• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Do army regulars really have good pay and good life?

Signing up is basically exchanging one's life for $$. I can never do it.

A lot of regulars end up not suitable for worklife. I was talking to one teacher friend recently and he told me ex-army man cannot make it as disciplinary master. WTH was that?

most really chobulan, can see many of them ranging from 2nd Sgt to Colonel walking ard at jurong point ard lunch time. er... i ORDed more than 10years liao, so SAF now allow lunch out of camp meh?
As for a enlisted rank regulars, they better wake up their ideas and obtain promotion to WOs as retirement age for enlisted regulars is 45yo. like dat really muz become taxi drivers.
Not all regulars are like that, there are some really good ones, but they are very rare, maybe 1 in 30. My lao chek aka CSM staff sgt during my NSF very fit, run SOC in seven minutes, last saw him in ICT already 1st WO liao. Promotion very fast considering he no education. He the only regular i will respect as he really take care of men in the coy. Not a shouter, but use reason to make the whole coy work without complains. Ride the Phathom motorbike, wife i heard also a regular in SAF. Only vice is that he become the god of gambler in the men barracks during overseas excerise.:D
As for good pay, i doubt it as there a strict pay grade system. i remember i saw my OC pay slip during area cleaning at 1997 that his salary around $3500 all in while a sandhurst grad on PC tour earn $4k+. Can imaging, the PC earning more than his OC?
As for those enlisted regulars earning more than occiciers, it because of vocations and appointments allowance. Take away all these allowances, the basic really nothing to shout about.

This SSGT has no HDB pigeon hole of his own?

The short term benefit is as what you say save a lot of money each month.

Long term wise he is missing out on owning a HDB flat - HDB flat values appreciate fast, they make good investment.

It is good investment if you own two properties.
Just one HDB flat is not investment.

U mean their annual salary add up for 20 years?

Dunno, I just remember reading about the $500,000 for officers that don't get into trouble. Must be something they look forward to.

Don't have much to do with the army anymore. Just some bad memories :)

Army pay is dependent on vocation, and whatever additional monthly bonuses u get. eg. if you have jump wings, or marksmanship or something, u get a little bonus every month. Because its based on vocation, some sergeants can earn more than officers. Also, RSAF personnel tend to earn more because their vocation is more technical. They also don't have to pay for food, and even lodging, if they are not picky. Just stay in camp. Some like RSM get a MINDEF car for free. I know of one SSGT who has his own room in the barrack, eats there, has TV in his room, etc. He has no mortgage payments, saves a lot of money every month. And a few times a year, when the SAF sends him for overseas excercise, he chiong like crazy and have a good time.

Bro, if you are comparing to those AXO, DXO (admin officers), yes... some of the senior technicians are getting higher pay than them. A 2sgt ST chao chao can get $3500. Imagine a non-officer rank RSAF staff sgt and above who is LAE certified (only a few can get it), he can earn at least 6k and above.

After than he/she can jump to SIA or STAE or private aviation companies to get more perks and inspection/stamp holder allowances.

Last time before sign-on, can get engagement bonus of 2-3 mths pay depending on vocations. Now got sign-on bonus of up to 80k, half cash half CPF. That's why some junior regulars can buy a souped up car, while their senior counterparts can only watch. That's why the juniors can often tekan by the seniors. Sometimes the seniors are being treated by the juniors to KTVs, HC sessions in return of good treatments in the squadron.

Now the detachment allowances have also increased. A 2 mths exercise wallaby in queensland australia can get abt sgd 5k exclusive of salary. Not a bad deal.

I am not sure of how regulars in the army works now but during my time i feel my sgt,wos and officcers they are living such a good pamper life,they are so well taken care of by mindef.
example like book in late,book out early,plenty of leave,off duty,long weekend,sometimes on duty but couldnt be found,plenty of nice breakfast,lunch,dinner,coffee n tea in the cookhouse,driving the mindef car back,no need to spend a single cent, all on mindef account,yes once in a while they do panick when mindef does a spotcheck in the camp but most of the time things go smooth sailing for them..such a good life and time for these regular during my time.
when i ROD,i feel so free and happy cause i feel i have wasted at least 18mths of my life in the camp,i dont mind doing BMT because it has really polish me up but wtf 1yr later i was call up for reservist...again another wasted part of my life for a 13yrs cycle.<sign>

Bro, if you are comparing to those AXO, DXO (admin officers), yes... some of the senior technicians are getting higher pay than them. A 2sgt ST chao chao can get $3500. Imagine a non-officer rank RSAF staff sgt and above who is LAE certified (only a few can get it), he can earn at least 6k and above.

