reality. Fighting on two fronts is something on the scale like Wei fighting Shu and Wu or Germany fighting Britain and Russia. The scattered opposition can contest as many wards as they can and they're still nothing amounting to any front, including WP, at most a firefighting exercise which even if failed, can't burn up anything much more than a tissue paper thrown into an ashstry.

hahaha...the 2nd front is about actively courting the malay voters lah ....what fighting here and there??

Perspective

Let be specific. You called me dishonest. Name me one thing that I said about WP and LTK that was factually wrong. Your integrity is now on the line. Please don't waffle.

I will be the first to admit that I tend to fly of the handle when it comes to opinions but suggesting that I am dishonest is another thing.

It is dishonest to claim someone was "struggling" for an answer when he is neither asked nor answered or attempted to answer. It is dishonest to claim someone has met SDP members and even more so if the person said no and you insist on something that is factually wrong. I have also not said that you were dishonest over something related to LTK and WP and you're stating so and asking me to prove it, is it not dishonest?

Integrity at stake? Since the other time I said I didn't meet anyone from SDP and you said it can't be, you are already saying I'm a liar, so why care about my integrity now since you think I do not have it?

Since you're flying off the handle, cool down before you speak. It helps you to think.

Again you are struggling to answer. I have not stated anything that is factually incorrect about LTK or WP. You seem to have a problem with language. You have difficulty differentiating

Strategy vs Accomplishments
Facts vs Opinions

You might completely disagree with my opinion or or the way that I perceive things and that is not an issue. Calling someone dishonest seems out of place or wrongly applied. If you stated that I am bias, unreasonable, got the wrong end of the stick or being mischievous etc, people might accept it. There are always subjectivity involved.

When you said that KJ is arrogant , I don't recall anyone calling you dishonest. It is an opinion that you expressed as a result of have met or heard about KJ from someone that you trust and over time with others having similar views it might actually become a fact.

To be frank, I don't think you have an integrity issue but I do notice that you struggle with language.

Note Ramseth's comments about me and the words that he used compared to you.

The reality is that you have come to the defence of LTK and WP and it is indeed admirable but you did struggle to put across a credible case of accomplishments beside capturing and retaining his seat. I added early in my posts that his organisational skills and his ability to handle GE strategy very well but his profile and his Parliamentary performance is an issue. If Singaporeans were given a tick sheet about LTK on the following points, I am sure we all know the possible outcome;
1) GE Strategy
2) Party Organsiational skills
3) Public Profile
4) Parliamentary Performance
5) Ground coverage
6) Engagement at Constitutency level
7) Engagement at National Level
8) Media Savy and Communication skills
9) Political acumen

I have just together a quick list and I think you get the message. I did not include estate management because it is should not be the reponsibility of an MP. It was put there as a ball and chain to discourage good people to stand in elections.

I do have a lot of respect for Ramseth's and your political acumen and in particular your grasp of local political history but you do have to choose your words more carefully.

I have repeatedly stated that WP and LTK with Chiam have been anchors in the last 2 decades in what is clearly a difficult terrain. It does not mean that LTK does not have shortcomings. Chiam despite tremendous fighting skills and resolve failed his party. He will have to live with it. However people will remember him for the black eye that he repeatedly delivered to the PAP by retaining PP. The same with LTK. People will remember him for the damage that he did to PAP by holding on to Hougang.

It is dishonest to claim someone was "struggling" for an answer when he is neither asked nor answered or attempted to answer. It is dishonest to claim someone has met SDP members and even more so if the person said no and you insist on something that is factually wrong. I have also not said that you were dishonest over something related to LTK and WP and you're stating so and asking me to prove it, is it not dishonest?

Integrity at stake? Since the other time I said I didn't meet anyone from SDP and you said it can't be, you are already saying I'm a liar, so why care about my integrity now since you think I do not have it?

Since you're flying off the handle, cool down before you speak. It helps you to think.

The malay votes are crucial. The PAP have skillfully embedded the racial quotas so their votes might not be significant but it will impact the standing of the Malay MPs within PAP as it happened to Yatiman Yacoob and company. GCT had a do a deal.

Anyone who has an understanding of Singapore's history will tell you that 2 items are hot button items
1) Mandarin
2) Malays

One is the language and the other the race.

hahaha...the 2nd front is about actively courting the malay voters lah ....what fighting here and there??

First you talk about respect and now you want to talk about your job and credibility. I don't think anyone cares about your respect, your job or about my credibility. No one knows me from Adam unlike you. I can't even be bothered about my credibility why would it upset you. I am not soliciting for prospects and therefore I don't have to suck up to anyone.

Now that you expressed concern about respect and my credibility, I suppose you will next be concerned about my virginity.

Time is limited and opportunities should not be missed. Would suggest that you suck up to others in this forum. Earn their respect and secure your credibility. It seems that you are obsessed with these.

By the way, looking for a comment about UFOs from you. Believe me, it will help secure another deal.

ps. it has been a while since I repeatedly bitch slapped anyone this badly and repeatedly. I suppose there goes any respect that I had as well as credibility if I had any in the first place.

Is this a thread on Low Thia Khiang backstab his mentor JBJ or is this a thread abt my job? Since this thread has nothing to do with my job, why did you bring up on a discussion over the other thread? Dun have to distort fact abt what i wrote when your credibility came under scrutiny.

Who care abt whether you will laugh at what i wrote. This is a public forum, i can write abt anything i want. I din write anything here just to please you.

Rimururu

I believe that LTK does not speak much in Parliament due to his poor grasp in English. He might get mocked at by the PAP MPs when he try to voice out his concerns in English. CST is able to voice out as he is eloquent in English, being a former ACS boy.

LTK is also more of the silent killer type. He probably believed in the saying of "Empty vessels making the most noise" and hence, he just does not say much. I have a feeling he might be already be planning something big in secrecy.

However, WP has to improve on reaching out to the online masses like SDP.