After than he/she can jump to SIA or STAE or private aviation companies to get more perks and inspection/stamp holder allowances.

Last time before sign-on, can get engagement bonus of 2-3 mths pay depending on vocations. Now got sign-on bonus of up to 80k, half cash half CPF. That's why some junior regulars can buy a souped up car, while their senior counterparts can only watch. That's why the juniors can often tekan by the seniors. Sometimes the seniors are being treated by the juniors to KTVs, HC sessions in return of good treatments in the squadron.

Now the detachment allowances have also increased. A 2 mths exercise wallaby in queensland australia can get abt sgd 5k exclusive of salary. Not a bad deal.

Yeah lah, if u stay long long in SAF of course u want a desk job eventually. Not only the perks u mentioned above, but also got priority for flat selection, large discounts for buying cars from certain dealers, etc. Don't forget all medical bills paid for whther work related or not.

Talk about SAF.........how about Police?

I heard police also not bad for theother ranks. But police though idle but not so comfort as SAF......

i got a nephew making about 4-5K as other ranks then got to go 'Peacekeeping mission' to east timor UN pays him allowance of $100+ USD per day......come back home leave got extra and finish tour attached to UN go Nepal climb mountain training also keep getting the allowance.........at least this money is not taxpayers'.......now he joining interpol soon and wants to springboard to migrate to some angmo country like Canada eventually.

Talk about SAF.........how about Police?

I heard police also not bad for theother ranks. But police though idle but not so comfort as SAF......

i got a nephew making about 4-5K as other ranks then got to go 'Peacekeeping mission' to east timor UN pays him allowance of $100+ USD per day......come back home leave got extra and finish tour attached to UN go Nepal climb mountain training also keep getting the allowance.........at least this money is not taxpayers'.......now he joining interpol soon and wants to springboard to migrate to some angmo country like Canada eventually.

Mata mata more work unlike SAF. Why? Because they have to deal with crime and routine cases. Dealing with members of public is many times more difficult than dealing with scenarios, excercises etc - all bullshit stuff.

Frontline matas' life also at risk as they have to respond to cases. Whatever way we look at it, live in the peng, maa and civil service is much much less taxing and stressful compared to the private sector. Many ChoBoLans in the civil service, from top to bottom.

Mata mata more work unlike SAF. Why? Because they have to deal with crime and routine cases. Dealing with members of public is many times more difficult than dealing with scenarios, excercises etc - all bullshit stuff.

Frontline matas' life also at risk as they have to respond to cases. Whatever way we look at it, live in the peng, maa and civil service is much much less taxing and stressful compared to the private sector. Many ChoBoLans in the civil service, from top to bottom.

yes agreed, mata not so many 'hiding places' like SAF. SAF can koon inside the barracks, in the islands and practically everywhere except maybe MINDEF (unless you are senior enough)

Sadly, when their lives are ending, on their death beds, if a question was posed as to a worthwhile thing they had accomplished in work life, they wont be able to answer the queston truthfully. Basically, ChoBoLan all-the-way.

These people only interested in the rank they achieved; what they have done does not count at all.

i agree with u. me and ramseth police b4. police deal with real situations and of cos real threats. lousy pay, long working hour, poor benefits, officers were killed on the line of duty but only police flag on coffin not state flag, funeral family pay.

SAF chobolan, high pay, deal with exercise scenarios, saf exercise sometime still kelong to make COs look good. sometime too snake never follow protocol kena killed still got state paid state funeral and state flag cover coffin (best example RSS courageous, OOW obviously never follow ROR and lousy seamanship. this is our standard of navy.).

even contractors know it. they said poodle force is 小老婆的孩子and assayeF is 大老婆的孩子. poodle force a lot of things put up, all rejected. assayeF put up anything sure can get and trial and error also no prob. u try to trial and error in poodle force and see what happen to u.

the best dont sign on. want to sign on, join assayeF. dont join poodle force.

Madmansg types no need to reply.

From here:

http://forums.fuckwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=3032254

Seems like they have unlimited spending power. Ktv so many times a week calling chickens etc.

Take note: of course that doesn't mean they are really rich but someone that doesn't really worry about his spending does appear to have lots of money right?

Army provides free food, clothing, accommodation ...

no regulars here to share what they doing everyday in camp and how they feel about signing on in SAF?

Supply and demand. Who has the money? The kleptocrats. And supply is inelastic for them considering the fact that they can't outsource to FTrash for national security reasons.

i agree with u. me and ramseth police b4. police deal with real situations and of cos real threats. lousy pay, long working hour, poor benefits, officers were killed on the line of duty but only police flag on coffin not state flag, funeral family pay.

SAF chobolan, high pay, deal with exercise scenarios, saf exercise sometime still kelong to make COs look good. sometime too snake never follow protocol kena killed still got state paid state funeral and state flag cover coffin (best example RSS courageous, OOW obviously never follow ROR and lousy seamanship. this is our standard of navy.).

even contractors know it. they said poodle force is 小老婆的孩子and assayeF is 大老婆的孩子. poodle force a lot of things put up, all rejected. assayeF put up anything sure can get and trial and error also no prob. u try to trial and error in poodle force and see what happen to u.

the best dont sign on. want to sign on, join assayeF. dont join poodle force.

Yeah, if you (or your sons) consider signing on, don't sign police, sign army. It's heaven all the way after BMT. There's no real job, no real danger unless accident (which can happen anywhere) or yourself cock up.

You may ask, what if there's really war? Well, at war, the NSmen shall be called up and go to die first. Army regulars are the safest.

no regulars here to share what they doing everyday in camp and how they feel about signing on in SAF?

Hi, i was an army regular who signed on for 6.5 years.

A lot of the perks is quite untrue, at the least for the enlisted.

We pay the same down payment as every other Singapore Citizens, no priority queuing too, certainly no more discounts from Ford for their gas guzzling cars.

Everyone of us signed up for different reasons, some just want a stable job and nua for the rest of their life, some rich kids have nothing better else to do and decided that the army may be a great time killer, some like me lacking paper qualifications chose to enter the army and pursue higher education while being ensured a stable income.

Unfortunately i have seen how this easy money have destroyed many people:
They are not progressive, they have too much money and time and spend their money on gambling and womanizing.

A lot of us have ORD to pursue a more meaningful life and career outside the army. I have done quite ok if not terrific for the past 3.5 years since i left the army. If not for the politics and sycophancy, i would still have remained inside the army to protect this sorry excuse of a nation and my family.

Sometimes i really wished i was born American or Australian, their militaries are made up of volunteers and they take pride in serving. I on the other hand, have felt nothing but disgust after 6.5 years in the SAF bossed around by chickenshit officers and whoever has one more stripe than me.

Hi, i was an army regular who signed on for 6.5 years.

A lot of the perks is quite untrue, at the least for the enlisted.

We pay the same down payment as every other Singapore Citizens, no priority queuing too, certainly no more discounts from Ford for their gas guzzling cars.

Everyone of us signed up for different reasons, some just want a stable job and nua for the rest of their life, some rich kids have nothing better else to do and decided that the army may be a great time killer, some like me lacking paper qualifications chose to enter the army and pursue higher education while being ensured a stable income.

Unfortunately i have seen how this easy money have destroyed many people:
They are not progressive, they have too much money and time and spend their money on gambling and womanizing.

A lot of us have ORD to pursue a more meaningful life and career outside the army. I have done quite ok if not terrific for the past 3.5 years since i left the army. If not for the politics and sycophancy, i would still have remained inside the army to protect this sorry excuse of a nation and my family.

Sometimes i really wished i was born American or Australian, their militaries are made up of volunteers and they take pride in serving. I on the other hand, have felt nothing but disgust after 6.5 years in the SAF bossed around by chickenshit officers and whoever has one more stripe than me.

You know in sg's context that isn't really a bad thing. Since when is too much money ever a bad thing? As for slacking off.

Hey comeon even the top dogs like prataman also do that. Shake some hands appear at some functions with escort and earn millions.